We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Room”
Review of Tom's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Four family members stayed together in one large room at Tom's Hotel in Feb. 2012. There was one double bed and two singles. We had a large private bathroom and a nice sized balcony. No a/c but we had a nice overhead fan that cooled the room just fine for sleeping. We had to go back to the office and ask for wash cloths and soap, but they were provided. The room was very clean and surely a good bargain at $40.00 US a night. We will stay at Tom's again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert-Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We traveled with group so had to take rooms assigned to us. Tom's might have some rooms that look more like hotel, ours was not one of them. Each floor had about ten rooms with two bathrooms at the end of the hall. These were the only places which contained sink, toilet and shower. So if someone was taking shower, you could not use the toilet. It is located on the beach, but beach is not for sunbathing or swimming. Water not accessible, shore not clean.

Room Tip: Request room with in room bathroom if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good clean hotel, with friendly staff. Stayed March 2009 and 2010, and will stay again. Thank you. Note: The Tripadvisor review did not allow selection of the correct travel dates.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueHoleDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A group of us stayed here for one night. The rooms are large and can sleep 3-4 people easily. Most rooms do not have a private bath. I was a little worried about this, but it wasn't a big deal. Bring your own soap and shampoo. None of our rooms had a/c but the fan kept it cool. We were leaving after the check out time. The manager let us put all our stuff in one room and did not charge us for a late check out.

It is only a couple of blocks to the main part of town. I don't understand why people say it is far. Unless they want to be right in the middle of the bars and restaurants.

This is a very basic hotel. If you want a quiet place to sleep and store your stuff, this is the place. If you are looking for lots of amenities and the comforts of home, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Room E has a balcony and a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Quiet location, clean, affordable. No frills, but if you travel on a budget, you will be well taken care of. The staff are very friendly - all a big family. The kids play outside the hotel, which is nice to see. There is a dock where you can swim. People complaining about the walk into town must come from very car-centric locations. The walk was short and lovely. We stayed here nine nights after falling in love with the island!

Room Tip: Room E has a balcony, though there isn't much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraTravelsWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This place freaked me out when we first arrived - it was completely deserted!
I really did think Norman Bates would run out with a knife as soon as I got in the shower...

Anyhow the place is completely average - its cheap and not cheerful at all. the Wireless only works right next to the main house, the showers are freezing but there is a nice breeze that runs through the entire building (nice if its hot). Its a little walk from town (about 5 minutes) and honestly offers nothing but a basic room with a fan.

Although I have to say why on an island like this would you want to stay in your room?
I would upgrade to a nicer hotel when we come back and honestly we will come back - Caye Caulkner was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

we stayed in a hut in the beach front, a little windy inside, it was quite clean and wide, not expensive. maybe too far from the cayo caulker's small port

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
183 reviews
0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hotel

Address: Beachfront, P.O. Box 15, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing