We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Animal abusers” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella's Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella's Backpackers
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Animal abusers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We should have read trip advisors reviews before staying here, but it was the first cheap hostel we found on the island.

I wish we would have found Pause as it sounds like the owner there is lovely. The people running bellas are the most unfriendliests hosts we have had on our whole trip. They just take your money and scowl at you like youre inconveniencing them (although we were the lowest maintenance guests they could have had, didnt complain, spent most of our time away from the hostel, and didnt even ask for fresh sheets even though we stayed there 5 nights and no one offered us anything or asked if we were good.

The worst part of my stay here was on the last day, i was sitting on their porch( the only place the wifi works and they dont even say hi or smile at you).. the little kid started hitting his dog in the face repeatedly, i put my hand over the dog to protect it and told him to stop and be nice(as he continued to hit my hand)... the dad saw this and yelled something at the kid so the kid took off, but he had obviously learned this abusive behavior from his dad because a few minutes later, when a little dog came up tried to mate with that dog, he came out and hit it across the head too. I was horrified and glad to be leaving this awful place.

In my whole 2 weeks in belize i have not felt as awful as i did at bellas. Caye caulker is a nice location but i think because there are so many tourists that go there, people treat you(and their pets) horribly and still get business. The rest of the country has been very friendly. Beach is way nicer in placencia and the people here are friendly and happy to have your business. If you do visit caye caulker dont waste your money at bellas dog beaters, also the beds were the most uncomfortable of all the hostels ive stayed in here, and the shower water smelled like sewage. Do your self a favor and make a beeline for placencia!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ja654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCBellasbackpackers, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
I'm sorry for what you saw here. But we are not animal abusers here, we are the opposite, we are dog lovers. But during the time you were here, out of the 7 dogs that you have seen in the yard only one was ours. SHE was in heat. The 6+ dogs you have seen were not ours but boy dogs trying to mate with our puppy. (Who is only 7 months old and not ready to have pups). On Caye Caulker there are dogs all over the island, all owned and supposed to be tied, which they are not. So yes, all day for about 2 weeks we were chasing all the boy dogs in the neighborhood to protect our puppy, Luna. And even that was just chasing them not hurting them. As for the kid, he's 4 years old. He's still learning how to play with animals, and yes little boys play rough sometimes. And again I do apologize for what you think you saw. But honestly the only way to not abuse animals is to keep them apart so they DO NOT mate. So no more unwanted puppies are born on this small island, which is a big problem here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    31
    34
    27
See reviews for
1
35
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Bella's was a relaxed and friendly place to stay, sociable and a nice crowd of travellers.
I would recommend staying in the upstairs dorm if you can rather than the downstairs, we stayed in both and found the upstairs to be much lighter and cleaner.
Staff were friendly enough (if you can find them/ work out who they are!) and very laidback...matching the general vibe of Caye Caulker.
It's a good spot if you want to meet nice people in a chilled environment, if you want to party go to Dirty McNasty's next door!

Room Tip: Try and get a bed in the upstairs dorm, the best room is right at the very top. Amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would recommend this place definately. Bella's building and rooms are pretty basic but the atmosphere is just great. Everyone hang out in the kitchen and porch hammocks. This place is perfect for solo travellers because you'll get to know everyone there. The back pier is nice and calm and you can take the kayaks anytime. there were free bikes too but they were a little broken all.

Bella's guest's age were closer to 30 than 20 so the vibe wasn't exhausting "springbreak drinking" (like in the hostel Dirty McNasty next door) but more chillax relaxing and having fun. Dorms seemed calm and quite in the evenings even though guests are hanging out in the kitchen area until late. and no loud music after twelve.

They have a few private rooms on the yard cottages and three privates in the tower. And three mixed dorms. You can also camp with a tent or sleep in the hammocks, though some of the hammock sleepers had problems with the sand flies.

Sheets provided but no towels. They don't take reservations but there is most of the time vacancy if you go early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room. It's the most amazing room for the price of about 17USD. Three windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninnu8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. Yeah, it's not the cleanest hostel, and the beds weren't great. But it was a nice place to hang out. Social but relaxed, friendly vibe. Everyone who stayed seemed to be super friendly and lovely. They have a small kitchen, free bikes and kayaks to borrow. Dirty mc Nasty's was a good place to party, but I preferred to stay at Bella's.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friend and I are travelling trough Central America. On our way we had 5 nights at Bella's in Caye Caulker, Belize.

We did not have a reservation in advance, but this is very commen in Caye Caulker because of all the backpacker coming throug here (Even though the hostels is fully booked on the web, they are likely to have vacancies anyway).


Went we arrived with the boat to Caye Caulker, where we were greeted by one of the locals who ask us where we were staying. He took us to Bella's. When we arrived there, he yelled for some personnel and after a couple of minutes a young woman appeared and we went in to a 10 bedroom dorm. A single dorm bed cost 25 BZD and a double bed 20BZD each. My friend and I wanted to save money, so we went with the double. And that was pretty much it. All she said was to come up stairs and pay for the first night and that she would need our names. The "office" is at the kitchen.
We had to ask ourselves about thing included/not included. There was no explanation about the place what so ever.
In the price there are Canoes and bicycles included. The canoes are fine, but the bicycles are in horrible shape. We found only one working, the others either missed the chain or had a flat tire and had been for a long time. So we ended up renting two at Marcy's for 15BZD each for a whole day.

In general Bella's has a lot of potential. Is is a nice place, but it is dirty. We saw one trash can in the dorm, but that got removed to somewhere else? The bathrooms are not clean at all - the toilet paper bucket are only emitted once a day, if you are lucky (meaning paper on the floor as well up against the wall), and the toilet often does not flush. People tend to be very bad at cleaning up after themselves. This resulting in old shampoo bottles and used razor left in the bathrooms. Off course the people should be better at cleaning up after themselves, but the staff is next to non-existing. It is a tough job, but the toilets should be kept clean and tidy all the time.
Also there are no bins at the property besides in the bathrooms - which are overfilled!

The staff is impossible to find, even figuring out who works there is challenging it self.
When you mange to find someone who works at Bella's, they do not say much, very rude and absolutely no smiles.
In the early evening of our first night, we realised that we only had one sheet, which of course makes sense, since we has the double bed, but we wanted an extra. We had to waite until the next day, since there were no personnel to be found anywhere.

The madrases in the dorm are pretty bad. You can feel the boards underneath, so sleeping on your side proved rather difficult. Also the doors leading to the dorm, is constantly opening and closing with a bang. Try falling asleep/sleep with that sound.

The property is neither bad or good. The front yard is fine, a couple of hammock to lay in and relax, but the back yard is full of building materiel and other stuff.

All in the Bella's has a whole lot of potential, it is a nice place, the people who are staying there are really great. But the surroundings, the general cleaning and the personnel needs a big step up!

We had a great 4,5 days in Caye Caulker, but we did not like to hang out at Bella's.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Bella's is a great place to meet new people most people there are fairly friendly and relaxed. The staff were the most friendly but the hostel has everything you need. You will get little sleep here as it seems to the be the party hostel with people still singing and screaming in the yard at 2am. If you're in for a good time then Bella's is a great place for you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

how's this for a time.. no sleep. overcrowded. dirty. unorganized. drunks. loud music ALL night... ALL day. overpriced. no privacy.
needless to say, don't waste your time here unless you're looking for a party. we definitely weren't and we're in our 20's backpacking.. common.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dayna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#5 of 19 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Juan In A Million Caye Caulker Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Property: Bella's Backpackers
Address: Crocodile Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella's is a large wooden family-run house, clean, safe place to stay on the water with beautiful sunsets and free canoes for the guests adventuring pleasure. We have kitchen, cable TV, internet, tour bookings, fishing trips, and other Belize information, as well as refreshments and nice people. Rooms, private cabanas, one apartment, camping, and small dorm sleeps 7, private/shared bath. It would be our pleasure to show you some sweet Belizean hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella`s Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing