We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella's Backpackers
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We camped in our tent for 5 days in the garden of this place.
We really liked it. The owner is really nice, the kitchen well equipped.
We could use bicycles and canoes for free, which is really nice. This place is just great, we liked it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Master_Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Bella's Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Bellas is a social hub that's great for travelers looking to meet people. Not ideal if your looking for comfort. It's somewhat run down and the owner is quite lazy. Same price as standard hotel room for two people. Good place to meet people, not good if you want a hot shower

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed six nights at Bellas (only because Yumas was closed) and found it to be a pretty average hostel. Positives are the atmosphere - until Yumas re-opened it was full and people were always hanging out in the kitchen chatting. This is a place to drink and get stoned (24/7), the owner Jeff is very laid back with what happens on the grounds and really anything goes. Its also well located near the split and it has bikes and kayaks you can take out for free. Negatives - this grounds are full of rubbish like old mattresses, empty containers, paint cans, pipes and wood offcuts etc. They really need to just clear it all out because it could be a really nice place. Especially the dock out the back (there's heaps of junk out the back). With the exception of the upstairs dorm, the accommodation is very basic and not very clean. Every rooms leaks and the windows were all open and covered up with tarps when it rained but they weren't very effective. The bathroomss are outside and very smelly and one of them doesn't even have a sink. Very run down. All in all, with a good crowd this place can be fun but its very run down and I think the other hostel Yumas (which I also stayed at) is much better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieallen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best hostel in Caye Caulker! As most backpackers know, the atmosphere of the place tends to make the experience of the place and I recommend a stay here. While the place can be a bit noisy at night the place has a very relaxed environment and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Must check out the 3rd floor room with 360 views of the island!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you're on an ultra-budget and want great value and a great atmosphere, stay at Bella's! Price ($10 US) includes kitchen use, internet, kayaks, and bicycles, and with a great atmosphere you'll have a blast staying here! It's true it can be a little noisy but what the hell, you're on Caye Caulker for cryin' out loud! I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAoraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great Hostel. Good environment. Clean. Awesome staff. Really good spot to meet and hang out with other people. Out of the many many many hostels I've stayed at all over the world, this is probably 1 of 2 hostels that I will remember over all the rest! I showed up, felt at home immediately, hung out on the hammocks with other guests. And stayed a few days longer than I thought.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeeeeeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed two nights there. Good place, price and staff.
They have shared place and kitchen. I didn't use it, but they have kayak and bicycles.
At Bella's it's very easy to meet people and exchange travel information. I stayed the other hotel one night, but I prefer the atomospher of Bella's.
And I love the wall painting of the hostel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundaworld91711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Juan's Guest Rooms at Juan in a Million
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Go Slow Caye Caulker
#19 of 31 in Caye Caulker
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
La Cubana Hostel Sleepbox
#27 of 31 in Caye Caulker
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#12 of 32 in Caye Caulker
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: Crocodile Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella's is a large wooden family-run house, clean, safe place to stay on the water with beautiful sunsets and free canoes for the guests adventuring pleasure. We have kitchen, cable TV, internet, tour bookings, fishing trips, and other Belize information, as well as refreshments and nice people. Rooms, private cabanas, one apartment, camping, and small dorm sleeps 7, private/shared bath. It would be our pleasure to show you some sweet Belizean hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella`s Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing