We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popeyes Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Popeyes Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We turned up on Caye Caulker with a booking for another hotel which hadn't kept the sea view room they promised. We tried Popeyes instead and were given a fantastic room at the front of the hotel. The view, especially the sunrise is spectacular (I was still jet lagged, so got to see it), and for me, just about worth the extra money. The room was clean, it was handy having a fridge, so we could have cold beers on the balcony and the shower was lovely and warm as long as you left the water to run a bit. Overall, a fantastic stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhNoTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
22
56
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world travler
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here for our first visit to Caye Caulker. The room was comfortable, clean, and the AC worked great. The hotel was centrally located on the island and was very close the the water taxi, restaurants, and a great little cuban bar right on the water.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderbarworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stepping off the Caye Caulker water taxi, it's the second property to the left. The staff is friendly, helpful and know a lot about getting around the rest of the country. They're ticket agents for the local airlines and can arrange tours.

They have nice rooms but unless you're looking for super cheap, you might consider avoiding the "cabanas" - the rooms are nicer. The bar on the beach in front of the hotel has good cuban sandwiches and grilled sea food as they get it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttrrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCMO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

I couldn't have requested and gotten a person better than Andrew and his crew. Rooms were cleaned everyday, Beach was swept clean, flush toilets and clean towels. Lay in the hammock during the day, breeze from the sea blowing. What a nice way to do nothing. I did move to get a beer and go snorkeling. Bring your own equipment if you have it. Let Andrew set you up and you will have a great time. I have snorkeled before and it was just ok, this was great! We had a 40th birthday party and guess who arranged it all, cooked and cleaned up when we were done...Andrew and his crew. He was very accommodating no mater what we requested. Food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyKcmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Popeye's hotel for 2 weeks to celebrate our 41st anniversary.The room was always kept neat and clean,the hammocks out front facing the beach were relaxing.We stayed on the ground level facing the beach,beautiful sunrises woke us up every morning.Andrew who runs the place was very friendly and accomodating.Ron,the owner,made us coffee most of the time by 6:00am and invited us into the office for a visit everday.He can hook you up with tours to Guatamala via Tropic Air or bus.
There is no door on the bathroom,just a curtain,but who needs a door when you've been married 41 years? We had use of the pier and were invited to some grilled fish which was caught by one of the guests.Ron can arrange a fishing trip too! I will stay here again. Its; in a quiet location just south of the water taxi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auctionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights as many of the other hotels were booked out for the Lobster Festival. The location is excellent, just as the seafront gets quiet but close to the main street and quay. Staff were friendly enough, the room (at the frontt) was reasonably priced and spacious, 2 double beds. Bathroom was ok.
The hammock at the front was a good feature, in the shade looking out over the ocean.
Overall, a decent place to stay on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JforJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Popeye's for 3 nights in March. Once settled in, things were fine, but getting settled in was the issue. The room we booked -- on the 3rd floor, great sea view, $65/night -- was occupied by someone who extended their stay, though I'd confirmed my room just two days earlier. So, Andrew (the property manager) put us in a side room "suite" without a view. Normally, he said, this room would be $90, but we got it for $50. But the $40 bucks was not important to me. It was waking up to that beautiful Carribbean Sea. He promised we'd be in the room we booked the next night. Alas, the people in that room decided to extend their stay 3 more nights, which meant we weren't going to be there at all. Andrew then booked us in a sea-view suite on the 2nd floor. It was a good room, but again, not the room we booked. The WiFi was spotty (kept dropping out) so I had to keep reconnecting. It was OK when it worked.

One of two things happened: Either the room was double booked the entire time, or Andrew chose to bump me over the group in that room. Either way, it wasn't a good experience and for that I can't recommend this hotel. If the sea view isn't that important, there are options in the back or on the side, but you can get rooms without a view for much cheaper than the going rate here.

Otherwise, the location is great, just down the beach from the water taxi stand, and a few short steps from some of the better restaurants (Habaneros, Rosie's). The resident cleaning manager was fantastic and did a great job keeping the place clean. Given that this is still a developing country built on a mangrove swamp, the bug situation was good. Still further up is the split at the Lazy Iguana and Femi's, a great little bar and food place on a dock overlooking the sea.

One last point is the website implies that Popeye's is a "resort" but I didn't get that vibe at all. I actually chose this place because I thought there was a bar/restaurant on site, but the bar was closed (not sure when/how that happened or when it would be open). This isn't much of an issue because there are plenty of places to get a beer, but it would've been nice to chat with some of my fellow travelers. Also, some pictures imply that there's a pool, but there is no pool. So if you're looking for a "resort" you might want to consider another place. In the end, it's up to you if you want to risk an overbooked room. It sort of worked out for me, but it could've easily ruined an otherwise fantastic trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Property: Popeyes Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Popeyes Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing