We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DECENT LOCATION” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popeyes Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Popeyes Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“DECENT LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Popeye's is an average hotel. It's right on the beach. Rooms are clean. Popeye's has a restaurant. The restaurant is a little pricey compared to other places on Caye Caulker, and there are better happy hours at many other bars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imahawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
22
56
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Not amazing, but good for the money - amazing views out the front! Spacious rooms too. Shame that there was no bedside light - we thought this was a bit odd. Also shower was not much more than a tap sticking out of the wall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diving_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had booked two rooms at this hotel for 6 nights, both Andrew and Gilbert went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, we were provided with a coffee maker when I let it be known that my husband needs his coffee early in teh morning. After our first night we were moved to the two front rooms and provided with a fridge I would advise anyone pre-booking to request an ocean front room. We were able to swim off the dock out the front and felt that Popeyes was a great place to stay. We found that there was a lovely breeze at night if you were by the water, but not so much once you went one street back. Our rooms at the front were spacious and clean, the air conditioner worked however we rarely needed it.

Room Tip: Request ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suellen_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed just over 3 weeks at Popeye's.... The ocean views and sunrises are incredible, the staff very helpful and accommodating, the rooms spacious and comfortable. The location is great too, close enough to the action, but still very quiet. We were lucky enough to stay in the one bedroom apartment above the office with a private balcony.... Great for watching the views and the happenings outside. Thanks for everything Ron, Christina, Andrew and all the staff! See you again soon!
Mark and Julie

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are best of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful...this hotel is spitting distance from the water taxi dock. Huge oceanfront decks. The rooms and bed were basic. Not bad value just for waking up to the view of the ocean and blazing sun.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I was fortunate to spend a couple of months on Caye Caulker, all but a week at Popeyes. Suzanne and I loved it. Andrew and Gilbert really went out of their way daily to make our stay wonderful. Andrew has a way of finding the best method for us to understand the Mayan people and their culture. He is a gifted teacher and writer. Gilbert is the perfect right hand to Andrew and his genuine good humor and desire to help the visitors and guests always makes their stay memorable. Gilbert, as a member of the computer generation is constantly sending photos and email and we look forward to his next posting. One of our best memories is walking out of the hotel across the beach to the pier and taking a mask and snorkel swim with rays, red snapper, and and occasional nurse shark. It seems almost a fantasy.

Room Tip: Upper floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Friendly people at popeyes, Andy make Shure your wishes comes thrue. Fiendly chitchat With free fresh Cofee in the morning. Miss frigerator and door instead of curtains to the bathroom 4 people needs a little privacy.....
Chill our in the hammock On the terrasse, or use "Your own" dock.
We shurly comeing back.

Tanks for taking good care of 4 frozen norwegians.

Charlotte
Kristoffer
Aagot and Jostein.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossiberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Property: Popeyes Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Popeyes Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing