We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I had stayed somewhere else”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish I had stayed somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Although the staff was very friendly, the accommodations left much to be desired. I did not go into this trip with big expectations for our lodging. We were going for the location, not the hotel. However, I was sorely disappointed in Costa Maya. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. We stayed three nights and the shower didn’t drain. On the second night, my husband took a plunger to the shower drain and that helped, but still…As a female traveler, I can put up with a lot, but I would never recommend Costa Maya. The complementary canoes and bikes were a great asset, but everything had to be returned by 6, and the bikes were mediocre at best. We were going for budget prices, but I wish I would have splurged a bit and stayed at a nicer place. Trust me, it’s worth it to spend a little more and get a whole lot more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMBCCayeCaulker, manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
I only meet the guest once, at check in.
Cabana six is the oldest unit and is under renovations. There is no water system on Caye Caulker, we depend on well water, that sometimes smell like sulphur.
Had the guest showed their displeasure with the room, a full refund would of been offered as per owner policy.
Regarding the Snorkeling Tour
Seasickness can ruin a trip. We highly recommend seasick tablets and have them onboard the boat. We did not charge the guest, as we received the booking from the hotel, they stayed at.
We left later than usual because of all the people booking last minute, but we make up the time on the end of the tour. There is over 15 snorkeling shops on the Caye and all sent trips out. The guest was the only complain we receive out of 500 plus people sent out snorkeling this summer. We are very sorry that guest did not enjoy the trip due to seasickness.
Thank you Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
59
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

After reading a handful of negative reviews on here I admittedly was a bit hesitant about staying at costa maya. My partner and I had made the reservations months in advance without really reading anything negative and as the date approached I became doubtful. Im very pleased to say that all my doubts were at once dispelled!

We stayed in Cabana number 5 with a fantastic view of the ocean. Heather and Adela (sp?) were more than helpful and very available for us. they took an active interest in our stay asking us about the trip whenever we ran into them and making recommendations for everything from food to good places to canoe. We booked two trips one snorkel and one jungle and greatly enjoyed them. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant.

The room was clean and comfortable and had an available a/c (which we never turned on) clean kitchenette and a great balcony. I would gladly stay here again. The canoes were great and very handy and the dock and hammocks a big plus!

It hard not to enjoy yourself on Caye Caulker and Im glad to say that our stay with Costa Maya made the trip that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slilights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Our room was little more than a plywood shack with a coat of polyurethane on it and the people at the desk acted like we were a burden and didn't show even the least amount of hospitatlity. Upside is the location is good, but that's not saying much on Caye Caulker - all the locations are good. If you stay here, expect fairly spartan accomodations and unfriendly people behind the desk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMBCCayeCaulker, manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Costa Maya has 9 cabanas in total
There is two buildings at the back, upstairs and downstairs. Which host a total of four individual cabanas. The exterior is wood siding and the interior is decorative wood paneling that is varnished. Each unit has it's own entrance.
They are painted white with blue trim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

I paid the $70 deposit in November for an ocean view room #5 (confirmed it a number of times over email) and showed up in January to enjoy my time on Caye Caulker. On check-in, the receptionist told me that the ocean view room was not available and that I would have to settle for one of the rooms in the back. When I argued that I had made the reservation over two months in advance, the receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said that she could do nothing and that Heather makes the decisions there. I asked the receptionist to talk to Heather who took the deposit from me for the ocean view room. The receptionist called Heather, but she would neither talk to me over the phone nor come to the property to talk to me.

The disappointment started there. They showed me the "alternate" room. The room was a dungeon - poorly lit and moldy. The room smelled like an airport bathroom. The toilet / bathroom and the bedroom were separated by a cloth curtain (which would have been fine if the bathroom had decent exhaust, which it did not).
The kitchenette was not what they say it is. It was a toaster and a pair of plastic bowls and glasses on a table next to the bathroom faucet. The glasses looked so bad that I would never touch them.

My wife and I scooted out of this dump and looked for alternate accommodation. The only thing going for this place is location. However, the island is so small and you can walk along the beach and get to the center from anywhere in 5 minutes. I would recommend staying south of the water taxi dock.

Over the years, I have stayed on islands in youth hostels and five star hotels and so have been exposed to a variety of options. This was by far the worst I have ever seen. As they say, you get what you pay for, but this place does not even come close. I would not pay USD20/night to stay here.

I talked to a few other businesses on the island and they said that the Costa Maya Cabana people have know to be cheats and that their business practices have been hurting the reputation of the island.

In summary, I would give this place a negative 2 if possible!!

If I recommended this place to my friends, they would think that I was taking revenge on them for some reason,

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank openwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMBCCayeCaulker, manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Guest checked in one day prior to original reservation request. Guest was advised in advance that cabana #5 was not available and we could accommodate them in Cabana #7 for one night only. When guest check in, they didn't recall until we show them the email. The room they where offered was cabana #7. The rooms have hurricane shutters, so it can appear dark when the shutters are closed.
Cabana #7 does not have kitchen, only coffee station. We do not advertise that it has kitchen.
Guest only pay if they stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

Arriving on Caye Caulker Island I was welcomed by friendly locals at the Costa Maya Beach Cabanas. Shortly after arriving I did some snorkeling and was setup with a nice fishing trip. My room had AC, was nice and cool, fresh coffee when I need it and clean. Rented a digital underwater camera from them and used the free WiFi to upload my photos to friends and family back home. Planning on going back this Dec-Jan. The staff are friendly, hospitable and very helpful. A+! Recommending Costa Maya with two thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

I ended up travelling to Belize by myself due to a family emergency, and my family couldn't make it, neverless, I made a new family and friends at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas. The girls in the office were more than accomodating and "went above and beyond" normal customer service in the hotel/tour industry. I have travelled to many places around the world, from high class, to third world countries, and have the seen good/bad/and ugly in people/places, and believe me, Caye Caulker, is one of the most favourite places in my heart, and I have visited many, many times, always staying at Costa Maya, because of the service/cleaniness/location, it's a "must experience" in my opinion, and I highly recommend, they will open their hearts to you, help you with all and/or information, and provide awesome tours at great prices. Can't wait to go back again, and see my friends and family once again...................

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Unfortunately, my fiance and I had a horrible experience here. The location is great and the bicycles were a treat, but that's it. Our room was dirty. There is mold growing off the faucet in the bathroom and tiny bugs crawling in the kitchen. The toilet made noise and often broke. One day they "forgot" to clean our room. We considered changing after the first night because we felt that for $65/night we could stay somewhere else that was clean, but it stomed the second night of our trip and we decided to stick it out. Bad choice. When we spoke with the manager about the cleanliness issues and toilet he yelled at us about waking him up -- it was 9am and we needed to check out and get receipt. I have never been treated so poorly and had such bad value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms and rude staff
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMBCCayeCaulker, manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
These guest stayed in Cabana #6, which is being renovated right now.
Because it has a kitchen, even a grain of sugar can attract of army of sugar ants in the Tropics.
The island is on well water, which is very harsh on plumbing.
We offered a discount to the guests.
Thank you Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Maya Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

Property: Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Address: beachfront, by split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas is your home away from home. We are located by the split. The Northern end of the main island. We have a small beach in front and great dock complete with palapa hut. A very popular hangout with our guests. All of our rooms have air conditioning, fridge, coffee and cable TV. We have chairs and hammocks for all of our guests to use. Free use of Canoes and Bicycles and we also offer wireless internet service. Each of our six cabanas are different. Three Beachfront view and 3 partial beachfront view. Our most popular being 6 and 5, which is currently being renovated for the upcoming season. We are a local family that have lived here all our lives and we hope you come to enjoy our little piece of paradise. Thank you Rosado Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing