We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, and great sunrises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Wave Guest House
Ranked #12 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Blue Wave is right across from Raggamuffin Tours and near Frenchie's Dive Shop along the main road. We rented a room for $40/night that was very clean and had a wonderful view of the beach. The sunrises were grand from our balcony. The owner is the sister of the guy who owns Frenchie's Dive Shop so I got 10% off my diving with Frenchie's (a good dive operator).

The only issue we had was being next to a fancy Italian restaurant that had a noisy party Saturday night and Sunday night a local drunk was making noise outside. Still, this guest house is in an ideal location, very clean, friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

I did quite a bit of research before picking a place to stay on Caye Caulker and ended up going with the basic budget room at Blue Wave for $22US. I'm happy to report that we feel we made a great decision by staying here. The place is cute and spotless. The staff is great and will provide you with any information you may need. There is free wi-fi and our budget room even had a small TV with DirecTV service.

The shared shower is perfect. It's only shared by the three budget rooms, so there is rarely a wait. The water is always hot and has good pressure, which is rare in Central America. This is definitely the best budget shower I've had in all of CA!

My only complaint would be that our bigger room in the back was a bit too hot, even with the fan on. Even though it has 3 windows, there doesn't seem to be much air circulation and it becomes stuffy even when it's not hot outside. It would be much better if the door had a screen on it, so that it would be ok to leave the door open without the room getting infested by bugs. Or the room could at least use another fan.

Other than that, the place is really perfect for a budget stay. Even Tina's hostel charges $12US for dorm beds and $55BZ for private rooms. This is a better deal in my opinion. It's also located right next to Raggamuffin, which I highly recommend for the full-day sailing/snorkeling tour!

p.s. Blue Wave also has more expensive rooms with AC, but we didn't check them out. The ones on the second floor with balconies looked cute.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewavecayecaulker, Manager at Blue Wave Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2010

Hello!!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! thank you for all the nice things you said!

We are very sorry that the room was a bit hot. had you mentioned it we would have gladly given you an extra fan... so anyone for future reference. just ask for an extra fan.. your comfort is our first priority ;) . we hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed a few days in this average hostel. we recommend it for the safety, clean aspect, and location. Rooms are small, not isolated and extremely hot. Extra charge for A/C. TV is old. Staff is ok but seems not to care and is not ready for any extra effort.
Overall mediocre

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PouetPouetSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Nice basic rooms with tv and a/c. There is a computer that you can use in the office and the service was really good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We were at Caye Caulker during low season and first wandered to Blue Wave. Stayed there first for a night in a double room with shared bath ($20 US), had to move away for a night since it was full, and then came back for double room with private bath ($25 US).

The rooms are very clean and quite new, and even though it's a guest house rooms are cleaned every day and towels are changed. The shared bathrooms were clean as well, there's only one shower but they're shared for three rooms only. They have Internet access mainly to be used at the office (which costs) but WiFi can be used by guests as well. Bicycle's available for rent, private pier, if your room has a balcony there's a hammock as well. Also the kitchen on the back of the yard is worth mentioning.

Staff was really great, especially the handyman who was there painting the walls. He really made our stay at Caye Caulker a memorable one. I can really recommend this place, would go there back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paavalimuurahainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We decided to spend a little more than we'd originally planned on spending, and got a nice room with a porch overlooking the water. It had A/C and color TV, which was nice. It was a little spartan, but not uncomfortable at all, and very clean. Very friendly family that ran the place, and it was wonderful to hang out in a hammock on the porch and "go slow" -- the motto of Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

i love the local feel at caye caulker everyone is so friendly and you don't get harassed by solicitors. we didn't have a place booked when we arrived on the dock so we walked around and the owner of the italian seafood restaurant (yellow bldg), sandro, had suggested we go to blue wave for clean, safe, and budget hotel.
location: between the dock and lazy lizards, so it's a little quieter, right on the main street facing the ocean
hotel room: very very clean, simple rooms, i'd probably opt for the AC and pay a little more next time b/c it got a little hot in the room, and of course clean bathrooms
staff: staff was fine, no frills, provided good info when asked
ammenities: you get a nice little hammock to hang in your balcony to chill and read a book, there's a common kitchen, internet at the hotel office (not free but affordable), you get a discount at frenchies scuba diving
we were 2 women in our late 20s and we felt totally safe at blue wave and caye caulker in general, the entire island was hospitiable.

BLUE WAVE IS AN AWESOME BUDGET TRAVEL FIND!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewavecayecaulker, manager at Blue Wave Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2010

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! thank you for your good review!

Candice
Blue Wave Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#24 of 33 in Caye Caulker
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Guest House

Address: Front Street | Caye Caulker Village, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $33 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rooms with private bath... reasonably priced. We also have basic rooms with shared bath for budget travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Wave Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Guest House Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing