We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Wave Guest House
Ranked #12 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews below and unfortunately we didn't have as an amazing experience. We hadn't actually booked a room as it was low season so we just showed up. They were just closing the office as we were arriving and told us they had plenty availability, however the lady seemed to be in a rush and didn't want to show us any rooms and just gave us the key to room one even though I had said to her I wasn't sure of it due to a 100 watt strip light which would be left on all night right outside our windows. It wasn't so much the light that was the problem but what I knew it would probably attract. I was right, within 3 minutes of being inside the room we were eaten alive - the room looked like a war zone after we had left it due to the amount of mosquitoes we had squoshed on the walls (the mosquito nets were all torn). We ended up only staying the one night and then moving on. Perhaps the suites are much better but the budget accommodation there is definitely not the best we have come across.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before deciding - don't choose room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaveCayeCaulker, Manager at Blue Wave Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Blue Wave Guest House does not mean to be rude, but these guests are a bit on the dramatic side, we understand all guests are entitled to their own opinion, We will defend ourselves by clearing the following:
Most hotels in Caye Caulker (with the exception of 2 or 3) have regular business hours from 8-5 or 8-6, it was already way after 6pm. not to say we wont attend to our guests after closing hours which is what we did. Next, Blue Wave never just hands a key to a guest to go see a room, they are always taken to the room and showed the room so that the guest can decide. As for the mosquito nets, we had no clue what they are referring to as we do not provide mosquito nets to our guests (they travel with them most times), all we provide is the hook on the ceiling so they can hang their own, so saying our mosquito nets had holes is strange as we did not provide any to them whatsoever.
Fact check: Mosquitoes: we all know that mosquitoes are not attracted to the light, but instead to the darkness. so saying ht eoutside light attracted mosquitoes is also strange, it is also the wet season in the TROPICS, all guests travel with repellent and had they asked for repellent or bug spray we would have gladly loaned them abottle, even though there isnt much of an issue wiht mosquitoes or sandflies in those rooms. (owners live right above them on the property) as for the bright light, it serves to keep the sitting area lit at night but at the guests request we would happily turn the lights off.
Please do not let this review hinder your thoughts about visiting or staying at our establishment. we are here to serve you. and we stand by that. :) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

I traveled to Belize in August with a friend for vacation (I had been previously for work) and we went straight to Caye Caulker. We had done a little research ahead of time and booked our first 2 nights stay at Blue Wave. The rest of the trip was unplanned and we were going to play it by ear. The staff at Blue Wave are very helpful and the location is great - near the split (for swimming) and close to town (not that anything is super far from town but...) The place was very clean and comfortable. They have shared-bath rooms for around $20-25 and private bath room (with private balcony/porch, AC, etc.) for around $50. A great bargain! We ended up staying 5 days at Blue Wave before heading to San Ignacio. We just didn't want to leave. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poaftf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

On a whim I got online, booked a flight for the next Saturday, put the pups in the kennel and headed for Central America and a country I had only heard about from friends who had never been there. I stayed at a clean inexpensive guest house on the mainland for four days, then took a water taxi to an island I read about called Caye Caulker. I walked off the boat, bought some fresh baked banana bread from a street vendor and a very sweet Belizean taxi driver drove me around to look at several accomodations to see where I might want to stay. Third stop was the Blue Wave. The proprietress was very nice, showed me a room to see if it suited, charged me $20.00 a night, and made this single gal traveler feel safe and right at home. Shared bath was kept spotlesss by staff I never saw, location was perfect for enjoying everything the Island offers and the room was simple and comfortable: bed, desk night table and fan. Sparse accomodations perhaps, but comfy enough to enjoy a book and catnap on a rainy island afternoon before walking across the street for fresh outdoor grilled lobster. Can't wait to go back, can't recommend the Blue Wave highly enough ! If you are looking for a luxury hotel stay, go down the road and pay $125.00, if you want to enjoy the island and fall in love with paradise, stay at the Blue Wave.

Room Tip: Allow your hostess to show you all of the rooms, and choose your favorite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The room we had was very nice and cleaned daily. Great price and included AC and even cable TV. The only downside to these rooms would be that one night there was loud music which was vibrating the room and the other nights it can be a little loud from the crowd outside. Despite all this, we would still return to stay here given the price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammockMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My first room while traveling Belize. Everything was spotless in our room. We used the shared bathrooms in back which were kept very clean. There was a shared outdoor kitchen with all utensils that we did not use (it was early in our trip and we were trying out all the local food). We had a tv with cable and fan in the room. Very inexpensive at $22US per night. Would stay here again. Very flexible owner allowing us to stay night to night and check out late.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

It's hard for any place to be in a bad location on Caye Caulker given the size of the island, but this was definitely one of the more affordable accommodations by the Split, which is where you want to be on the island during the day if you're not off snorkling/diving. The room we stayed in was small but suitable, not the most comfortable bed but there was AC and a hammock on the porch. There is an open air kitchen which is relatively well equipped if you are in the mood to cook. Wifi is really slow unless you sit in one of the chairs outside the office area near the router.

We decided not to book a place in advance because you are often required to pay in full and we didn't have definite dates for our stay, but we just walked into reception at 8pm on a saturday evening and they had several options - and the rates were cheaper than what was stated on the website. If you are on a budget, i'd recommend taking the risk of not booking in advance because in general in our experience, room rates (at multiple places) were cheaper and semi negotiable in person as opposed to online.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Great location -- close to the Split which is the main beach, and not far from Oceanside, which is the late night "night club." Easy walk to convenience stores and restaurants, as well as rental spots and tour operators.

Candace was SUPER helpful and nice -- she really went out of her way to be helpful.

They have wifi, but it was usually painfully slow, but it was free and did work. The rooms were clean, had A/C, and the best hot water shower I've had in Central America yet. The walls/floors were a bit thin, so when someone checked out at 6am one morning their stomping around above was all I could hear until they left, but not usually an issue. There was also a nice place to sit outside the office for a few cocktails with friends, and you get a personal hammock for your entry way, which was a great place for a nap.

At $70 US / night, it was definitely the cheapest of its kind, and had everything it advertised. All around, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#29 of 32 in Caye Caulker
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Guest House

Address: Front Street | Caye Caulker Village, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $33 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rooms with private bath... reasonably priced. We also have basic rooms with shared bath for budget travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Wave Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Guest House Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing