We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific little place, tucked away in Caye Caulker” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OASI

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OASI
Ranked #4 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terrific little place, tucked away in Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great little place just a short way from Caye Caulker's centre. Luciana, the owner was fantastically helpful and the room was clean and well equipped. Just one point though, this is listed as a B&B but it's not, so you need to bear this in mind when booking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
177
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Luciana and Michael were most gracious hosts. The room was extremely clean, with cooking stove, fridge, and water provided. Island tips follow: Our host special ordered 2 cases of beer (lots of fun!) at a discount. The bikes were extremely helpful on the island to get around. You must take a boat out for 3-6 hours to snorkel/dive but there are many small operators who make your trip very personable and are affordable.

Our most favorite part of the trip was buying fresh local fish from the locals. Luciana directed us to a spot on the east side of the island where there is a pier (and gulls/pelican visable) around 4-5:00 pm. Don't be in a hurry, sit down on the beach and be patient! We bought several (3-4) fish, red snapper, grouper, daily catch...nightly for about $5. Cook the fish whole, they clean it for you. Add some fresh lemon, local spice (called chicken seasoning!) steamed rice and stir fried vegetables! Best food ever and we spent a fraction of money on food. Another highlight is the local fresh juices that you can find lining the streets (HINT: go to the locals!) Ask Luciana where to get Glenda's cinnamon rolls, they are renowned by the islanders and are a 5 block bike ride from OASI. Go early or you miss out!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie3mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

No doubt OASI enjoys its #1 rating with Trip Adviser as much for Luciana, the proprietor, as for this clean and comfortable lodging property itself. She is way cool: energetic, friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. And she repeatedly demonstrated her kindness by graciously overlooking the unusual string of embarrassing moments I experienced while at Caye Caulker, mostly at OASI.

A couple of facts: True, this is not a bed and breakfast. But good, inexpensive breakfasts can be had about 3 minutes down the road (by bike) at Glenda's place. And the bikes do have brakes (at least both of ours did), but perhaps they were not the kind of hand breaks our British friends expected...they are coaster breaks like we had on bikes when I was a kid. You simply push the foot pedals backwards to engage the brake. There is no need for multiple gears on the bikes because Caye Caulker is flat.

If I counted correctly, there are five rental apartments available here in three bungalows. We liked the fact that OASI was located in a quiet and lovely area of the island away from the bustle of "downtown," but downtown was only a brief and pleasant bike ride away. We enjoyed cruising the island on Luciana's bikes -- it only added to the experience, which was delightful overall. My wife and I would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at OASI for 3 nights and it was a really wonderful stay. Luciana arranged for a taxi (Nick) to pick us up from the water taxi and he was there exactly on time.he took us to OASI and orientated us around town a bit. The apartment was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We had a cooker as well as a fridge so we were able to cook some eggs and keep bottles of water cold :-)

OASI is a tiny bit out of town but it gives you a chance to have a walk which can be appreciated. A taxi anywhere on the island is $10 Belize. You are also given bikes with your room to rent (big tyres to cope with the sand but fixed gear and no brakes which actually is really useful on the island and the type of bike everyone rides).

Overall we were taken good care if and we super pleased with the room. I would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

OASI and the host Luciana were wonderful, just like all of the other reviews state. I just don't understand why Tripadvisor has it listed as a bed and breakfast. There is no breakfast included. I started out my stay a little disappointed, because one of the reasons we chose OASI was the breakfast. Be advised.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a little gem of a place, run by a lovely Italian lady, luciana. Nothing is too hard for her, and she offers a first class service running this little hotel in a quiet area of cay caulker. She supplies bicycles for daily use, which is an essential for getting round. Very clean, comfortable and just what you need to explore this beautiful spot. She is also a diver so can give you tips on what companies to use locally to visit the blue hole and other spots, diving or snorkelling. She will also arrange day trios for you to the mainland, for lamanai, or cave tubing etc. Excellent all round.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjmj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed in Apt 3 for 5 nights and the room was perfect. It was quiet and comfortable and house keeping came everyday. We stayed for 5 nights and they changed our sheets after three nights. Even beach towels were provided and changed! Kitchen facilities were clean and had everything you needed to cook. Luciana was very friendly and helpful. The bikes were very handy to get around the island. We had a lovely stay at Oasi and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OASI

Property: OASI
Address: Avenida Mangle, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasi is a new and elegant building situated on the south part of Caye Caulker just before the airstrip and one block away from the sea. It has three separate apartments completely furnished with A/C, ceiling fan, TV, fully equipped kitchen, DSL internet connection, h/c rain water shower. Each unit has a spacious veranda with hammocks and faces a tropical garden with fountain. There is an area for BBQ and relaxing. Bicycles are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oasi Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing