We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maxhapan Cabanas in a word was wonderful.”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed in Cabana nbr 3 for 5 days and throughly enjoyed it. To repeat what has already been said here Louise , the owner, manager, housecleaner, etc. was great. She was always gracious and more than willing to give advise, directions, local info whatever. The cabanas are cleaned daily and are spotless. The water is fresh with good pressure you just need to give it about 2 minutes to heat up. My youngest son took his first shower cold not realizing than it doesn't heat up as fast as at home, but certainly no problem once you know that. A large fresh water bottle is provided free of charge daily as well as the use of bikes. The bikes although getting on in age where definitely the way to get around the island. Louise gave good advise on restaurants, our favorite was the Rainbow which sits out over the water with a nice view and even better breeze. It had a fairly extensive menu reasonable prices and between us we tried about 8 or 10 different items all good. And do go to the bakery for breakfeast its cheap and very good! Also Louise gave us the name of an excellent fishing guide Eloy who I would highly recommend ( 3rd trip to Belize 4th guide and probably the best) Price was only US $55 per night (low season) that included all taxes. The only draw back (?) was that the a/c had a hard time during the hot daylight hours keeping the cabana cool but at night however it worked great for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 185 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Jersey City, NJ
117
Reviewed June 3, 2006

My husband, sister, brother-in-law and I stayed at Maxhapan Cabanas during a recent trip to Caye Caulker. We were there during a holiday weekend and because of late booking had to split our time between Maxhapan and another establishment. The first place we stayed at was fine, and the couple that managed it were accomodating and friendly, but we were absolutely blown away by the facilities and treatment we recieved upon arriving at Maxhapan. The advertisement for the cabanas says "you'll arrive as a guest and leave as a friend," and it couldn't be more correct. Louise and her family were wonderful, generous, and just plain fun! Rooms were cleaned everyday, and the showers were wonderful - hot, lots of pressure, and fresh (not salt) water! Maxhapan also has many little complimentary amenities that you pay for at other hotels. Free bottled water everyday, free use of the 5 bikes on the premises, and free air conditioning (although you don't need due to the breezy cabana layout). However, the best part of Maxhapan is definitely Louise and her family. Their friendly personalities and enthusiasm about Caye Caulker made our trip truly special. You will NOT find a better place to stay while on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
eugene, Oregon
119
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Booking a place online can sometimes be scary, your never sure if it's going to be everything that it claims. Maxhapan cabanas was above and beyond any of our expectations. The three units are set back on a beautiful lot of land that is open and well kept. You can even see the ocean and beautiful sunrise's from the top unit's balcony. There is a palapa that is open to the guest that we used for yoga every morning. The units are extremely clean and the ever so lovely owner, Louise, cleans and replenishes your towels everyday. Security is never a worry here, for she is an amazing woman who runs the whole place! No hired on staff. Another big bonus was the bikes we got to use everyday, you can fit right in on the island, the main transportation is bikes and golf carts. No need to pay those bike rental places when you stay here! Maxhapan cabanas is a short walk or ride from the main street where all the action is. I was very happy to not be staying on the main street, to have a little more privacy and more restful sleep. I highly recommend this place to anyone or any families that are going to Caye Caulker. You won't find a cleaner, more pleasant place for such a great deal. Not to mention Louise is a sweet and friendly lady who took great care of us and was happy to share any information she knew about the island with us. Which by the way was my favorite place that we visited while in Belize, and we did get around going from Caye Caulker to San Ignacio, then to Placencia. When I go back this is where you will find me!

Stayed: March 2006
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
114
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Our first trip to Caye Caulker was amazing, and our stay at Maxhapan Cabanas was perfect. We wanted a good hotel at a good price and we found it. For $50US a night, Maxhapan provided us with everything we needed. Louise, the owner, manager, and housekeeper, is warm and friendly. She supplies you with water, new towels, and turn down service daily. She also provides free bikes to use since the cabanas are on the southern end of the island, and the entire complex is relaxing and clean. If you're planning a trip to Caye Caulker, and don't want to spend twice to three times as much staying at a hotel on the main street (on the shore), choose Maxhapan. You will not be disappointed. Website ----

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
116
Reviewed February 3, 2006

We would concur with everything in the above review. Maxhapan is an oasis of calm and civility, and Louise Aguilar the most welcoming hostess - nothing is too much trouble. We came for a few days and stayed for five weeks! Louise's cabanas are without doubt the nicest, cleanest and most comfortable rooms we stayed in during our two months in Belize. There were dozens of lovely little touches that really made Louise's place stand head and shoulders above the competition - drinking water replenished daily, beach towels, daily cleaning... just wonderful. The step-aerobics class Louise offers four times a week was an added bonus. Her recommendations regarding tours and restaurants were spot-on. Louise made what might have been merely a pleasant stay on Caye Caulker into something special. Oh, and we also remember the Maxhapan specials!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed at Maxhapan Cabins on Caye Caulker near the end of November. It was perfect!! And at around $50 a night, it was such a bargain!! The rooms are absolutely delightful (new, modern, spotlessly clean and so comfortable with well-functioning A/C units, comfortable beds, a refrigerator and small TV). Louise (the owner) is fantastic (be sure to ask her for a "Maxhapan Special" upon arrival - yum!), and the island itself is charming! Maxhapan is truly an oasis of peace being a bit further away from the bustle of the main street (although this is all relative as Caye Caulker is extremely laid back!). Don't let those few extra blocks discourage you as Maxhapan has free use of bicycles during your stay. We had a blast riding all over the island (which is very small). We took a wonderful day-long snorkeling/sailing trip with Ragamuffin Tours and were amazed at the fish, sharks and coral. Caye Caulker is a lovely island that is so laid back time almost seems to stand still. It is a great place to just r-e-l-a-x. When we return, we will certainly stay at Maxhapan!!!

15  Thank kaniger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarah187323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jan's Hotel
Jan's Hotel
#9 of 33 in Caye Caulker
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.2 mi away
Amanda's Place
Amanda's Place
#3 of 33 in Caye Caulker
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#7 of 33 in Caye Caulker
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing