We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed at Maxhapan Cabanas for 2 weeks in Feb 2009. You could not ask for a cleaner, better cared for property. Louise is a gracious caring person who knows the answer to any question you might have. It is a very short walk to a grocery store, almost next door to Marin's restaurant, and very close to I & I's Reggae Bar. You are withing an easy walk of any place on the island you might want to visit. Bikes are also provided at no extra cost. Anyone who enters the property has to go past Louise's house so there is a pretty good sense of security. Each Cabana has a porch or balcony with a hammock, table and chairs. There is also a 2 story "Palapa" for partying. On your way back to Maxhapan in the evening you should make a point of stopping at I & I's to sit at the bar with swings or go to the 3rd level where the gathering place seems to be. Be sure and ask the bartender, "Rudolfo", ("Rudy"), to perform his acrobatics on the pole. He is pretty amazing. We told him should be in Las Vegas. We were there every night for 14 days sitting in our swings at the bar.
Maxhapan has a microwave, small refrigerator, hot water, clean towels and maid service every day along with a bottle of drinking water per person each day. You won't find a better value on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goliverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 186 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Maxapan Cabanas for 3 nights. We absoulty loved this place and the owner/manager/house keeper Louise.

There are 3 cabanas that are rented out (we stayed in room 5). The room was super clean, had lovely decor, a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, A/C, and hot water (great water presser). There were windows on all sides to provide a lovely brees. We had a veranda with chairs and hammock (loved the hammock), and because we were on the second floor got a great brees. We were given 1 liter of water per person per day, which was great.

The Cabanas are not on the beach (but we knew this), but only about 3-5 mintues walk (depending how fast you walk), you are at the beach. There is a pier that guests can use to swim off on (sea grass is cleared) about 5 minutes away. I really don't think you need to stay on the beach at Caye Calker (just because you are always a few minutes away). We did stay at another place on the beach the 2 other nights we were on the island, but enjoyed Maxhapan much better.

Maxapan in on the 2nd street (not the main street), I would say about 15 mintues walk from the spilt. We were never in a hurry and enoy strolling along the island (so we never timed it). It is only a few feet from a bar (I and I) and a few more feet from a restarant, it is close to the super markets and banks. Nothing on the island is far, and Maxapan is not far from anything. I liked that it was off the main road because it was more peaceful and quite..

We were given bikes to use for free and were a great way to explore the island. We rode them all around the island and missed them after we changed hotels.

The landscaping was very nice and the grounds were spotless. There are areas for the guests to entertain and relax on the grounds.

Louise was a wonderful hostess, and made us feel like we were visiting friends or family rather than just another guest at a hotel. Whenever she saw us she greeted us, and gave good advise when we asked. We also had many lovely personal chats, something that you usually don't get when you stay at a larger hotel/resort

We are hoping the visit Caye Calker again in the fture, and will definatly arrange to stay at Maxhapan Cabanas again, if she has a room available :-).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riceinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

This is why Trip Advisor is the best website, I would never have discovered this place. With just three Cabanas Louise gets very booked up but deservedly so. The property is a two minute walk to the sea (either side of the Island!). The property is picturesque and tucked away from the noisy main strip. The free bikes are a real bonus and the hospitality of Louise makes this trip. I am going to back to Caye Caulker later in the year, but only if I can stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Maxhapan Cabanas on Caye Caulker, Belize was our final destination as part of a 13 day visit in Belize and Guatemala. There are 2 water taxi services to the cayes. I would highly recommend the newer one, San Pedro-Belize Express, which has been in business for 6 months. They have newer boats, much cleaner marina facilities and are extremely friendly. Especially Johnny. he will greet you when you arrive, carry your bags to the dock and make sure you get where you need to go. We stayed ay Maxhapan Cabanas for 4 nights. The cabana was clean and comfortable. Louise , the owner/manager has 3 cabanas that she rents out when her 3 children are not visiting. Louise offers free bikes for you while you stay. You can walk or ride you bike to anywhere on the island in just a few minutes. The cabana has a small kitchen corner. We prepared our own breakfatst in the room but ate somewheres different for every other meal. For our last full day on Caye Caulker we took a snorkeling trip to Hol Chan Marine reserve and Shark-Ray Alley. A must while you're here!! We higly recommend EZ Boy Tours. They were great!! If you would like to see where else we stayed, check out Tripadvisor (La Casa de Don David Hotel in El Remate, Guatemala and Cahal Pech Resort, San Ignacio, Belize).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Maxhapan was a very cute little place. Our cottage was a single unit so we had total privacy. The storm shutters block out almost all of the light from outside, and the air conditioner was priceless. I also loved the hammocks and bikes Louise provided. (The bikes aren't the best, but they're plenty good enough to get yourself around) Most important to me was that it is off the main streets so there isn't a constant flow of traffic (yeah, it's only pedestrians, bikes and golf carts, but trafic is traffic.)
Everybody will tell you how attentive Louise is and it's all true. She can answer any questions you have about what to do and where to go. She has eaten everywhere, taken most of the tours and seems to know everyone on the island.
My only advice is about the island more than the cabanas, and that is to stock up on bug repellant. It's not the mosquitoes, its the sand flies. Ick!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ack1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is why I love Tripadvisor: I would have never been able to weed out the best amongst the many budget options in Caye Caulker with such precision. Maxhapan was not in either of my tour books, didnt have a website, and is off the main 'drag' of accomodations. The overwhelming good cheer Maxhapan has received is well deserved. What everyone says is true. Louise is lovely, helpful, and gives objective advice; the rooms are kept SPOTLESS; loved all the cozy spots to chill in room, balcony, and in yard; lots of bonuses for such affordable lodging (water, fridge, hammock/verandah, bikes, snorkels, cable tv w/ premium channels). Overall, a superb value (we paid $40/nt low season). There is also plenty in the common grounds there to enjoy: two story palapa, BYOB bar, grill, deck chairs and tables. We loved our room on the 2nd floor - we had relaxing star gazes and plenty of ocean breezes. Go to Chan's for a cheap and filling lunch ($3.50-5 US) and fresh OJ/grapefruit juices or Tropical Paradise for delicious charcoal grilled lobster dinner and great service.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My husband and I love Maxhapan so much that we are going back this winter. The owner was amazing, the grounds are well kept, the rooms are clean and large, and you get free water and bicycle usage. This is such a great deal!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ilovebelize82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.5 mi away
Jan's Hotel
Jan's Hotel
#5 of 33 in Caye Caulker
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing