We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maxhapan Cabanas
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$145
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$94
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Condos(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barefoot Beach Belize(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
179
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandfree bikesnice sandan amazing hostthree roomshot waterlovely ownersconch shellstake great pridemain draggood nights sleepbike rentalscomfortable bedsgreat careperfect stayfresh towelsvia email
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 190 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Just the perfect place to stay in Caye Culker - tucked away from the main drag so nice and quiet, but only minutes from the sea, restaurants and tours.

Louise was the perfect hostess - we had bikes and snorkel gear at our disposal, fresh water and clean towels everyday and her local knowledge and advice was invaluable!

We were even invited to her own party and enjoyed a night with ehr and her warm and funny friends!

We loved it - spotlessly clean, welcoming, impecably decorated with a hammock to while away the hours.

Book in - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My adult daughter and I took a trip to Belize. We immediately felt safe, contented and thrilled to be hosted in this quaint place. It is just far enough away from the hub-bub of the main strip that you can enjoy some privacy. Bikes were included for our use and we biked all over the island (only 2 miles long!) everyday. There is also a dock for Louise's guest to use. The tall grass has been cleared for easy swimming. If you're as pale as we were, I'd recommend the 1/2 day snorkeling tour and not the full day. We used #45 sunscreen and still burned. Louse had all kinds of helpful hints for us. If you sit on the 2nd level of the outdoor cabana at night you get a wonderful ocean breeze by being up high. Enjoy-it's just un-Belizable how much fun you'll have :-). The back side of the island is a good place to watch the sunsets.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank AmeilaDearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Initially my wife and I were only going to stay in Caye Caulker for a few days but once we'd met Louise and checked-in to Maxhapan (a Mayan word for breadfruit) we decided to spend our entire vacation there.

Maxhapan is, with out doubt, the best place to stay in Caye Caulker. With only three cabanas Louise is able to take care of her guests on such a personal level. We immediately felt like we were welcome on this fantastic little island. "Go slow!" is the saying on Caye Caulker and we felt like someone slammed the brakes on the pace of our lives and we loved it.

The village of Caye Caulker is not very large and Maxhapan is on the southern edge of town; it was quiet and removed from the more concentrated tourist area but a "go slow!" five minute bike ride gets you everywhere you could want to go.

My recommendation: Grab a bottle of 1 Barrel (rum) and some coke at the market. Stop by the bakery for some sweet rolls and the fruit stand for the best oranges on the planet. Park yourself in a hammock at Maxhapan and melt into bliss.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kammalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed here Feb 6 to Feb 9, 2008 and we loved it. The price was great, Louise was helpful. She cleaned everyday, left water and kept the yard beautiful. You couldn't ask for more. Looking around and talking to the other tourists we felt very lucky to stay here. She has a treehouse that she keeps lighted at night so we played cards at night, just keep the noise level down (Louise and her Mom are sleeping nearby).
Wendy and Spencer , Alberta

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

You'll hear about Louise - she is very helpful and friendly and adds to the experience.

The rooms are really nice (given that this is Belize) - better than they look in photos - with plenty of outside space. The garden's very large and open, and looks pretty at night lit up by fairy lights.

There's the free bikes (v. good) and snorkel equipment, and it is a lovely place to relax.

A couple of notes:
- it's not the cheapest place to stay on Caye Caulker, but you could pay a lot more
- it's in the village - this is not a "resort" experience - you will get a mild flavour of Belizean life going on around you.

I'd highly recommend staying here though.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didsbury_Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews