We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dive site”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turneffe Reef

Turneffe Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$412.50*
and up
Blue Hole and Turneffe Islands Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dive site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We (a group of divers) visited the site without boarding the islands, and we can tell that as far as diving is concerned, this place is amazing, beautiful reefs and marine wildlife. The tour guides told us that the islands (mangroves) themselves are a bit too much of a hot spots for tropical moustiques and crocodiles :).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is just The Blue Hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As in so many chapters of Nathional geographic, as in many chapters of Cousteau 's underwater world . The feeling of infinite depth , sharks , turtles , rays and a lot of fish swimming over one , under one , next one , is an indescribable experience . It is an icon in the diving, is part of history and is present . A place where all we like the adventure of nature should go at least once in your life.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pristine dives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Out of all the 30-35 dives i have done this is my favorite place to dive in the whole world. The sea life, coral and sheer beauty of it all is simply amazing!
This reef is 30 miles out and not an easy trip so it has fewer people diving it and you feel as if you are the first to see this wonderful place.
You will enjoy, I guarantee it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank landlockedNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool, but overfished.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The big flats of garden eels and occasional jawfish were fun to see but the lack of any large fish was conspicuous. It's weird to not see any black groupers larger than your hand on a reef like that. Belize needs to step up their enforcement of protected areas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great dive site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

wow what a great dive sites with forests of coral , turtles and eagle rays. I was really impressed by the clear waters full of life although we didnt see any sharks which was very unusual. highly reccomended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank monicabe929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turneffe Reef also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Turneffe Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing