We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They just cancelled and didn't even bother to inform”
Review of Star Tours

Star Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Star Tours offers Daily Snorkel Tours to sites like Hol-Chan Marine Reserve, the Manatee Reserve, and Shark Ray Alley. We also offer Tours for Cruise Passenger.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They just cancelled and didn't even bother to inform”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am highly disappointed by them. I booked the tour 3 months in advance. Just before a month when I called them for final payment they informed that the tour was cancelled. They didn't even have courtesy to inform. Sign up only if you like to get disappointed. Very very unprofessional.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
21 Thank Sparkingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We cancel tours because of Weather... We have never cancelled a Tour one month in advance...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    6
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkeling the Reef”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our ship arrived in Belize and we were to take the water taxi to Caye Caulker island. Our name was listed at the water taxi window and our hand written ticket was given to us. (I prepaid online for this tour). After arriving on the island, we found the location with help from a nice man as we got off the taxi. We were very early, our tour didn't start until 1030. So we were able to walk around the island, which is laid back, relaxing and very small! Equipment was good, but we are NOT snorkelers, so to us it worked fine. There were 9 total people on our tour, the girl in the office brought us drinks of water and pop, (only us, not everyone and I think maybe that was because I prepaid online?) and my return voucher for the water taxi. Our tour guide was Shaun, and he was amazing. He went with us on the snorkel and talked to us about the coral and the fish we saw. Then we went to shark and sting ray alley, which was AWESOME! We all got to hold a shark and a sting ray, which was the coolest thing! The final area we went was the Coral gardens and it was all very beautiful. I was VERY concerned about getting back to the water taxi since Carnival "won't wait for you if you are not on a Carnival tour"...well, Shaun was aware of the time, and knew we had to be on the water taxi! Which he dropped us off right at the water taxi dock. Again, Shaun was fab!!
The reason I gave this a very good rating is because Shaun was amazing and extremely knowledgeable. I felt he really cares about the Mesoamerican reef, it's beauty, the animals, the coral and all it has to offer this community.
My complaints are: it would of been nice to have a sign to the tour place, or even included in the email which direction to go once on the island. Lunch was to also be included, which was cut up bananas and pineapple, (enough for us to each have a small chunk). I also felt that the description I read about the touring boat was deceiving, since getting back INTO the boat was a challenge on the moving, rinky-ladder! Again, Shaun was very helpful, otherwise I would probably still be at the reef floating.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank wemcjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our Guide and the Tour. We do not have signs or map of the island sent to you because our staff was to meet you when you arrived in Caye Caulker, if we did not then we apologize. Lunch is not included in our tours, only a suggestion that if you have time you can have lunch at our Restaurant. We also use ladders and equipment that are pretty much standard to any snorkel shop on the island. Again, apologies if there was any issues with the ladder.

We are happy that you had fun on your Tour and in Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDWAY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Snorkel Trip”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have read some of the negative reviews and having traveled the same path and can see where the problems could occur. Ramon was very clear that we should use Belize time and not "Ship" time. Luckily for us they were the same. He provided us with a map to find the water taxi terminal, and we found it with no issues. Our tickets were waiting as expected. The water taxi did take about 50 minutes to get to Caye Caulker. We were met at the end of the pier and escorted to the hotel where we met our guide, Shaun. Everyone there was very nice and helpful. There were 7 of us all together including another couple from a different cruise ship. Before leaving shore Shaun timed out the trip to ensure the cruise ship passengers would have no issues on the return trip. The water was shallower than I had expected but the snorkeling was fantastic. Shaun was an excellent guide and pointed out lots of things we would have missed. Swimming with the manta rays and nurse sharks was a lot of fun, but my favorite was seeing the green moray eel. This is not a fancy outfit by any means. The boat was small but covered. Shaun provided us with fresh fruit, water, and a choice of sodas while on the boat. We took a smaller, faster water taxi back to Belize City, arrived without incident, and returned to our ship. It was a great day and an amazing experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BluegrassAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Glad you had a good Snorkel Tour with us and enjoyed your day in Belize...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Adventure but Watch the Clock”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a tour specifically designed for cruise ship passengers. We ran into trouble right from the first ferry ride to Caye Caulker as the ticket office had no record of us purchasing tickets. Thankfully we utilized a local policewoman to escort us to the ticket window where she "proved" we had paid for the trip.

Once on Caye Caulker, we had arrived "early" to the snorkel station. If we hadn't arrived early, our entire tour would have had to have been cancelled becuase we didn't have enough time to catch a ferry back to get back on our ship. Once the tour guides got around to our pace (tight timeline) we got on a boat and zipped out to the reef.

The reef offered a lot of what we expected. Saw tons of sharks, rays, fish, beautiful coral. Gorgeous water and the guides were very knowlegeable.

I would recommend watching the clock and make sure you clarify "island time" verses "ship time". Each ferry ride is at least 45 mins. If you only have a short time to snorkel, then maybe find somethign that doesn't inlcude a ferry ride.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch- Only gave them 2 stars instead of 1 because they found us another tour company”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

On Monday, we booked a manatee tour with them for Tuesday, were told that the tour had 4 people total signed up, so it was confirmed to go out the next day, for X dollars, and show up at 9 AM. When we arrived at 9 AM, we were told there was good news and bad news: our tour had actually been cancelled, but they could set us up with a larger tour leaving for only an extra 30 dollars (US) per person. We were really unhappy with this and said as much, but grudgingly agreed to do the other tour. Magically, a few minutes later, the staff person found us another tour company to travel with for 5 dollars less than the original price.
On top of that, I had specifically asked about bathrooms (sometimes a girl just needs a bathroom), and was assured there would be bathrooms available on one of the stops. Actually, there were no bathrooms available at any point during the day!
So I just wouldn't trust these guys.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at Star Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We do try our best to send out the Manatee Tour, but there is a minimum for this tour, the Manatee Reserve is far away and costly to reach at. We also were not being anyway false, just trying our best, since we were not doing the tour, to accommodate you to ensure you did get the tour you wanted.

Here on Caye Caulker this is normal practice. This is done to ensure that the guests do get the tour they want to do. What you experienced is us trying to assist you with getting your tour in on that day and that is why the different prices situation occurred. We are glad that you did get to do the tour and hope you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Star Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing