We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already booked for next year!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already booked for next year!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

I have just returned from a fantastic trip to Caye Caulker where we stayed at Seaside Cabanas with two other couples. We were really impressed with the Hotel and it's staff. Our room was clean and bright with all we could need for our week's stay. There was some beautiful local artwork on the walls - so beautiful we bought one to bring home with us!I was grateful for the free wireless internet as so many places i have stayed at charge an annoying fee.
We thought the price was really reasonable compared to other places we have been in the Caribbean. The Hotel has a great location and amazing views out to the reef. The pool was a welcome relief from the intense heat. The beaches are not the best but with the reef only short boat ride away, we got over it.
Some of our friends were not divers and spent a lot of time around the pool and in the cool little bar. They also went off to see some Mayan ruins so they were very content.

Highly recommended for couples or group trips, we have booked up for New years so see you again guys!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewalker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    156
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
87
354
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobalt, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

If you take the boat taxi, this is the first property that you come to when you get off the boat - very convenient. The rooms had internet access and a TV. The pool was lovely with nice landscaping. close to many restaurants. It's particularly nice to have a pool, since there really aren't any good beaches on the island.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank lschroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I spent 6 nights here in January. I booked online and had no problems at all. We saw most of the other hotels on the island and this appeared to be one of the nicer ones. All of Caye Caulker's 'resorts' are small and fairly low key; very different from the resorts you see on Ambergris Caye.

The room
We stayed in room 6, which is the upper portion of the two-floor cabana. The room was big and clean, and had a small balcony overlooking the pool area. All of the furnishings looked very new. At first we were thrilled with our choice, but after a few days we started to notice that everything was constantly damp. Even the sheets felt wet, and none of our wet towels and swimsuits would dry at all when we hung them up. It got to be pretty unbearable by the end of our stay.

The property
We walked all over the island and this hotel had the nicest property we saw. The pool area is nicely landscaped and has lots of chairs and hammocks to relax in. The pool was one of the features that drew me to this resort, but it is actually quite small, and we never saw anyone swimming in it. The location is good, right off the water taxi pier so you don't have to haul your luggage a long way. The island is very small so you can walk anywhere. (A note about Caye Caulker: the island is beautiful, but don't expect a Caribbean-esque beach. We met a few people who were disappointed.)

The service
We didn't have much contact with the staff but found them helpful and polite. We arranged a snorkeling tour through the hotel and had no problems. There was a helpful book of information about the island in the room, including restaurants, tours, stores, and other info. On our last day, they allowed us to check out late and leave our luggage there even later.

Overall, we found this resort good compared to the other hotels we saw on the island, but not nearly as nice as other places we stayed in Belize.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank picnic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is a re-post after editing prior review so a bit simplified... the other recent review below highlights some of the issues but Seaside is definitely not a 2-star experience as proposed.

We stayed here 4 nights in late Jan '09. Overall, we were dissapointed with the relative cost (by far most expensive place on Caye Caulker) given the amenities. The $60 gap between Seaside and other clean, close to water options for essentially a pool/garden prob. isn't worth it. The pool was actually very nice and we spent two nice days lounging around looking out over the water (no idea why other reviewer cites issues with the views... they're great as can be). Once night in room 12 (2nd floor overlooking pool) and then cabana 3 with the rooftop hammock. The rooftop was very nice to get shade and read peacefully.

Our issues were really with the bathrooms, lack of drinking water provided, some indifference on the part of staff, bar was a bit pricey and not really a place to hang out. One afternoon a clearly drunk man was lurking around the bar and got served a beer by the bartender. The next day, I saw the same guy cleaning the pool. Not major issue, but not top-price service. Apparently, management is remodeling the baths but they were very basic, we had issues with hot enough water and pressure, some of the tiling was reaching that icky point...

We thought the rest of the styling was fine... nice lighting and bright colors in the room. Little fridge was helpful to store some water and beers. Working, high speed wifi was great too.

Overall, this is a clear 4 star, but also not a 5. The cost is just too high comparatively. If you want the pool and a private feel, then this is probably your best option so to that end, Seaside is probably the nicest on Caye Caulker. But not $60 nicer and they have a few refinements to make. We looked at several hotels for an extra night on the island, all in the $50-70USD range, and after staying at one would have been almost as satisfied and saved >$200USD in the process.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank citytraveler1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Seaside Cabanas for 2 nights based on reviews on Trip Advisor, wanted to try a hotel on the beach, the place we stayed at the first 3 nights did not have vacancy for the other 2 nights we needed (we stayed at Maxhapan Cabanas....see our review (awsome place)), and we thought for over $100.00 a night it would be more luxurious (good/romantic way to end our trip).

Overall the place is nice, but it was $60.00 more than the place we stayed at first. The only thing "better" was the veiw and the fact it had a pool. However, the palm trees got in the wa of the view, and the water taxi station was visable. We really didn't think this $60.00 view was worth it.

We stayed in 2 different rooms (room 14 the first night, and room 2 a cabana the second night). The rooms were clean but the bed was uncomfortable as it was not on a box spring, but a concrete slab. The bathroom was basic, no shower curtain, and the shower in room 14 did not have a shower head and had rust on the wall (something I won't expect when you are staying at one of the most expensive places on the island). I thought the deck chairs on the balcony at room 14 were odd, as there wasn't a lot of room. Room 14 was very noisy at night and could hear doors slam, people talking, and noise from the main street.

The cabana room 2, was much larger, and the bed was a tad more comfortable. The shower, still basic (but larger), and it t had a shower head (but no pressure). The room was about $20.00 more than room 14 (and probably this or room 1 would the only rooms worth staying in). It was less noisy and the top of the cabana had a hammock, but the palm trees were in the way of the view. The view from the window was ok, but the water taxi dock was iin front of it (think room 1 would have the best view). Supposidly they provide free coffee in the morning, but the hotel does not provide any information about the hotel amenities.

I was disappointed with check-in. The person at the front desk was unorganized and couldn't find our reservation at first. She asked me what room I was staying in (shouldn't that be something they know). She was frusterated when I thought we were in a different room. In the end we had it in order.

Cons: Hotel did not provide any water for their guests, information about the hotel/island, only 1 flat pillow for guests (yes you can ask for more), poor water pressure/shower heads, concrete bed frame/concrete everywhere. Hotel rooms (not cabanas) small and noisy. Felt unconfortable that there were no curtains on bathroom windows.

Pros: View, landscape, pool

Overall opinion: Would be a good hotel if it was $40-50 cheeper. Not as impressive as other places to stay on the island(and many times for cheeper). For the price, I would expect better amenities and service.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riceinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

I just got back from Caye Caulker and stayed 3 nights here (Jan. 23-26). The hotel is small but has everything you need. My wife and I stayed in one of the rooms (cabanas were sold out) and it came with cable tv, mini fridge, hot showers, full size bed, remote controlled AC, alarm, etc. The hotel DOES have wifi. I used it a lot. Just ask reception for WPA key as it is protected. The reception desk closes early (around 6'ish pm) due to the fact the last water taxi to come in is at 530p so they just expect the last minute arrivals. Bartenders are super friendly at local bar (Uno Mas).

The island itself is awsome. very relaxed and you just do a whole lot of nothing. snorkeling is a must, we used E-Z tour (right across from the nightclub). Captain Harry did a very good job guiding thru 4 dive points. At the end, he offered to dock the boat by the split and watch the sunset. we made sure we had plenty of booze (beer not included, but rum punch and lunch was). We paid $85Bz for each.

Yes, grilled lobster is found all over. The cheapest spot we had it at was at "Jolly Roger". Huge guy on the main drag. Runs small eatery. we paid $30Bz for each lobster. each platter comes with 3 sides, 2 rum punch and desert. BTW, if you come back next day, he will give you the platter for $20Bz.

Habaneros, Roses, Amor y cafe, Don Corleone, and Sandbox are highly recommended. i liked their food a lot. The sports bar gets wild on trivia night...for sure best nights to go. Food is ok too. Hit the nightclub on Saturday night....it gets packed.

Ther's only 1 ATM/bank in the whole island. make sure you have plenty of cash as it tends to run out of money by the weekend. Most restaurants/bars take CC though. I noticed most places charged a $25Bz minumum to use card. Also, some places (i.e tour guides, some restaurants) will add a 5% charge for CC use. BTW, the island operates one 2:1 ration for BZ to USD. the official rate is a bit over $2bz for every 1USD. Use your math sense to know when it pays to use CC to get the best exchange as banks will honor the actual official exchange.

that's it. i'm sure there's plenty more i left out.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlp187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

I can only agree with what most people have already said, this is a GREAT place to stay at.

We were here during New Years Eve, stayed in one of the rooms and found everything to be perfect. We did see the cabanas and would have stayed there if we would have realized how nice they look, maybe next time!

Check-in was a breeze, the rooms are nice and clean, with cable-tv, mini fridge and free WiFi. Location is great, you're right at the dock for the water taxi and within walking distance to everything else. The "Split" is located about 10min walk and that's also the most you'll end up walking on this island.

We needed to get in contact with a doctor on the 1st of Jan and the reception were very helpful in arranging this for us, they also helped us with information regarding water taxis, air planes etc...

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone...

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything to complain about...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kalthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Property: Seaside Cabanas
Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing