We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kokomo Beach Suites
Ranked #22 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is an amazing place!! Takes ahold of u and takes your breathe away!! Loved staying beachfront! The rooms are very spacious, funky & fun. Love laying in the hammocks overlooking the ocean with a rum punch in hand!! Wish I could have stayed longer ! Truly a magical place!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phatz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

CC is so fun, chill and laid back... Kokomo Beach is at the perfect location on the island with the best views and the most amazing rooms! Bright, colorful & funky... very cool decorating! The best place to stay on CC!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Between the time we booked (Dec. '08) and confirmed our reservation the place changed owners; now it's part of Tina's Backpacker Hostel. Some of the suites have become higher end dorms but the upstairs suites are 1 bedroom units with a separate living room and kitchenette.

The location, on the beach near the docks, is perfect and the sunrises were beautiful. We loved having a kitchen so we could prepare some of our own meals, shopping at the local groceries and buying fresh barracuda steaks from local fishermen. The rooms were spacious and clean.

My brother-in-law's family stayed at Sailwinds right next door (our balconies were attached) and had similar rooms with the addition of free purified water.

Our favorite meal out was at Wish Willy (my husband's favorite meal of his life) and we had good experiences diving with Frenchie's. Our last full day on Caulker we went on a Raggamuffin snorkeling/sailing trip to Hol Chan Reserve and Shark Ray Alley and really loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I don't think anywhere you stay on Caye Caulker will be bad. If you're their, you're not their for a luxury suite, you can go to San Pedro. It's a beautiful island, it's laid back and the vibe is amazing but it's not a resort town and I love that. The Auxillou is newly owned by Tina's Backpacker's Hostel which is a few doors down. It's only 4 suites and now the bottom two suites are being used as part of the Hostel dormitory. The suites themselves are pretty nice although I don't think anyone could have slept on the "pull-out" (futon) in the living room since it was lumpy and you could feel the wood bars while just sitting on it. It's somewhat awkward as when you approach the hotel there is no service desk or anything. It took a while of just looking lost before someone told me to go to the Hostel down the beach to check in. It would've been helpful to have some sort of sign or something. It's kinda like renting a condo, not being in a hotel. If I had known, I would've just rented one of the other condos on the island. The only downside is that you have to bring your own hammock. Would've been nice to already have them their cause now I have a $60 hammock that I can't use at home... Oh well. Also there's a club/restaurant right behind that can thump the music out on Weekend nights. Also construction is going on which can kinda ruin the mood, if you're just wanting to sit on the porch and read. Granted, construction is happening all over the island and there's not much you can do about that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seemoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

One of our problems is that one of us will wake up early or have problems sleeping so having the extra seperate room is great. He could watch tv late at night--or I can get up early and read. Location could not be better--while we are very active, some our favorite memories were just sitting on the prch and watch the world go by.

Unfortunately the wifi was not working when we were there--but by leading over the porch rail, we were able to connect with the wifi in the related hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed at the Auxillou Suites as part of our Belize vacation in May. The suites were large and well-furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms face east and have a lovely view of the rising sun each morning. You can see the reef from the porch, and the water taxi stop is about 50 steps away, making trips to the mainland very convenient. Caye Caulker is so small that everything is pretty much in walking distance, but the Auxillou Suites are literally right in the middle of it all. The hosts wer very friendly and they arranged all our day trips for us. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jds98235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Unfairly Treated by the Auxillou Beach Suites, Caye Caulker, Belize

Here is our story:

We made reservations in August for 7 nights at the Auxillou Beach Suites – arriving Nov. 30, and staying 7 nights, through the night of Dec. 6 and checking out the morning of Dec.7.

We arrived Nov 30 and checked into our suite. It was a nice unit - one of four suites that make up the hotel.

On the morning of Dec 6, the landlady, Wendy, asked me if we were about ready to move to the new location. I told her I didn’t know what she was talking about. She said we should have gotten an email telling us that we were going to be moved to another place on the island because of the noise and dirt that was going to be caused by construction on the adjoining place. I told her that we had received no notice and this was the first I had heard about it. There had been the starting of construction over the past few days and it did not cause any significant problem for us, so we were a bit confused about why we were being moved now, but went along with it. As we were preparing to move, we found out that the people in the suite immediately above us had been told the same thing. A taxi picked us all up and took us to another hotel further down the beach and away from the center of town, where we wanted to be. We were checked in and shown to our room, which was greatly inferior to the suite we had at Auxillou. It was one small room with a bathroom. We needed to go back by Auxillou to pick up something we had forgotten, and noticed they appeared to be cleaning our suite. We also saw someone that had been a customer of the adjoining place sitting outside the door of the suite immediately above ours. This was the suite from which the other people had been moved. We also had been told that all guests were going to be moved, but when my wife went by the Auxillou later that day she noticed that the guests in the suite next to “ours” were still there and she spoke with them. They said that they had not been asked to move and that new guests had checked into “our” suite after we left. After this discovery and speaking with the owner of the hotel we had been moved to, we found out that the owners of the Auxillou had lied to us.. The Auxillou had called the other hotel several days before the move and asked for two of their least expensive rooms for us and the other people. This hotel had suites comparable to the Auxillou and told the Auxillou they could put us in those units, but the Auxillou declined saying they just wanted the least expensive rooms. We also found out that the person we had seen sitting outside the Auxillou unit above ours had moved into that suite and that relatives of that person had moved into the suite we had and the other upstairs suite.

Construction noise was never the problem. The Auxillou had double booked the suite we were in and simply wanted us out of there, perhaps because we only had one night left to be there and they had another group of people coming in who would be there for more days, and probably because the new patrons were paying more. The Auxillou simply dumped us in the least expensive rooms they could find, and most probably made a profit out of moving us.
Obviously, in retrospect, we could have simply refused to move, but at the time we never dreamed that their motives could be any less than honorable. We feel we were unfairly treated and cheated by the owners/managers of the Auxillou Beach Suites and would warn others going to Caye Caulker to avoid doing business with them.


Jack and Betty Richardson
Grand Junction, Colorado

  • Liked — Comfortable room in good location
  • Disliked — Lied to and cheated by the owner/managers of the property
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank bjrichgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokomoBeach, Owner at Kokomo Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Hi Jack & Betty,
I am very sorry to hear of this happening to you! The hotel is under new management now and has been completely renovated! We would love to have you back if you return to Caye Caulker... and can guarantee you would love your stay with us! :)

Thanks,
Stacey
Kokomo Beach Belize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.2 mi away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#12 of 32 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokomo Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokomo Beach Suites

Property: Kokomo Beach Suites
Address: | Beachfront, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokomo Beach Belize is located only fifty feet or so from the breathtaking Caribbean Sea on the tranquil island of Caye Caulker, Belize. These are individual one-bedroom suites tastefully decorated to blend in with the island atmosphere. Each fully air-conditioned unit features a private bedroom, private bath, hot/cold water, living room area, cable TV, kitchenette and each has its own spacious deck space. Our ultra spacious units each with a approx. 500 sq ft of inside space makes them the most spacious yet affordable vacation units on the island. Warm furnishings make them a home away from home. This is the premier property on Caye Caulker. Come enjoy our breezy verandahs and starlit nights in relaxed comfort. Welcome to a beautiful island escape. These are beachfront condos that are among the best on the island. Step out from your deck and walk on the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kokomo Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Beach Hotel Caye Caulker
Auxillou Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing