We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Friendly, & Accommodating!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling for almost 4 months through Central America and heard the buzz about Dirty McNasty's from almost every person we met along the way. We had planned to go to San Pedro for a few days, but when we got on the water taxi all we heard was Caye Caulker and Dirty McNastys. We jumped ship at Caye Caulker and begged a taxi driver on his golf cart to get us to the hostel before the rooms were gone! The private rooms were perfectly adequate. The room was extremely hot during the day but cooler at night. Although, still hot and sticky that's what to expect from that area this time of year. Breakfast was included in the morning and there was free rum punch at night. FYI the breakfast was awesome. The owners were great, they hung out and talked with the guests and even cooked our dinner at night. They referred us to tours and island to-do's. We stayed 4 nights left for a week, but decided to come back to stay until the end of our travels. They are in the process of some construction and seemed to be adding more to the hostel every day. We rebooked a private room on the Dirty McNasty's Facebook page and to our surprise they had air con rooms since our leave! What a way to end our travels!!!! Great job Dirty McNastys, the buzz about this hostel was spot on! The owners said they have big plans of a huge pool with a swim up bar, air con dorms, and more rooms by January. We will be back for that next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Happy to see Dirty McNasty's is finally on TA. I stayed here recently for four nights on my way up to Mexico. We were recommended to stay here by various people we met on our travels even though it wasn't listed on any of the usual websites.

Overall we all had a great time here. It seems to be the new social spot of the island with a lot of people coming over from neighbouring hostels.

- They have a large communal area which has a kitchen, three pool tables and lots of hammocks and tables. Also features large speakers and anyone can put music on.

- The bedrooms are nice. Lots of fans in the rooms and the beds are comfortable.

- Free punch in the evenings! A lot of it too - like a large water dispenser worth.

- Staff are nice and things get done.

A few bad points but I don't think these drop the rating as we had a good time.

- Some of the bunks don't have any sea breeze or fan on them. If you get one of these you're gonna sweat all night.
- Building work going on at the moment.
- They seem to play music all through the day out of large speakers. Not really necessary - would be nicer to have a tranquil feeling during the day, allows people to relax a bit more than constant music.
- Key process is a bit bad. Reception closes around 8pm and you need to give the keys back and get deposit if you are leaving early the next day. Problem is you can't get in the room later on after going out as you have no key! So everyone just keeps the keys and loses their deposit. Needs to be some kind of skeleton staff or security to give back the key deposits.

Overall had a really goo time there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hostel is worth staying here just for how magnificently vibrant the outside is (and of course its name!). I stayed here almost as a joke but actually I thought the dorm rooms were nice and clean and the staff were friendly. If you are staying in a dorm room then try and get one at the top facing the sea as it had a lovely breeze coming through at night (rare anywhere in Central America in dry season I found). I have heard though that the private rooms are really stuffy. It has kitchen facilities and a free breakfast which are a bonus for any budget travellers.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank IPreferTopBunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutto pessimo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank aurore9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank F1793QZandresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank virke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
186 reviews
0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Hostel
Popeyes Beach Hostel
#28 of 36 in Caye Caulker
2 reviews
0 mi away
Go Slow Caye Caulker
Go Slow Caye Caulker
#21 of 36 in Caye Caulker
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Juan's Guest Rooms at Juan in a Million
12.2 mi away
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel

Address: 1 Crocodile Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing