We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty breakfast stop”
Review of Meldy's

Meldy's
Ranked #24 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: If you're the type who enjoy's flavorful food and family style service this is the place to eat. It is located across the only bakery in Caye Caulker and not too far from the only bank on the island, Meldy's is the place for amazing meals at an affordable price. It's a small place, but even if it's a little crowded or if you're in a rush, ask about take out, the extensive menu includes seasonal lobster,fish, burgers and everything in between. Also, be sure to ask about Meldy's bacon wrapped baked chicken, it is nothing short of spectacular. So look out for the little pink and green building on middle street, tell them you came to see Meldy. If she's in, she might be able to fix you a customized menu based dish to suit your taste, just ask, this is your mom's kitchen away from home.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast stop”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We ended up here for breakfast sine our hotel only does continental style. I had an omelet and he had the French toast (which was layered with banana slices). My omelet was ordered with ham and cheese, was also cooked with salsa and was sooo delicious, we definitely recommend stopping in this little tucked away joint!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KyAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    77
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Goopy Gooey Goodness!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We needed a lunch and after out favorite spot was closed we checked out Meldy's and were pleased with what we found. Not wanting too much food we chose to share Chicken Nachos. They came with bits of chicken (wouldn't pay extra for it next time), and an amazing black bean sauce and liquid gooey cheese all over it, peppered with just enough jalapeños to give it a kick! Delicious and messy, but worth the money! She's off the main path near the Atlantic Bank - make a point to sit at her pink and green tables and enjoy your visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParkhillDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious tortillas”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I had breakfast here once. We each ordered a breakfast burrito; it was huge and I couldn't finish mine but not for lack of trying. It was delicious and the flour tortilla was THE BEST we have ever tasted which is a huge compliment from two southern Californians who lived on Mexican food before moving to North Carolina. The rest of the meal was not so great - we had much better fruit and OJ at other restaurants. Unfortunately, that is what lowered my rating because the burrito was terrific!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momcat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish burrito!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I will forever remember this fish burrito.. upon walking into this little caribbean hut like place I did not have high expectations for the food.. I was wrong.. the fish burrito was made with a homemade gigantic tortilla and the fish and onions were seasoned with what I don't know but it was super flavorful. We also had a ceviche that was off the hook! So good. We tried ceviche at Habeneros the following night and it did not compare to the flavors here.

This is a great spot for lunch or dinner.. casual relaxed atmosphere.. with amazing food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandasojourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
“Coconut Snapper”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Delicious coconut snapper, flavorful rice and great coleslaw. Not hard to imagine the snapper was swimming in the AM. The sauce was inspired. The location is a bit disappointing and could do without the mosquito coils. The cooks should really be setup in a restaurant on the beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meldy's also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Meldy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing