We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT snorkeling tour....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario's Tours

Mario's Tours
Ranked #15 of 34 Tours in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT snorkeling tour....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I highly recommend Mario's Tours. You would probably pass them by walking around Caye Caulker and not realize what a great tour group this is because they do not pressure you or push their business. We found out about them by word of mouth. Great experience....very relaxed and we had water and fresh fruit waiting for us every time we got back in the boat. If I was on the island longer, I would have probably booked at least 2 more tours with them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    12
    2
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent personality and service, would recommend them to anyone. 3 hour snorkeling included water, fruit, and rum punch

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will use Mario's again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

90BZ or $45 included snorkeling equipment, lunch, 2 snacks and 3 stops. Amazing tour and guide. Had never snorkeled but will definitely use this tour company on my return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yasminealabbasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston County
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So great, we scheduled 3 tours with them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Mario's Tours is very low key. They're not in-your-face, and when you request information they do not try to push you to book with them. This was nice in and of itself, so we ended up booking an all day snorkel tour with them from 10:30am-3:30pm ($45 American, I believe). And we are SO glad we did. With Joe as our knowledgeable guide, this had 3 or 4 different stops. I believe it was Hol Chan, Shark Ray Alley, the North Channel, and the Coral Gardens. That being said, it was manatee mating season, so he stopped out of sequence in the hopes of catching sight of some before too many boats showed up. We not only saw one manatee, but TWO sets of them. We returned to this site at the end of the trip to take our time. We also saw an sea turtles, played with the sharks and rays, and he went on the hunt for eels and other "hidden" treasures.

We ended up booking a half day snorkel ($25 USD/person) with them and Mario actually did this one. It was just as good, and we saw many varieties of different sea life. His deckhand Jose was very friendly, and we sat on the boat and talked a bit when I was "snorkeled" out at the end of the trip. Their equipment is very nice, and I heard another guest (8 people max is what we had on our trips!) mention it was better than that of the other company they had used. They also served lunch and fruit on the long trip and fruit on the short trip. This is fresh stuff they cut up while we're snorkeling!

The last trip we booked with Mario was the Lamanai mainland Mayan ruins tour. He is more of just a middle man in this, and the other middle man who we met who provides the transportation was a little late, but he was knowledgeable about the country and he knew when to keep quiet when we were trying to sleep! ;) This trip is a whole day, since it is a lot of traveling. It's not cheap ($130 USD per person), but 100% worth it. It was so beautiful and something we would definitely have regretted not doing. He was one of the few guides on Caulker who was offering this trip while we were there.

We won't consider using anyone else when we go back. Mario's was great!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FishGalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Mario's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing