We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great place”
Review of The Tropics Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tropics Hotel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
SALEM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, great place”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly and the location was nice. Free wifi and a nice place to sit in front of hotel and enjoy the beach. The restaurant was fair priced and the food was good. I will defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salem_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012, in a 1 bedroom with 2 beds and 1 bath, upper level at the front with a view of the ocean. Good location right in the middle of town but the big problem was the next door bar going until after 4:00 am into the morning with a heavy bass beat that reverberated throughout our room all night long; also, a German Shepherd dog was chained up and continually barked all night long. We had come to Caye Caulker solely to scuba dive, so we did not get much needed sleep; management of the hotel was friendly and tried to be helpful, but were unable to do anything about the loud bar or the barking dog. We heard daytime robbery of unlocked hotel rooms was occurring, including at this hotel, so lock your rooms and take your valuables with you at all times. If the loud bar is gone and the barking dog are gone, and if hotel management has done something about room security, this may be a reasonable and economical place to stay. On Caye Caulker, be on your guard: tourists are being hassled by the island police and the locals have become more aggressive toward the tourists. San Pedro might now be a better place to stay, but San Pedro is more crowded and more expensive than Caye Caulker and has less of the feel and interesting idiosyncrasies of island life.

Room Tip: The back rooms on the upper level away from the front of the hotel might be quieter at night but als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grand t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive room close to the beach and central to activities this hotel is perfect for the price ($40 US per night w/ a 10% discount if u go snorkeling too).
Our room was clean, fans available (no air), no fridge, no TV, tile floors, beds are nothing fancy but also clean. Rm #4 had great views and access to a picnic table. The staff was very friendly, ask for "Mugs" he was very helpful and knowledgable about the island. Only downfall - next to a club that doesn't get rolling 'till 11pm or later - gets a little noisy. Bring earplugs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's one of the cheapest in Caye Caulker. With 3 nights or more, you can get a discount.I stayed on the second floor which was ideal to relax on the large deck furnished with lounge chairs and tables with chairs But thyee are also a few picni8c tables below also. With 2 double beds, the room was still quite large, two fans were well appreciated,and a clean large bathroom with excellent hot water. But, like all other hotels in Central America, the drain plug is not supplied, so bring your own if you want to wash your clothes in the sink.The hotel yellow and orange, is well-maintained and is facing the ocean; an excellent sunrise from your room. The hotel was an excellent choice, but my stay was spoiled by some American young people who party till late. Like many American youth, they are loud and have no respect for other residents. I had to get up, get dressed and remind them of their behavior. The hotel is well situated in central activity and restaurants area.There is a snorkeling office on the gounds called "Star Tours" which can set you up for any interesting water adventure, US$35 for a half-day of snorkeling including equipment, guide, trasnportation and a snack. I would return again, at US$38 a night, It now bears the name of Tropics Paradie Too.... Oh, the internet connection, WiFi, was excellent.Too. it's an excellent value for Caye Caulker.

Room Tip: If you want to stay up after 10pm, get a room in the back; less people will be annoyed by your noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was plain NASTY! Don't waste your time or money here! There were bugs, dirt everywhere and the night we stayed there it rained all night and water was leaking into the room onto the bed and when we approached the hotel management they just said there was nothing they could do. I would NEVER stay here again. It's better to save your money and sleep on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FaytownHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon R, Owner at The Tropics Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
FULL renovations were made to the room you pictured and stayed in. We apologize for your inconvenience but can assure you that all our rooms have been renovated. Thanks for your understanding.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in room no 8 downstairs. The room was big and very basic. The fans were old and didn't really do anything to cool the room. One of the beds had the most uncomfortable mattress ever and the pillows smelled horrible. There were no curtains in the window so we had to keep the storm shutters closed all the time. When it was raining water came in under the door and was running down the wall in the middle of the room so you had to be careful not to get all your things wet. The bathroom was big and clean enough. The water smelled really bad at times but there was plenty of it.

The yard is nice but there aren't enough seats or hammocks for the guests to relax. They could make it really nice with some effort if they wanted to.

They refused to give us toilet paper in the evening because we hadn't paid for the following day yet. After paying the next night they finally gave it to us in the morning. So if you run out of tp the night before checking out you better go and buy your own.

The woman, Naomi?, working in the reception was rather unpleasant to deal with. All other people seemed very friendly.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room number eight. Check the beds and fans carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
23.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropics Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropics Hotel

Property: The Tropics Hotel
Address: 18 Hicaco Avenue | Beach Front, Caye Caulker 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropica Hotel has been fully renovated. Renovations began in November and the major work has been completed. You are sure to have a nice Clean and Comfortable Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing