We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Real Macaw
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot Caribe Hotel(Caye Caulker)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$61
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blue Wave Guest House(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Paradise, Too Hotel(Caye Caulker)
$54
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kokomo Beach Suites(Caye Caulker)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
124
100
29
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
100
29
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe ownertype chairsfront streetstreet vendorsreggae musicgreat water pressurefront porchpeople watchingsmall kitchenettenice spotclean roomsgreat showerdouble bedair conditioningwould definitely stay here againcleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 270 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I stayed at this hotel march 2007 for 3 nights in one of the beach front rooms (70$ us/night). the hotel is a little pricier than the others in Caye Caulker but definitely worth the extra. The location can't be beat - right on front street in the middle of all the action on the island with a beautiful view of the ocean from the hotel. The room was modest but had everythind needed including AC (that worked well), ceiling fan, shower with warm water, fridge, coffee maker and television (with about 50 channels). The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel had a nice veranda with chairs and hammocks; a perfect place to sit in the shade and read or watch the people walking up and down the street.

The owners, Jessie and her son Jeff, took very good care of us. They were lovely people that clearly love Caye Caulker and are extremely helpful. Jessie just wants to go out of her way to help you out in any way possible. she has 3 adorable little dogs - all pekanese-like - and they are the most well cared for dogs on the island!

There is an empty lot next door to this hotel that is home to a bunch of stray cats. Some wander onto the macaw property from time to time and the occasional cat fight can be heard at night. Not really a big problem for us.

I would definitely stay here if return to Caye Caulker. I would suggest booking ahead of time because the place was full the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We had a great experience with this guest house. It is a little pricey, given the competition, but to our minds was a great value. It isn't a Hilton but was just right for our needs. Jessie, Jeff, Selya(sp?), and Ella were all very helpful and outgoing. For us, we spent quite a long time there - 10 days - and were thoroughly enamored with the place and the people. We did have a cat from the lot next door adopt us and she took turns on our laps as we sat and watched the rain on one of the days that it showered. We sat on the front porch and watched the people pass by. We made quick friends with Steve, who runs sailing and snorkel tours and markets from the office out front and with Russell, the tormented soul who is as lovable as a brother and usually spent his days at the park out front. Last but certainly not least with Jesse, who owns and manages this place. Jesse does the very best she can for her guests and as far as we could tell for everybody around there. To us, the location and the proximity of the people on the street was very much an added attraction. When we left it did feel like we were leaving family and can't wait to go back. I would recommend this hotel to friend or family. We feel it was a great choice.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank apple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Firstly, most of what is said in the other reviews is correct: De Real Macaw is a nice place to stay. But note how most reviewers are actually enthralled with Caye Caulker more than anything else. Frankly, one could sleep on the street in a corner of this town and retain a smile, and ALL the people on the island are helpful, kind and interesting, noit just Jessie and Jeff. The question is, therefore, are the $75 you will spend per night on a Macaw room worth it, when you can stay at several other, comparable places for half that, or a sixth of that if you don't mind sharing a bathroom.

Truth is, De Real Macaw FORGOT TO ORGANIZE OUR AIRPORT TRANSFER and once someone has happily taken your money, I can't think of anything worse! We'd arranged the transfer in advance, via email, and reconfirmed the day before our departure. Jeff assured me he'd take care of it. He did not. So we were stranded at De Real Macaw at 6:30 am, with only a half-hour to get to the airport, in the rain, with no telephone to call for help becasue the office was still closed. I ended up walking through the rain until I found someone with a cell phone to call the taxi company. This affected our Caye Caulker stay negatively and leads me to point out a few more things about De Real Macaw that need attention, so that you can make an informed decision before making your reservation:

1) The aircon units are too small to be effective and very loud.
2) The hot water isn't hot by any stretch of the imagination. This can be really bothersome if the weather turns.
3) The fridge will be set to the lowest setting when you arrive, so there won't be any ice and your milk will spoil unless you turn it up.
4) If the cats in the construction lot next door are feeling amorous, they will keeep you up all night.
5) The bathroom window had come off its hinges and banged all night once the wind picked up.
6) No one ever checked up on us or bothered to ask us how we were enjoying our stay or whether there was anything we needed or wanted to talk about. This is a basic courtesy in the hospitailty industry and doesn't cost anything. We felt aignored, frankly, once our credit card had been swiped.

The point is, this bad review could have been easily avoided. In fact, if only the airport transfer had been taken care of, as promised, I'd never have bothered writing this. De Real Macaw seems to have come to that point in an establishment's history when the owners are resting on their laurels, not maintaining the property more than is absolutely necessary, and think it's fine to sit on their veranda all day smoking cigarettes, ignoring their guests who are paying inflated prices. There are many other places on Caulker that are just as nice as De Real MacFlaw for much less money. Why pay the relatively high price of $75 per night if you're not going to get your money's worth and the folks charging half that will treat you twice as good? If you do decide to really Macaw, I recommned arranging your own airport transfer. But yes, the island is awesome and the people are all wonderful and despite the above flaws, we had an unforgettable time.

Stayed: January 2007
8  Thank Rare-Sighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We just returned from Caye Caulker and Ambergris Caye. We stayed first at De Real Macaw and had such a great time. Everything about the hotel was great- the staff were so friendly and helpful with booking any type of day trip or suggesting things to do. The whole island is very small and lives at the best pace.

The whole island is ideal for people who want to have a slow time in a fantastic location. We travled over to Ambergris caye, and wished we'd stayed here the whole time- it was such a great pace with very friendly folks.

The location of the hotel was ideal for exploring town and having easy access to our room as well. The room itself was nice and was cleaned daily. The only thing I would recommend is booking an upstairs room as we did get lots of noise from our above neighbors. Each room has an adirondeck chair and a hammock- there are also lounge chairs and extra hammocks in
the courtyard.

We adored this spot and would recommend it to folks traveling there- the other guests were like minded travelers- other honeymooners, families with kids, single people, couples- and all seemed to be having a great time and were very excited to share stories, or to give you quiet space to hang out. If you are headed to Caye Caulker, I would recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternMaineBlackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I stayed here and had a fabulous time. After travelling in Mexico where the standard of accomodation was not quite so high I was so happy to get to De Real Macaw. No it is not a 5* hotel but it's clean, boasts a selection of room types, friendly service and is really good value for money (we stayed 7 nights and got the 8th for free). The island is very beautiful and untouched in many ways and this adds to its charms. One day seems to roll into the next and although the nightlife is pretty non-existent, sitting on the hotel porch with some One Barrel rum and coke and a few friends is the perfect way to spend an evening! Plus if you just fancy chilling out and staying in your room one night the rooms have cable TV!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Persia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews