We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four thumbs up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Four thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

We had a great experience with this guest house. It is a little pricey, given the competition, but to our minds was a great value. It isn't a Hilton but was just right for our needs. Jessie, Jeff, Selya(sp?), and Ella were all very helpful and outgoing. For us, we spent quite a long time there - 10 days - and were thoroughly enamored with the place and the people. We did have a cat from the lot next door adopt us and she took turns on our laps as we sat and watched the rain on one of the days that it showered. We sat on the front porch and watched the people pass by. We made quick friends with Steve, who runs sailing and snorkel tours and markets from the office out front and with Russell, the tormented soul who is as lovable as a brother and usually spent his days at the park out front. Last but certainly not least with Jesse, who owns and manages this place. Jesse does the very best she can for her guests and as far as we could tell for everybody around there. To us, the location and the proximity of the people on the street was very much an added attraction. When we left it did feel like we were leaving family and can't wait to go back. I would recommend this hotel to friend or family. We feel it was a great choice.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank apple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
96
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

Firstly, most of what is said in the other reviews is correct: De Real Macaw is a nice place to stay. But note how most reviewers are actually enthralled with Caye Caulker more than anything else. Frankly, one could sleep on the street in a corner of this town and retain a smile, and ALL the people on the island are helpful, kind and interesting, noit just Jessie and Jeff. The question is, therefore, are the $75 you will spend per night on a Macaw room worth it, when you can stay at several other, comparable places for half that, or a sixth of that if you don't mind sharing a bathroom.

Truth is, De Real Macaw FORGOT TO ORGANIZE OUR AIRPORT TRANSFER and once someone has happily taken your money, I can't think of anything worse! We'd arranged the transfer in advance, via email, and reconfirmed the day before our departure. Jeff assured me he'd take care of it. He did not. So we were stranded at De Real Macaw at 6:30 am, with only a half-hour to get to the airport, in the rain, with no telephone to call for help becasue the office was still closed. I ended up walking through the rain until I found someone with a cell phone to call the taxi company. This affected our Caye Caulker stay negatively and leads me to point out a few more things about De Real Macaw that need attention, so that you can make an informed decision before making your reservation:

1) The aircon units are too small to be effective and very loud.
2) The hot water isn't hot by any stretch of the imagination. This can be really bothersome if the weather turns.
3) The fridge will be set to the lowest setting when you arrive, so there won't be any ice and your milk will spoil unless you turn it up.
4) If the cats in the construction lot next door are feeling amorous, they will keeep you up all night.
5) The bathroom window had come off its hinges and banged all night once the wind picked up.
6) No one ever checked up on us or bothered to ask us how we were enjoying our stay or whether there was anything we needed or wanted to talk about. This is a basic courtesy in the hospitailty industry and doesn't cost anything. We felt aignored, frankly, once our credit card had been swiped.

The point is, this bad review could have been easily avoided. In fact, if only the airport transfer had been taken care of, as promised, I'd never have bothered writing this. De Real Macaw seems to have come to that point in an establishment's history when the owners are resting on their laurels, not maintaining the property more than is absolutely necessary, and think it's fine to sit on their veranda all day smoking cigarettes, ignoring their guests who are paying inflated prices. There are many other places on Caulker that are just as nice as De Real MacFlaw for much less money. Why pay the relatively high price of $75 per night if you're not going to get your money's worth and the folks charging half that will treat you twice as good? If you do decide to really Macaw, I recommned arranging your own airport transfer. But yes, the island is awesome and the people are all wonderful and despite the above flaws, we had an unforgettable time.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Rare-Sighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2007

We just returned from Caye Caulker and Ambergris Caye. We stayed first at De Real Macaw and had such a great time. Everything about the hotel was great- the staff were so friendly and helpful with booking any type of day trip or suggesting things to do. The whole island is very small and lives at the best pace.

The whole island is ideal for people who want to have a slow time in a fantastic location. We travled over to Ambergris caye, and wished we'd stayed here the whole time- it was such a great pace with very friendly folks.

The location of the hotel was ideal for exploring town and having easy access to our room as well. The room itself was nice and was cleaned daily. The only thing I would recommend is booking an upstairs room as we did get lots of noise from our above neighbors. Each room has an adirondeck chair and a hammock- there are also lounge chairs and extra hammocks in
the courtyard.

We adored this spot and would recommend it to folks traveling there- the other guests were like minded travelers- other honeymooners, families with kids, single people, couples- and all seemed to be having a great time and were very excited to share stories, or to give you quiet space to hang out. If you are headed to Caye Caulker, I would recommend you stay here!

  • Liked — The laid back vibe with excellent service
  • Disliked — Noise from room above
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternMaineBlackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

I stayed here and had a fabulous time. After travelling in Mexico where the standard of accomodation was not quite so high I was so happy to get to De Real Macaw. No it is not a 5* hotel but it's clean, boasts a selection of room types, friendly service and is really good value for money (we stayed 7 nights and got the 8th for free). The island is very beautiful and untouched in many ways and this adds to its charms. One day seems to roll into the next and although the nightlife is pretty non-existent, sitting on the hotel porch with some One Barrel rum and coke and a few friends is the perfect way to spend an evening! Plus if you just fancy chilling out and staying in your room one night the rooms have cable TV!

  • Liked — The owner Jessie, the views, the mellow vibe and the hammocks (!)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Persia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

Awesome room. We stayed in the sea view, front room with two beds and AC. It felt so good to relax on the front porch and watch the folks walk down the main street. Room was always clean and staff was awesome. Flat out best place to stay in Caye Caulker. We almost stayed for a whole other week.

  • Liked — Room w/ ac and fridge
  • Disliked — Vendors were close by
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax and go slow.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WazzuKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

De Real Macaw was exactly what we were looking for - laid-back, tropical-style relaxation just a few yards from the ocean. We could not have asked for more. The owner, Jessie, is very helpful. We would definitely stay at De Real Macaw again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polybozologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

Jessie ,one of the owners was terrific, her son too ,very freindly made you feel right at home .We really were comfortable and slept well the hammocks were great and the location is about perfect close to all immenities.Cleaning staff was very good and the whole place maintained nicely .I think Caye Caulker must be like one of the Caribbean islands before it came commercialized ,lots of marine life abound everywhere you won't be dissappointed !This is a cabana style vacation at best ......my eyes were wide open the whole time ,there is a culture here that is so unique,absent of materialism and full of the simple joys of life ,familys,and freindships I am compelled to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing