We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms only OK - could do with a make over”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My partner and I stayed at De Real McCaw for 2 nights and decided to spend our 3 other nights in Caye Caulker somewhere else. The location is great, the staff were friendly and helpful and the courtyard with hammocks is nice. The rooms area good size but are quite dark and uninviting. The bathroom was shabby and the place just needed a makeover. Fridge in the room was handy.
Its not a bad place to stay but with a little work it could be alot better. For the same price there are nicer options on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harper230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in the super buget room... it was clean and had a tv, coffee maker, fridge. The only down side is when you pull down the futon your head in right infront of the toliet. You also can't sit on to toliet strait you have to sit sidways and hold the curtain over you.. a bit ackward. We got what we paid for next time we will spend a bit more for a room with a deck and a hamack.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smit4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRealMacaw, Owner at De Real Macaw, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

The street vendors are NO longer directly across the street from the hotel. Please see updated pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This place is great! Jessie, Jeff and Rob worked very hard to ensure the enjoyment and safety of their guests. A special word of praise and gratitude for Benji, who helped us "catch the thief"! I was traveling with my Service Dog, and even what may have been difficult was made easy! Thank You All!

Stayed: February 2010
Thank GudKarma420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I've been to Caye Caulker quite a few times now. I've stayed at a few of the hotels and they are nice but... De Real Macaw is what I'm looking for in a tropical beach hotel. The cool courtyard vibe, great people, and right next to the beach. I've stayed there solo and also brought my family there - and have stayed in most of the rooms. They are all great, clean, and affordable. They can also arrange tours for you, and whenever I have needed expert advice on where to go, how to get there, and what to do, they have been extra helpful - and I know that's the way they are with all their guests.
Again - this hotel is what I think of when I think "Tropical beach".

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRoarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed at the De Real Macaw for a week with my sister and husband. We rented the beachfront house out front and truely enjoyed our stay. Jessie and Jeff were there to help us with all of our questions. We fished most of the time we were there, but also took a couple of the tours. We liked having an apartment to come back to after a long day in the sun and wind. We could do our own laundry and with the clothes lines availible and the great ocean breezes your clothes were dry in no time. We are early risers and especially enjoyed the front porch balcony,drinking our coffee, watching the sunrises and the locals getting set up for another day on the island. The vendors out front close by 10pm and we did not have any problems with them. It is a great location, close to all that Caye Caulker has to offer. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtofish61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I have had the great fortune to discover Caye Caulker and De Real Macaw several years ago and have been back every year since. I suppose it's the atmosphere of De Real Macaw that makes it most endearing. Most of the guests return year after year, renewing acquaintances and friendships with locals and vacationers from around the world. Jessie is the owner of De Real Macaw and catalyst this sense of belonging. Her stories and insights enlighten and entertain.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryGoSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

When I imagine a trip to the Caribbean, I think about thatched roofs, palm trees, hammocks, sea breezes, experiencing a new culture, and friendly people. De Real Macaw has all of this and more. We have been to Caye Caulker about 10 times. By ourselves.... as a couple.... when we were pregnant......with one small child, and then with an infant and a small child. De Real Macaw has been able to accomodate us in all these phases.
They have two bedroom apartments with kitchenettes, big rooms with kitchenettes, small rooms for two people and even a tiny room that is super cheap when you are just by yourself. Some have airconditioning, some are close to all the action, some are towards the back of the property and very quiet.
There is a great courtyard that is fenced where you can hang out with friends, take advantage of free wi-fi, and even cook your catch of the day on the outdoor grill. There is free filtered water so that you can fill up your water bottle for the day which saves a lot of money. If you forgot something, they probably have it in the office....insect repellent, sunscreen, books in all languages etc. Jeff who runs the office is very helpful if you want info. on taking a tour or what to do on the island.
The rooms are extremely clean. The maids are very friendly and they use lysol to make sure that they are really clean. Our baby and child have never gotten sick here.
Jessie, the owner is very welcoming and helpful if you ever need advice on what to do on the island.
When we first came to Caye Caulker, we stayed at a very expensive place on the back side of the island. We felt sad that we were missing out on the action. We didn't get a chance to interact with the islanders and really experience Caye Caulker. The next time we came back we stayed on front street in an extremely cheap place but it wasn't as clean and the owner and staff weren't nearly as helpful.
When we first stayed here, there was a clear view of the beach and ocean. About 1.5 years ago the village put up short vendor stalls inbetween De Real Macaw and the ocean. They are see thru and the vendors are very friendly. In fact, we know them all by name now and are happy to see them every time we come back. They are not agressive and you will enjoy talking to them!
We're here again and I just read some of the reviews and was shocked. If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton with a big sandy white beach, this is not the place for you. If you want to have fun, relax, and have a REAL experience instead of one that is created for you, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheechTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing