We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and had a positive experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and available when we needed them. Each room has a hammock on the patio, perfect for lazing away the day. Caye Caulker is a small place, but De Real Macaw is located in the "center" of town, a short walk to the Split, restaurants and shops. There's a variety of rooms here, everything from full houses for 7 people to a 2 person cabana. Some have fans, some have a/c. Whichever kind of room you're looking for, you'll find it here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarieceSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

This little place is laid back and charming .
I happen to enjoy hearing people about and having th opportunity to see the ocean at a bargain price !!! Not th cheapest by far but a nice value .
Room wonderful, not luxurious but perfect for caye caulker . If you prefer up scale consider iguana reef . The real Macaw is perfect for people that just want o relax and enjoy the scenery and people . Love ths place .

Room Tip: A family f 4 woud prefer an upper with little kitchenette . Nice view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matildanbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Good location, although we had some noisy neighbors next door. The room was fine. None of the resorts are right on the beach, which is disappointing. The staff was very friendly. Rob was great, we had to catch a very early water taxi, & he stopped by to make sure we had a taxi ride to the pier. You can't drink the water on the island so take this into consideration, the hammock on the deck was wonderful. If you are going to book an excursion, book through one of the companies on the beach, do not book through the office, we booked a full day snorkel & were only out less than 3 hours. was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We chose to go to Caye Caulker because it was advertised as the more laid-back of the Cayes. We stayed at the Real Macaw right on the beach. We rented a 2-bedroom cabana, but one of the bedrooms had a single bed over a double bed, bunk-bed style and no a/c, while the other had a queen bed with a/c. There was a/c in the kitchen/living room, too. We had TV, with several channels in Chinese for all the supermarket owners. The balcony was our favorite spot since we could watch the people going by below as well as the ocean. The folks running the Real Macaw were exceptionally nice and helpful. There are no cars on Caye Caulker, only golf carts and bikes. Makes for a very relaxed environment. I went snorkeling for the first time in Caye Caulker, and I loved it. Don't leave without doing it.

Room Tip: Ask for a/c and a room off the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

De Real Macaw offers a great location right in the middle of Front Street, clean and comfortable accommodations, welcoming staff, and good amenities. Our room had A/C, a private bathroom, a TV, and a basic kitchenette with a mini fridge and coffee maker. The room was small and a bit dim, but you won't spend much time indoors on Caye Caulker anyways. We also had a comfy porch with comfortable chairs and a hammock. They provided fresh coffee every day and there's wifi that is accessible outside the room. There's a nice courtyard with some deck chairs and picnic tables, and it's all topped off with a view of the Caribbean right across the street!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

we were walking up the shore and saw this little hotel... hammocks outside every room and nice little porches and we booked a couple of rooms for the rest of our stay... extremely pleasant, nice view onto the ocean, very pleasant rooms with fridges, coffee makers and TV's and a breeze off the ocean... all I could have required.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Jessie replied to our emails promptly. After we put down a deposit by Paypal Jessie sent us all the information relate to CC like a little guide section. That was a great help!

Walked to the hotel from taxi dock five minutes. No need for a golf taxi.

We were in room #5, beach view room. The room was better than I expected after reading one review. Room was clean and neat. It's not easy to keep the hotel that clean in a seaside place.
Seeing a little bit ocean and the world go by from the patio. The view is better than beach front room.
Comfortable bed. New and fluffy towels.
The hammock was a bonus. Loved it.
Toaster oven was handy for toast, coffee (supplied)
It's a safe and secure room.

The owners, Bob and Jessie were pleasant to deal with.
The girls were helpful and cheerful.

Now the not so good part.
If you are tall the toilet seat that is toooooo close to the wall is not comfortable (I think someone has mentioned that)
The mirror and the sink were too small and shabby!
No Wifi in the room, you have to sit in the patio or close to the office to get this. That's a disadvantage to us.

All in all, it's above average, but seems to be lacking something (space in the washroom, Wifi in room.) For its location, facilities, and general setup, it's great! I loved the cleanliness of this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catcatab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
100 reviews
0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
124 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $63 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing