We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Place to Stay in Caye Caulker”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Affordable Place to Stay in Caye Caulker”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Management & Staff were very friendly and helpful during my stay. The receptionist was really nice and patient as she waited on me as i had a reservation and i was late on arrival. I chose the ocean view room as i didn't want the noise of people and carts at my windows during the night. I stayed at room #5 and it was very good for the price. It had AC, double bed & a single bed, a mini fridge, a mini kitchenette so you could store/cook your food without always have to be going out to the store. Centrally located to everything, nothing is more than 5-8mins away (stores, cart rentals, the split, bars, restaurants etc). Beds were very comfy (didn't want to get out of bed at all in the morning with the Caribbean sea breeze rolling it lol) Very good security as place is surrounding by fence (left stuff outside the door during entire stay and no one touched it). Its a really nice place and value for your money if your looking for the basics with a nice comfort on top. Will be sure to visit again

Room Tip: OceanView rooms have more privacy All rooms have own hammocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    94
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
99
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very good place to stay for family of 4, well-equipped flat and a nice sea view from the terrace with hammocks !
Moreover there is a roomy kitchen which allow you to cook your own dishes, so you don't have to eat outside all the time.
It's not far away from the public Beach, so you will spend a wonderful journey !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molinpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the best time at De Real Macaw staying in an oceanfront room. It has a big wrap around verandah with chairs and hammocks that we sat back in every afternoon without fail. Nothing better than cracking a beer and watching the world go by. The rooms were great, basic but everything functioned well and we didn't see one bug the whole time. The place is central to everythkng, we hired bikes but absolutely everywhere is in walking distance. Eat next door at Enjoy bar, the food is incredible (and became a daily ritual for us too) We didn't want to leave! Thanks for making our stay awesome Real Macaw!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktra1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Likes: great location, clean accommodation.  Management and staff hands on and very helpful. Wifi good at front of property. Centrally located for access to water taxi , restaurants and supermarkets.
Dislikes none

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

... It's barely a shed. Situated round the back of the hotel we were frequently visited by moths, lizards and cockroaches. Also the shower and toilet are both in the (very small) room only separated by a curtain. Other than this room the rest of the hostel looked good and was in a good location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in de real macaw during our 5 night stay in Caye Caulker. The hotel is on the Front Street where most things are happening: only a minute walk to the Split where you can chill out in the day, and easy walk to all the main restaurants. Views of the sea and a great place to watch the local guys chirping at every tourist who passes them. Rooms are really clean with good air con as well as balconies with comfy hammocks: Rob was extremely helpful, sorting out tickets for boat travel and even helping us get our laundry to the laundry shop when we were out diving. A really great taste of the island; if you're coming to Caye Caulker, stay here

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean room- the maid cleans daily and it's spotless. The "main" sea front road runs directly infront and you can watch the waves all day long. The proprietor is very friendly and helpful and he takes security very seriously so it felt totally safe. It was a great stay at the end of our holiday. If you book early you can have a first floor room which has an even better outlook and can be quieter as we had a ground floor room and could clearly hear the movements of our neighbours up stairs- still brill though!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 31 in Caye Caulker
21 reviews
11.4 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing