We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabanas”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, clean cabanas with private balconies. We had one with a double bed on bottom and single bed on top. Slept really well all 3 nights we stayed there. Good value for money. Friendly owner. Hot showers. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for De Real Macaw
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our family recently had the great opportunity to stay at De Real Macaw. This tropical accommodation on the beach was fantastic. The service was great and our rooms were clean and refreshing when we returned from each day's adventure. Rob was very helpful providing local information. We did a day trip to San Pedro and Ambergris Caye and were so thankful we chose the tranquility and simplicity of Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and u stayed here for two nights and had a great experience. The showers were good, service solid and location unbeatable!

We would recommend travellers try this place out as the value was good for a somewhat basic accommodation right in the Center of the strip!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Six of us stayed in de Real Macaw 2 bedroom condo for five days. It's in a great location and has a huge deck with 2 hammocks where we spent many hours watching the entrancing view. It's at the north end of Front street, just a short walk from the split where the best swimming beach is and still in town, so you don't get a lot of traffic or noise but the occasional biker or passerby and a few street vendors for interest. Then, since you're on the 2nd floor, you have the fabulous view of the beach and gentle waves right across the street as you swing in your hammock rocked by the breezes off the ocean. We were visited by 2 friendly cats and the local costimundi who entertained us with her antics. The best hammock vendor on the island is right next door, we bought four. The condo itself is not fancy but clean and has everything you need, including air conditioning and a full kitchen. It couldn't have suited us better and Ron, the proprietor, was very friendly. Our definite first choice when we go back.

Room Tip: We loved the condo on the 2nd floor with it's deck,ocean breezes, air conditioning and full kitc...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteB4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Writing as we speak from the veranda at De Real Macaw...

Three of us girls stayed here March 26-April 1. Great location, tons of space in the Beach Front House for us. Excellent view from the deck, good proximity to front street eats and drinks, close to The Split.

There was no AC as advertised; well, if there was we couldn't find it, but weren't worried because all the windows and the veranda catch a great ocean breeze.

One day had no housekeeping but we weren't too upset. Just needed some new towels and the gal at the desk was very apologetic an helpful, offering to send housekeeping to clean for us, which we declined.

Overall great place.

Wouldn't recommend going over Easter if you're looking for a quiet holiday - Saturday & Sunday there was a horrendously loud DJ on the beach out front with about a hundred people from Belize City gathered all day and night. Made it pretty noisey, but that's no fault of the hotel.

Stick to non-holiday season for great rates and quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tee_phraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our group stayed in the upper level 2 bedroom condo for 4 nights. There was excellent air conditioning, two units in kitchen and largest bedroom. The views from the front porch were of the ocean and interesting folks who walked along Front Street. The two hammocks were a real hit and we all brought one home so there'd be no more squabbling over who had hung out in one longer than someone else. One friend slept outside two nights to enjoy the summer breeze.

We adopted 2 cats during our stay that lived with 'Kenny the Cat Man" a few doors down. They were excellent guests, loved tuna fish & leftovers and kept us from missing our own kitties. One morning the pet Coatimundi of the Rasta man came to visit. She played on the porch with the cats as if she was one of them and let us pet her. She's free to roam and you may see her as well.

Ron is the very best inn keeper. The unit was clean and well stocked with the essentials (full kitchen) to allow for a spaghetti dinner one night. The refrigerator kept the run and juice very cold.

I would highly recommend a stay there....our 4 nights passed by so quickly. :)

Room Tip: Upper condo has best views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindasaintamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I almost hesitate to write because this place was so great I don't want it spoiled. I stayed at 5 properties in Belize on this trip - this was the second cheapest, and by far my favorite. From the moment we got there until the moment we left, we were made to feel comfortable and welcomed. Yes, it's a budget place and furnishings were older - don't expect the Ritz. But it was clean, we had our own porch and hammock, and nothing bit me as I slept (unlike several other places we stayed). We were in Belize for 2 weeks, with only 3 days at De Real Macaw, but those were the best 3 days of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
120 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $63 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing