We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in January. We booked a beachfront room, but I didn't realize our room and porch would be right along the main street and the beach was actually on the other side of the street. This did not leave us much privacy as people were constantly walking right in front of us, and we even had someone try to walk into our room thinking it was the office. The room itself was smaller than I expected, but it was clean and the kitchenette proved very useful. The guest house is very central to the island, and if you are getting off the water taxi, you do not need a ride, you can walk 3mins to the guesthouse. (we got scammed into paying $15.00 US for the taxi driver to take us 1min. down the road). The owner was very helpful and the guesthouse met our needs as we had a pleasant stay. I would reccommend staying here if you're looking for a cheap, basic, clean place to stay on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachaelstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 257 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was very excited for my stay at De Real Macaw - the owner was very easy to work with as I was setting up my trip and was very friendly all throughout my stay. The room I was staying in, the "Courtyard View Cabana" was extremely small. To make everything fit the toilet is literally inches from the bed, and right next to the toilet is the shower, with the only barriers between them being shower curtains. I did not go in the other rooms, but I suspect they are much nicer.

The hotel is in a loud and busy location. One night the restaurant across the street blasted music until 10pm. The restaurant next to the hotel (a different one) is very popular and hopping until about 10 or 11 at night. When you leave the hotel to go explore/enjoy the island you will almost assuredly be accosted by people urging you to view their art and buy their products.

If you're looking for a calm, quiet hotel, this is not the one for you. If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of the action and you like (or at least don't mind) the commotion, then you'll love De Real Macaw.

The owner is a great guy and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Courtyard View Cabana" unless all you care about is your budget. It's extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very central and close to all the restaurants and beach. Not noisy though, the bathroom left a little to be desired as the toilet seat was loose the shelf above the sink was full of water when we arrived as it had been raining and someone had left the window open. The staff were pleasant and the room clean. Nice porch on our room with two chairs and a hammock.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleenBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

De Real Macaw is a real find on Caye Caulker! The location of this place was it's highlight. The staff keeps this place CLEAN and they are very nice and trustworthy. We left a tip out on the bed and because it was not in the tip jar they did not take it. We met fantastic neighbors that actually come and stay at this place for a couple months every year. The owner Rob himself keeps the grouds immaculate. He was out there everyday raking the grounds. Jessie his wife, was extreamely nice and helpful whenever we had questions. We LOVED staying on our balcony (stayed in the upper cabana) with the hammock swinging in the island breeze. Everything is SO close. We wont forget this vacation ever! Thank you SO much Rob and Jessie!!! We look forward to coming back and visiting you and our neighbors Paul and Charleen!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

we stayed at the real macaw for 2 nites in Caye Caulker/ small island / funky vibe / the hotel is located on main street so lots of foot traffic there is a fence that separates from the road/ people watching from the porch/ small beach across the street / lots of shops and artists nearby/good food lobster inseason...the hotel could use a bit of update, clean but mold on walls in bathroom/ manager on site during day and helpful/ good snorkeling from boat on reef not much to see from beach / shallow water so not good swimming frombeach can swim at the end of the island at split but fair amt of boat traffic there,good value for the money...

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are a bit busy as literally 2 ft of road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dietravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the oceanfront 2 bedroom upstairs house. Great people watching. The only downside was no air..it really was warm a few nights otherwise would stay again. Loved the Island of Caye Caulker..food super..very friendly people.. See Charles for best lunches

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Based on other travelers reviews my husband and I decided to stay at De real Macaw over New Year's. We were not disappointed.
The most wonderful aspects of the hotel are the following.
Location location location. This is the most center of the island you can be. Two grocery stores are less than a block away, fantastic restaurant Enjoy less than 5 feet away. The Split which is the local swimming place is less than 5 minutes away.

Our Room:
We stayed in the beachfront room lower floor which has a beautiful wraparound balcony and two hammocks. Although the room is quite dark, only one window, the balcony is the place to be. The whole town passes you by.
Inside the room the AC worked wonderfully, the shower was nice and hot. Great water pressure. There was a fridge and microwave which was all we needed to heat up some leftover food and to keep our Belikin beers cold.

The owners of the hotel Jesse and Rob are absolutely wonderful and it was such a pleasure to meet them. We will definitely be back and are planning our next vacation already. Happy new year.

P.S. If you stay here please don't forget to feed the cats. :-) There are three local kitty cats that love to come by. They are adorable!! We named gray one CayKi ( Caye caulker kitty) and the other Midnight.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoriatedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
123 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $63 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing