We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a nice place, but cheap and clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a nice place, but cheap and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed here for one night. The hotel was very cheap and there was hot water and it was pretty clean. The rooms were not, however sound proof at all and it was somewhat difficult to sleep. Nothing really remarkable one way or another. I felt like it was fine for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    81
    60
    30
    26
See reviews for
34
98
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

we literally stumbled across this hotel while looking for another and after checking out the little cabin made an instant decision to stay there.it is located in a quiet corner of town(actually a quaint village) and is right on the beach with its own dock out into the calm warm carribean sea.the restuarant and bar served great food and drinks,the corner grocery is about 200 feet from the site so everything is right there for a relaxing stay.the biggest shock was leaving,i cant wait to go back for another visit and will certainly stay at the tropical paradise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
162 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a great place to stay on Caye Caulker. The rooms are in wooden cabin style buildings set on stilts. There's no air con but industrial speed fans and a nice breeze blowing though the mosquito netted windows keep it cool. The bathroom had an incredibly hot shower which is a rareity in my experience of Central America.

Outside the room was a terrace with chairs and tables and a view of the Caribbean. There's free wi fi and the restaurant attached. There are also various seating areas around the property with roof or umbrellas. The only negative I can think of is that the dock from where you can swim is not shaded. A roof and some hammocks would go down a treat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We have been going to Caye caulker for almost ten years, and tried many different places. We discovered this place two years ago and love it. This year when we went back, the Reyes family and restaurant staff treated us like old friends. There are budget rooms in the back which run about $25.00 and the better rooms run about $50.00. We have stayed in both options and found both to be fine. The restaurant is very good with specials on each night. Also the daily drink special is also a very good deal. For most days this year they had their Banana Colada on special for $5.50 Belize ($2.75 U.S). Which are huge and delicious. And the lobster omelettes are fabulous as well. As far as value for the money goes you cannot go wrong here. Also the Reyes family runs this operation from sun-up to sun-down by members of the family whom I see at six in the morning and nine at night - One hard working family. If you are thinking about getting in the hotel business check out his operation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

I usually am pretty tolerant of even some really bad hotels, this is the first time i have written a review because i really want to warn people. We booked 3 nites stay online for room #4, when we got there we were given a cabana #7. Two small beds, ants crawling all over the beds, the floor had this thin vinyl coming up in places, torn in others, barely enough room to move around, bathroom dirty, toilet paper roll was soaked like it had been dropped in the toilet...arrgh the list goes on and on. Slept horribly first nite, rock hard beds. Next day we asked for upgrade or something better, nothing available. asked if we could just release the room for a partial refund, they would not give us a penny back. we walked away from $100 US to a hotel down the street (The Island Magic), was almost 2/3 more $$$ but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HANNIBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

OVERVIEW:

The Tropical Paradise hotel was located towards the southern end of the island near to the Nature Reserve, which makes for a lovely early morning walk. However, it is a few minutes walk from the main bars, tour companies, restaurants and markets, and the swimming area, 'the strip'. It may not seem a lot, but it does get tiresome having to walk backwards and forwards (unless you hire a bike, which is a great idea!). There is no beach to speak of, and the sea is quite seaweedy and not great for swimming. Sandflies are a massive problem here, and my daughter and I were bitten to bits. A local tip is to smother baby oil on the ankles as DEET has no effect!

ACCOMMODATION:

The cabana's are very basic, but the beds are made and the floor swept daily. The showers are a bit feeble, and for the money this places charges, there are definatley better options available on the island. Had a slight problem with big, red ants and had a couple of coconut bugs in the bathroom (cockroaches), however it wasn't infested by any stretch of the imagination.

The website advertised free kayak use, but upon arrival, found that kayaks were no longer in use.

RESTAURANT:

Reasonably priced and varied menu. The male restaurant owner was a bit gruff, but service was ok and the food good.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

This place is really beautiful, quiet and away from the main hustle of the island. However, two of our credit cards went missing from our room and the hotel took no responsibility and the police wouldn't even write a report - making me think maybe this happens more often than you would think. Both the hotel and the police say how it's an island with no crime. I would recommend this place as it's clean, rooms with views and a good spot on the beach, just watch your stuff. Also - don't miss the bakery for the best cinnamon swirls!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Property: Tropical Paradise Hotel
Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing