We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #24 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location was on the far south end of the main street, which was a nice quiet place for relaxing. The rooms were clean and what you needed for sleeping. I stayed in one of the bungalos and the air conditioner worked great. They do have some rooms without AC, so if you need it make sure you request when reserving. The have an attached restaurant, at which you get 15% off your bill when staying with them. The list all rooms as beachfront, but really only have 2 single bungalos and one double story bungalow that I would consider true beachfront (although all rooms are within 200 feet of ocean) - of course, when in the tropics -who spends time in their rooms!!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with AC, and if you really want a ocean facing room you need to be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jnardizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    61
    30
    28
See reviews for
36
98
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel worked perfectly for us. Rooms were clean and AC worked perfectly! The hotel is located at the end of the busy 'strip' so it is quiet if you need and close enough to all the parties! A 5 minute walk gets you to the split and a 15 second walk gets you to I&I reggae bar which is the most popular bar/club! I would certainly go back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mpougnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We do look forward to your next visit. Whenever you are ready contact us and we will be happy to assist.

The Staff at Tropical Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple ridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I realy enjoyed the cabin ..up with the birds step out there is your beach ..See the sunrise coming over the edge of the ocean .. That is how you start your day in paradise ..(friendly staff and. Clean rooms I well be back sooon...) much thanks the Belizean and her tourists ...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belizeantropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel and in Belize. We do look forward to your next visit. We are always here to make you feel right at home.

See you soon,

The Staff at Tropical Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had an amazing time in Caye Caulker and the staff at Tropical Paradise were a big part of it. A special thank you to Ramon, who took care of our booking, Rockel who took care of our room and Randy who took care of us at the bar/restaurant.

Being located at the south end of front street was perfect. You are out of the busier area but you are a short walk from everything.

There was a nice spot off the pier which was clear of sea grass and was perfect for a refreshing dip in the Caribbean. I even snorkeled around the dock and saw rays, barracuda and a myriad of smaller tropical fish.

I highly recommend this place. If you are expecting an all inclusive type treatment then Caye Caulker is not for you. If you want great value, a clean safe room and a friendly family run atmosphere then Topical Paradise is the place.

Thank you guys. We can not wait to come back!

Room Tip: The cabanas by the sea great great ocean breezes at nigh. No need for a/c. If you are on the isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you guys for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the property and our Beach. Hope you got some great pictures and memories. See you again soon.

Randy, Raquel, Ramon & The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my 2nd time staying at Tropical Paradise - the first time last year was fabulous - liked it so much I brought my kids back with me this year. I pre-booked and was offered an 'economy room' - for which after my first visit, i assumed were the 4 connected rooms by the reception area. NO SUCH LUCK - "Economy" is way back BEHIND the hotel - in what feels like a dark alley - my view for 3 days was a run down concrete home with their laundry hanging on the porch (every day) and the hotels towels drying below (every day). I went back to the desk and asked if we could have another room and was told "no, everything is booked" - well, their sister hotel Trop Paradise Too had rooms - big vacancy sign out front and I went in to ask and they said they had plenty. I was not offered to move there....instead we were stuck in what felt like the ghetto. I offered to pay the difference in upgrading to a different room - still the answer was "No". It was dark and scarey back there - and we were back there alone for most of the time. The stairs will fall down soon, and the building shakes. Let me tell you about towels - I booked for 3 people - even when I checked in he asked "there are 3 of you, right?" - alas we only had 2 bath towels. I went directly back down to the desk to request another. It was noon a this point. We went walking around for a while and returned around 4 pm - still no towel. I went back down to the desk and asked for another towel - I was told "I cant leave the office - go look around for someone wearing a yellow shirt that works in housekeeping" - really? just go wandering around looking for myself? OK - so I did. I found someone getting dry towels off the laundry line - asked for a towel - she asked what room I was in - and evidently she didnt want to give me one of the 'good' towels she was taking off the line (the towels that were in our room were bleach stained and old). Finally I asked again and she looked around as if she would get fired for giving me another towel. The next day, we went snorkeling and came back to rush to take showers - the beds had been made - but no new towels. Our old, damp towels were hung back up for us....I WAS FURIOUS! The new manager did come back to the 'dark side' wanting to talk about our 'accommodations' and I am hopeful that he will be bringing in some new life to Tropical Paradise, specifically the dank, dark place we were forced to stay in. (Thanks for the beer & chips Eugene!) I would never risk my money having to "pre-pay" to stay here and be stuck in the dark back alley again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We were surprised of your review. Am glad you did enjoy the Beer and Chips and Salsa that I asked Eugene to give to you because of the towel inconvenience, and housekeeping was reprimanded for their error. It was a gesture on our part. We did see Eugene bend over backwards to try to make your stay great and your review in such a negative way is stuns us. We must write to others reading this that we can provide Pictures of your room, your view, and the area, which is in no way an alley. The steps were checked and are in firm condition, even other guests were asked and were super surprised that you had an issue with the steps even, they had great stays.

Please note that the "Economy" room is just that, an economy room, you paid much much less than an AC Cabana. Our entire property is on the beach but am sure you can understand that these rooms are closer to the beach than the "Economy" rooms. When you booked you did chose the "Economy" room. You were aware that our property was booked while you were here am sure. Eugene did not indicate that you wanted to upgrade, even though it wasn't possible, or that you would not mind moving to our sister hotel. If you should decide to book with us please take note that booking an Economy room, while clean and comfortable, is not a beachfront AC Cabana. We do apologize for the towel incident, but deny the inaccuracies about our property.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recently returned from a stay at Tropical Paradise Hotel. While I rated the property Average, we did really enjoy our time here. The staff were pretty good (some better than others, as usual), but really only one staff member that really stuck out as wonderful (and we saw/met quite a few!).

There was a problem with our room on check-in, apparently the past guest was refusing to check out (after getting our original room, I can see why). We were told that we would get another room which was an "upgrade" for free. While our "upgrade" room was bigger, and the view was better, it was 1/2 as nice as our original booking, and I'm not altogether convinced that this room was indeed an "upgrade." Either way, the beds were fine, the sheets were clean. The bathrooms are nothing stellar and are crying for upgrades, but our original room (cabana) had a much nicer living space although it was small-ish.

I think the value is pretty good, the discount at the restaurant is nice, air conditioning works well, and the location is pretty good. It's only a 15 minute wander down to The Split, and close to restaurants and the Reggae Bar. I'm not 100% sure why there was crime scene tape on the beach one morning, but we noticed nothing unusual the night before, and felt safe at the hotel.

I'd recommend staying here if you can get the cabana. I would likely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Take the cabana rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are so sorry for the inconvenience, we are glad that it didn't spoil your trip altogether. Thanks for your observations, we take them seriously. As for the crime scene tape, two locals got into an altercation on the adjoining beach, but the authorities taped off part of our beach as well to look for evidence, it took long because the experts had to come over from San Pedro.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Staff at Tropical Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper Landing, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The people that work here were very trustworthy and helpful. The restaurant was also fairly good and we ate breakfast there almost every day. The nice thing is that all the rooms (I believe) have air conditioning. The rooms were also clean, which is the ultimate goal for accommodations. I stayed here with a large group of people, however, and the quality of the rooms was extremely variable. I somehow ended up with probably the nicest room (room #2) which looked like it had recently been refurbished. Some of the other rooms looked liked they were in pretty desperate need of refurbishing, though. The hot water in the bathroom was also very unreliable. This area is also a little more common for break ins, so we were warned to make sure to lock our door at night and when we were gone. Overall, it was a decent accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MlcAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your Review. We are constantly upgrading our property and welcome you to visit us again. We apologize for the hot water issue and it will be checked out. To be clear we don't suffer break ins at the hotel, and we do advise all guests to keep the doors locked at all times. There are a few idle minded people on the island who do go around all hotels and check doors, we have caught them on camera and have provided the authorities with the footage.

We do hope you give us a try again in the future.

The Staff at Tropical Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#28 of 30 in Caye Caulker
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Property: Tropical Paradise Hotel
Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing