We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barefoot Caribe Hotel(Caye Caulker)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Wave Guest House(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paradise, Too Hotel(Caye Caulker)
$80
$76
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kokomo Beach Suites(Caye Caulker)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
61
91
66
33
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
91
66
33
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreggae baropposite endhotel offersclean bathroomspent nights herecentral americafelt safebeach frontthe main striphot showerpalm treesprivate piercabanabelizecaribbeanporch
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 286 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were referred by friends who had been to Caye Caulker before to stay at the Tropical Paradise Hotel. They warned us it was rustic but we were anticipating that and thought all would be ok. Rustic is being generous. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and lack of towels was interesting. One room had a tv (quite small) and ours didn't. Most concerning was that they had us confused with another reservation and kept mentioning tours we were booked on through them (which we hadn't booked). They never really seemed to get that straight. We were supposed to have 2 cabins beside each other but because the other people didn't come back in time they couldn't move them out (why they needed to do that anyways I don't understand) and thus we stuck with what we were given the first night. Felt they weren't really organized and didn't often know what was going on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our first trip to Caye Caulker was one year ago. My wife saw this place while we were there and said we would be staying there next time we went. Upon arrival we were checked in to our room and it wasn't even on site. We were escorted down a side street.(major disappointment) When we opened the door our room had not been cleaned. We went back to the office and they didn't even apologize for the state of the room. We allowed them time to clean and went back in and it was still sub-standard even for Caye Caulker. Parts of the fridge were lying on the floor, the toilet wouldn't flush, the A/C made so much noise we couldn't sleep, the windows don't open to allow a breeze and out the back door the ground was covered in dog fecises. We went back to get moved to another room and they said they had none. We were told that if we spent the one night we could check out and get a refund for the remaining nights we had booked. The next day when we checked out we were told that we would have to come back to speak to the manager. After speaking to the manager we were told that he would have to go to the bank to get a form to issue us a refund. After two days of checking with him he told us that he would not be giving us a refund and we would have to communicate with the owner via e-mail. After contact
with the owner, he said he would review the security video. We left the island and weren't able to contact him until we were back home. After arriving home and sending him a message there was no response. Not only did we loose our room charges but were also charged for the water taxi, which we were not aware of and paid for ourselves. This place is a total rip off. We ended up staying at another hotel which was awesome and they made our stay wonderful. Tropical Paradise won't be visited by us ever again.

Room Tip: The Cabanas are very quaint
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Do ask to see the rooms and try the beds. Some rooms are more up to date than others. The air conditioning is nice. Staff is great and the owner is awesome saved me two rooms through email communication.
Ramon is there to please and accommodate his guests. The restaurant is good too!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the back are noisier than the front ones. The front rooms facing the ocean are nice but the shared deck is on desirable if you like your neighbors. The cabanas are awesome. Personally I like the option of the A/C to get out of the humidity. I am not a humidity lover but the hotel is great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Fantastic location, great onsite restaurant. perfect little beach space with lounge chairs and a dock you can relax on. fabulous stay in a clean, safe room (very basic, but very nice for Caye Caulker standards). The people on staff were very nice and helpful. great stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carosatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Tropical Paradise quickly turned into Tropical non-paradise. We booked for a week. The location is at the end of the main street and it is very quiet and a little dodgy. We arrived into Caye Caulker in late afternoon. We really just wanted to relax that evening so we had an early night in. This was our first night at the hotel and at 5am, a guy broke into our room (room 21) whilst we were sleeping and stole our money. I woke up and so did my husband. My husband chased after him but we was too quick. Fortunately, the guy had also stolen a bag from another hotel that night but because my husband chased after him, he left the bag and the occupant got her bag back. The owner was initially very helpful, however that quickly changed and he accused us of letting locals into our room and for leaving our room unlocked. After reading other reviews (which I did not do before booking this hotel) this is not the first time this hotel has experienced robberies. And this room appears to be a target. We left the hotel and asked for a refund and the manager said that the owner was in Mexico and was not contactable (even thought the owner was his Dad) and to email the owner and work it out. I emailed the owner, who advised me to contact the reservations system I booked the hotel through. This was confusing as I had booked it through the hotel website, however after investigation, the hotel outsources its booking to a company called International Vacations. I rang them and they were actually fantastic. Very understanding and processed the refund immediately after I spoke about the situation. We filed a police report however we could not obtain a copy of it, which was frustrating. We asked the manager to look at the security footage, however we were advised this was not possible. I cannot stress enough that you really are taking a risk when choosing to stay at Tropical Paradise. I absolutely loved my time in Caye Caulker once we found a great hotel, that was the same price, but offered huge rooms with cable tv, 24 hour security and a great location. There are so many more options that are safer and nicer, however the problem is a lot of them do not have websites. If you are not travelling in high season, just take the boat over and have a look around first before booking. I recommend Dirty McNastys, Yumas and Barefoot Caribe. Tropical Paradise Too is owned by the same person as Tropical Paradise, and at the time of booking they used the images of this hotel for the Tropical Paradise Hotel, which is misleading. Caye Caulker is absolutely beautiful. I loved every day and recommend it, especially taking a scuba or snorkel tour and the locals overall are very caring and friendly. But just beware of this hotel and other small theft, so please do not leave anything valuable on the beach, or even under your hammock while you are relaxing in the hammock. A guy had his passport, cash etc stolen under his hammock whilst he was in it listening to his music on his headphones.

Here are other reviews of the hotel:

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r26122606-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r14647219-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r186760946-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r180822113-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r179400714-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r127744550-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r125132394-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r115129645-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

Room Tip: do not stay in room 21
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews