We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

First night staying in the hotel which we had booked two rooms at, we were staying in #21 and #7 we had bed bugs crawling all through #21! We only used the other room for the rest of the trip but the real issue came when we told management. Over 3 days we were given the run around and only till we sat in the office and demanded the manager were we offered a refund to the other room. It is also a poor site when we learned within 2 days they had already put someone in the room who got covered in bites as well. Extremely poor management and lack of care factor. I would suggest one of the many other options in caye caulker.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Bailes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 276 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tropical Paradise Too (not to be confused with Tropical Paradise, farther south on the caye, although both have the same owner). The upside: Our host, Martin, was AMAZING, as was ALL the TPT staff. I can't rave enough about all of them! We gave Martin a few gray hairs by changing/rescheduling tours, but he took it in stride and made our stay the best ever. The room was clean, the resort itself was lovely, and the staff wonderful.
The downside is NOT TPT's fault: We had a lovely cabana just a street-width away from the beach, with our own porch and rum punch waiting for us when we checked in—what luxury, we thought. And it was, that is, until the sun went down. As we basked on our porch, a passerby stopped and asked how we slept the night before, and we thought “how considerate are these islanders, to be so concerned,” but it turned out it was a warning and this person had actually checked out of the resort to find a quieter room. The main culprit is a bar next door to TPT, that plays karaoke until 1AM, then turns to dance music until 4 AM. We mentioned it to Martin, who is well aware of the problem and gave us forms to fill out to present to the city council, but we have a feeling it’s going to be tough to get results. But it wasn’t only the bar: all along the street, noise prevailed—a street vendor just down the road had their boombox volume on max until 11PM, and any time something moved, anywhere, a dog/s barked. We turned on the AC, room fan, TV, and used earplugs, but could still feel the vibration of surrounding noise. So much for tropical relaxation. However, if you're looking to be in the middle of the action, and you want to be part of the party scene, this is the perfect location (we're older and prefer to hear nature's night sounds).

This review is for Tropical Paradise Too; Caye Caulker warrants its own. We stayed 3 nights in mid-January. Other reviews mention bedbugs BUT I think they’re actually sand fleas, which are all over the island and nearly impossible to avoid. The island sprays for them twice a day (also impossible to avoid the smell of the insecticide), but they’re tenacious. They laughed at our repellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durrae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It.s the 4th time i stay at Tropical Paradise hotel. Nice people and good service. Caye caulker is à peacefull place perfect to relax, and the hôtel has à good situation. I will probably come back to this place in the next years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank piermul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has a great location, good restaurant, pleasant staff. We stayed for 3 nights in early December 2013. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Price was very reasonable. They even had air conditioning. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the beach as possible, but the whole place seemed pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovecr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

this hotel is located in a very quiet area of town. the on site restaurant is great. we stayed our first two nights here and then relocated to a b&b. we also needed rooms for our last two nights in caye caulker so we personally spoke to the manager and he showed us an air conditioned room which we reserved and paid for in advance. when we came to check in our room had been given to another party and we were placed a small, dingy, smelly, non air conditioned room. no explanation and no refund for the cheaper room were given. we went to look at "our room" and found a family of four staying in our reserved room. obviously management decided to give our reserved room to a family of four and decided to dump us in a smaller inferior room. not ok. i will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posypusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, booked snorkelling through the hotel (v flexible when the weather changed & we wanted to delay a day), ate breakfast & lunch here - all good.
Cheaper rooms around a courtyard (stayed there first night - fine but wanted sea facing so moved on day 2), but deals on our sea facing cabana were as cheap as much less attractive rooms further north.
The island is so small that being 'at the south end' in reality means being a 10 minute walk from the split- a well lit walk at night too so no issue.

Room Tip: We has cabana 10 - sea facing, seats outside for star gazing with a nightcap & easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very convinient. Good place for the price. No one ever cleaned Room during four day stay but it really did not need cleaning. Would stay there again. Understand that there are really two different places with the same name here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godofthearmadillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#12 of 33 in Caye Caulker
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#20 of 35 in Caye Caulker
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $54 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing