We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in caye caulker”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yuma's House Belize
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hostel in caye caulker”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Yuma's was a brilliant choice for us in caye caulker. Excellent location, right where you get off the water taxi and everything you need is close by. It has a chilled atmosphere which we really enjoyed. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. Very good layout and the best equipped hostel kitchen I've ever seen.

The only downside was I didn't think there are enough bathrooms available for the number of people but everything else was amazing!

Highly reccommend !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    99
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
131
117
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We researched and this is probably the cheapest reliable place to stay on Caye Caulker. The dorm room wher I stayed wasn't very well ventilated, so I was very hot at night, but maybe I'm just a wimp because it didn't seem to bother anyone else! I love the quiet and chill atmosphere and appreciate the neat and comfortable environment here. Highly recommended if you want to save your money!

Room Tip: They fill up fast, so reserve ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

he vibe here is pretty mellow. I think the harsh first impression of Suzanna sayings its not a party hostel even if all you do is enquire about price put's a few people off. She seems totally cool with a few drinks in the courtyard till 11pm but that doesn't happen. Go here and really enjoy if you want a tranquil beach reading in a hammock kind of vibe.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJ_Around_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yumashousebelize, Owner at Yuma's House Belize, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jo,

Thank you so much for your review.

You are correct that my introduction to the hostel is off-putting and a harsh first impression – that is the whole purpose.
Our first line is always: “We are not a party hostel” when you walk into our garden or send an email.
With this sentence you’ll need to make a decision if our place fits or cramps your style.

I believe in honest selling and not in luring you in.
I also believe that we have this beautiful guest harmony at our hostel, because most guests are like-minded in their definition of relaxing.

Over the years we've naturally learned about human character and now we recognize an instant relaxation in many backpackers' faces with my off-putting line and their response is “finally!”

We have also seen fear in many traveler’s faces when they are contemplating if they can deal with my demands or not. Needless to say that this fear is not needed since we have so many beautiful accommodations here on Caye Caulker, certainly there is the perfect space for everyone in exactly the environment they need.

Just ask for help and we’ll send you in the right direction.

Best, Susanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Susanne runs a tight ship - it's well taken care of. This place is cleaned every day and looks fantastic (our room had a fresh coat of paint). The kitchens were nice; they were well-stocked with both cookware and basic ingredients, and boardgames. The backyard and balcony were beautiful, which made hanging out at Yuma's really pleasant. Unlike a lot of other Caye Caulker hostels, the backyard abuts the water (there are YHB hammocks on the pier!), so it's more private, less dusty, and has more palm trees.

This was a great hostel! Highly recommend!!111one

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_McRae_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joe, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a wonderful backpackers place. It is right on the beach near the landing from the water taxi and easy to find. Young people from all over the world are there to meet. We had a great time sharing food, drink and experiences. The hammocks in the courtyard are great. It is very laid back. The rooms are kept clean and accomodations are good for the price. It is a good, cheap place to enjoy the island.

Room Tip: There are mens and womens bunk houses and some private rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mestizo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Yuma's is such a dream. The hostel is to the left of the main dock, seconds from the town, and right on the water -- so the location is a dream. It's $27 Belize (about $13 USD) for a dorm and $40 ($20 USD) for a private so the price is right. Suzanne, the proprietor, is friendly and helpful. There are two equipped kitchens, board games, showers and bathrooms upstairs and downstairs (and are acceptable), plenty of hammocks/porches/outdoor seating. The front hang-out area really seals the deal because of the sand, cool ocean breezes, and shady coconuts. The singles are small, only really room for a double bed, but the fan was sufficient to cool it all. My friend said the dorm was a bit hot and there isn't too much space but you spend most of your time outdoors. Overall, we really enjoyed how quiet, secure, clean, convenient, and atmospheric Yuma's was. Stay there!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I read many reviews before deciding on taking the plunge and book. Hence because of all the great reviews it would only be fair to comment myself. I cant thank all other reviewers because i would not have booked.
I arrived off the ferry and there it was on the water first reaction was WOW!!!! it was so cool all the colors and did i mention - it is on the water.... it is the best location.
I did read before in the reviews, like most people a little weary about paying a nights accommodation up front but everything was fine.
Susanne was great and very helpful. Yeah she runs a tight ship but it is in light and the best for all guest staying. If anyone is going to Caye Caulker i cannot recommend this place high enough. If i go back i would stay there and for much longer!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma's House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma's House Belize

Property: Yuma's House Belize
Address: Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yuma’s House Belize is a lovely inexpensive beachfront Backpacker's Hostel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yuma`s House Belize Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing