We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise for the laid back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Ellsworth ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise for the laid back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2006

We just returned from 9 glorious days in Caye Caulker at Iguana Reef Inn. What a bargain! We had an oceanfront deluxe suite that was beautiful with original art on the walls and a lovely private veranda overlooking the water. Breakfasts (included in room rate) of fresh fruit and freshly baked cinammon rolls couldn't be beat. Adrian is the world's best bartender who whipped up special drinks for us every day. After walking around the island it was easy to see that this is by far the nicest place to stay.
We snorkeled the barrier reef with Juni and would highly recommend him. Our favorite restaurant was Don Corleones, followed by Rasta Pasta. If you're looking for a really laid back and relaxing vacation this is the place for you.
Linda & Art, Ellsworth ME

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happymaineaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    63
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
237
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

We've been to Caye Caulker at least 5 or 6 times, and always stay here. Room 12 is the best one, on the second floor by the ocean. The island does seem to be getting more Americanized each time we go (more rap music, for starters), and the locals aren't too thrilled with the cruise ships coming in. However, it is much quieter than Ambergris, and still has the same options for diving, snorkeling, or going inland. This is the only place on the island I'd stay. We even got married on the beach here, so Jim and Mario (the owners) can arrange anything!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2005

My family and I went to Caye Caulker and Belize over the 4th of July week and loved it. We decided to take the water taxi over and fly back..to sample both means of transportation. Having done so, we would choose to fly both ways. Once we arrived at the airport in Belize City, the Inn arranged for a taxi to take us the the marine terminal for the water taxi, which took about 45 minutes. Due to the holiday weekend ( Lobster Fest) the boat was packed and was unbearably hot. On arrival, the Inn arranged for someone to meet us at the dock, help us with our bags and get us to the Inn. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. We were thrilled it had air conditioning! ! as most of the island's Inns, restaurants and stores do not have any air conditioning.
The drinks and breakfast at the Inn were great. The rooms were very nice. The only drawback I can see is the lack of a beach. They have a man made beach there overlooking beautiful water, but unswimmable. There is only 1 beach on the island that we could find, very small and always packed with people. The kids did rent ocean kayaks for a few hours and had fun,and went snorkeling on the reef, which was fabulous.

Al-in-all we had a great time and look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SaraTDunn_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2005

Visited the second week in July--the weather was absolutely beastly hot, but the air conditioning at the Iguana Reef Inn was a godsend! The place also has a lovely outdoor bar and Jim can direct you to Carlos, who has the best snorkeling trip on the island. Our stay was perfect except for the noise from the other guests--the walls and ceiling/floors seem to be thin. We walked all over the island, and the Iguana Reef Inn was by far the nicest place on the island. We also can recommend the Italian restaurant, Don Corleone's, owned by the same family. Delicious food!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCockerill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

My wife and I spent July 3-10 on Caye Caulker and had a wonderful time! Wanted to post a trip report for future Caye Caulker visitors to reference. We stayed at the Iguana Reef Inn, which was absolutely wonderful! They really have beautiful facilities and I did not see a nicer place on the Island. The 1st day we were there was my wife's birthday and they did a great job putting flowers and a bottle of wine in the room and arranging a message therapist to give her a massage in our room. They have a nice beach area next to the bar where you can watch the fish swim by, snorkel or just watch a sunset.

Jim, Mario and Isabel were great in answering all of our questions and arranging our mainland tours. We did a day-trip to Tikal in Guatemala (via air) and that was probably the highlight of our trip to see such impressive Mayan ruins. They also made our arrangements for cave tubing with Tom Greenwood and we also really enjoyed that.

While on Caye Caulker we dove 3 days and tried 3 different dive shops - Belize Diving Services, Paradise Down and Frenchie's. I had done some research prior and there didn't seem to be one obvious choice. We ended up having a good experience with all 3 dive shops. The dive masters were all very professional and safe. Paradise Down had the largest boat with a bathroom, so that was nice when we went to the Blue Hole, as it was kind of choppy between the atolls. We dove first with Belize Diving Services and they were super as we had not been diving in a couple of years. We might have stayed with them, but they were not going to the Blue Hole or the Turneffe Elbow this time of year. Frenchie's was the only place that was going to the Elbow, so we used them our 3rd day. Again, they did a great job. If you like smaller dive groups, Frenchie's and Belize Diving Services probably fit a little better.

As for restaurants, we loved Don Corleone's and Habeneros (they give large portions). Barefoot Caribe and the Sand box were pretty good.

As for money, we brought a lot of US traveler's checks, but didn't use them much, as most places took VISA/MC. Merchants took US currency without any issues. The 2:1 exchange rate makes it simple to understand prices. Never needed to use the bank on the island.

Unfortunately, I got sick for 1 day, but was able to get some antibiotics at the Pharmacy and bounced right back. A doctor was also available, though I didn't feel bad enough to visit them.

Our only negative experience was using the international phones on the island, and I chalk that up to ignorance or lack of investigation on my part. We made a couple of calls back to family in the US and charged it on credit cards on these phones. When we got back we saw we were billed $35 for a call < 5 minutes and $65 for a 13-minute call. I should have done our homework! I did call the billing company/service provider (actually a US company) and was able to get the charges reduced some. I would definitely recommend purchasing a calling card or using email if you can. The calling card will be more expensive than US cards, but it will still be cheaper that the credit card calls.

All of the people we meet on Caye Caulker (tourists and locals) were very friendly and made our trip very enjoyable! We loved the very laid-back atmosphere and hope to visit again some day!

Helpful?
36 Thank tdohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2005

We stayed at the Iguana Reef for 3 nights in March 2005. We had a room on the 2nd floor in the building nearest the water for $124/night. We found the place to be very quiet and clean. Although it is far and away the most upscale accommodation on Caye Caulker, the room amenities are roughly comparable to the ones you will find in a beachside Holiday Inn in Florida. The main differences are the bright Caribbean colors on the walls and the wicker furniture.

The Inn is located on the "back" side of the island, which means it fronts the lagoon instead of the ocean. This means it is in the lee of the almost-constant sea breezes that blow in from the east. The presence of good air conditioning, and window screens, in every room ensures a good night's sleep and few, if any, bugs to disturb you.

Caye Caulker is charming and laid back. The next time we visit, we will almost certainly stay at the Iguana Reef Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CaptainBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2005

The location is nice and the rooms are beautiful, but the hotel is a lot noisier than I expected. The walls are thin and if you get a room on the bottom floor, it's pretty bad.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Property: Iguana Reef Inn
Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing