We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Caye Caulker!”
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Iguana Reef is a fantastic hotel. This is the best place to stay on Caye Caulker. Alex, Lizbeth and the rest of the staff are so friendly, helpful and professional, and make you feel at home right away. The hotel is immaculate, safe and quiet. The pool and lounge areas are comfortable, relaxing, and perfect for watching sunsets. Iguana Reef is off the "beaten track," which makes it quiet when you're ready to kick back and/or sleep. We would absolutely return to this hotel again! Thanks to the staff for making our stay there special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 540 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We liked it so much that we chose to return to Iguana Reef and spend our final days in Belize relaxing there. Rooms are immaculate, beds amazing, everything so clean ... after some odd lodgings inland and in Guatemala, we were thrilled to return to the comforts of home. Being on the lee side of the island, the sunsets rivalled only those seen in Santorini, Greece. Pools are pristine but we enjoyed sitting on the "beach" (not much in the way of beaches in Caulker or San Pedro) under an umbrella. Fresh fruit, granola and baking included as breakfast. We saw several different types of stingrays right off the private pier and about 30 huge tarpins in a cove nearby when we used the hotel kayaks. Super quiet at night, great sleeps! Alex makes excellent mojitos, btw, and Anne is very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Huge windows in the room at the end of the hotel let you see the ocean from your king bed, but we al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Iguana Reef Jan 2012 for a week. The place is perfect. Clean, beautiful, excellent location. The staff was over the top hospital...Ann, Alex, Lizbeth, and all the rest whose names I cannot recall became friends by the end of our visit. The dock deck was perfect for sunsets and chasing the city cares away. I would highly recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor by the pool, it was perfect, no stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smw813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Back again for a business trip this past October, with the holidays it took me a bit to get to this review. My husband was extremely happy with his stay again. As always the staff were very gracious and extremely attentive. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It really feels like a home away from home for the 2 of us. In fact we will be back again in 2 weeks for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packedtogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the place to stay on caye caulker! They have thought of everything, there are even hooks in the shower for hanging swimsuits. Property is meticulously clean, rooms are huge and modern and the brekfast was great! Highly recommended. They even picked me a bouquet of flowers for my birthday and helped my husband suprise me with it! The location of the property is great as it is tucked away and private but still walking distance to everything. The bed is the best we slept on in belieze, even the ac unit is high end.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K00my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Christmas at the Iguana Reef Inn was perfect. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and clean- the spacious rooms, the breakfast area/lounge, the pool, and the beach area/dock. Our room overlooked the pool area, but we could also see the ocean and sun set from the second floor balcony. We were able to relax, read our books, lay out in the sun, kayak, and watch the sun set. A great dive shop is right next door, so it very convenient to scuba dive. The entire staff was so helpful and kind- Anne and Alex in the front office made sure everything went smoothly; Lisbeth and Otis served breakfast and drinks daily. We really enjoyed getting to know them and will definitely be going back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The rooms were so clean and cozy. A new towel set shaped into animals each day. I'd live there if I could. Judging from other places I saw on the island, I think I picked the best. There's a comfy place out on the docks to watch the sunset, fast internet access by the pool area, this place is incredibly relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $135 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Reef Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing