We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation!!”
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing vacation!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Iguana Reef 9/3/12-9/7/12 and it was amazing! The staff were very nice and treated us like family. The rooms, the pool area, the bar...all were kept spotless and the sunsets are breath taking. Total relaxation! We went scuba diving next door with Belize Diving, and that was a great trip and so handy that it was right next to the Iguana Reef! We will definitely go back! Everyone was wonderful and the value was exceptional!

Room Tip: Higher rooms give a great view...ocean view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    63
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
245
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We looked at lots of options on the island and I am so glad we went with Iguana Reef. We were perfectly comfortable. The property was well maintained and we felt safe. It was very convenient to have a fridge in our room for keeping the rum and juice cold! The pool was lovely and the location for the sunsets couldn't have been better. I hope we get the chance to stay there again some day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberaich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very convenient! Perfect service. Not inexpensive but absolutely worth to do it. One of the best possbilities to stay in Caye Caulker. Directly beside "Belize Diving", very friendly and kind.You should not miss watching a soccer game directly near the "inn".

Room Tip: on top floor you dont hear your neighbours above....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uwe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Iguana Reef for four days, and it was our first time to Belize. Even before leaving New York, Alex was in close contact and organized our transport from the airport to water taxi to hotel. Everything was very smooth. The hotel is immaculate, rooms spacious, and the staff is cheerful and friendly. My daughters loved the origami towel animals! We liked being off the main road, and it's a very short walk to everything. The pool is a huge bonus on this island; this, too, is very well-maintained. We loved our stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Iguana Reef Inn is a level up from the typical hotel on Caye Caulker, with its elegant balustrades, large clean rooms and gracious balconies. The saline pool was very nice to have, since the nearby beaches aren't really for swimming (though we did take a dip off the dock.) The location is great -- a block from the center of the front oceanside, while the pool looks out over the sea in the back of the island, perfect for sunset-gazing. It's close enough to the center of activity, while set back enough to be quiet-- and it was largely quiet at the hotel despite it being pretty full. I think the loud-partying travelers were staying elsewhere. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggilista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very nice quiet location just 3 blocks off the main road and walking distance to everything. Great to be next door if you plan to dive with Belize Diving Services, the best dive shop on the island. Super comfy beds, nice breakfast included, great pool and amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband, our 9-month old son, and I had an amazing and much-needed vacation at Iguana Reef Inn this month. It was just what the doctor ordered! We stayed in the penthouse and can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The decor was gorgeous, the amenities perfect, and the views stunning. The entire inn has no detail overlooked and every nook and cranny is immaculate. The pool was just right and our son's favorite spot during our time there. While the inn is within easy walking distance to the center of town and all kinds of great spots to eat and swim, it was tucked back enough as to feel very private and tranquil. The staff (thanks, Alex, Anne, Lizbeth and Otis!) took great care of us and made us feel like family. We look forward to staying at Iguana Reef Inn again next summer!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go for the 2 bed/2 bath penthouse--amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelizeJungleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
11.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Property: Iguana Reef Inn
Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing