We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel rooms are wonderful. Very modern. Very clean. We stayed in large room with two queen size beds and a small kitchen. The hotel is on the main strip right next to several restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a great place for our family to stay. It was clean, had hot water in the bathrooms and was right across from a small beach which was great for kids. We stayed in the two bedroom appt on the ground floor. There was no view, but the location was great. we were easy walking distance to the ferry and everything else on the island. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. They were very good at responding quickly to our emails. There was a small kitchen which was helpful for feeding the kids, but we mostly ate out. While the hotel is across the road from the beach, this is really not much of a road, and you can rent hammocks for $5 a day in the area on the beach across the street. The hotel does have Adirondack chairs at the beach.

Room Tip: get the upstairs rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploringMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

On a whim we decided to stay here after a few days on the island and wanted to stay another night. The room was great! Recently renovated with very nice finishings. Staff was very friendly. The room was very quiet with the door shut. The next time we visit we will book here for our entire stay. Very pleased!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank S_S_traveling_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall we found it great value.

Newly renovated rooms to a high standard.

Location is excellent, it's basically right over the street from the beach. Short walk to the Split and ferry ports.

Shared balcony with sea views.

Friendly staff.

Additionally, the Rainbow Restaurant over the road (sand) belonging to the hotel serves tasty food and overlooks the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Centrally located across from beach and good rainbow restaurant. True it's noisy but pretty much all the central locations in caye caulker are because the islands so small unless you're north of 'the split.'

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rainbow Hotel itself is fine - clean, great to have AC in the bedrooms, kitchen quite sufficient and staff helpful, but it's next to a dog rescue and between the beach noise and the soccer fields. Even with earplugs, it was a real bummer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs apartment but not much view of the ocean cause of the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjsweitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Located on island's main road, lots of traffic, mostly pedestrian, but particularly noisy in early mornings with trucks collecting garbage and servicing nearby restaurants. Beach on other side of road was neither clean nor private; lots of pedestrian traffic and dog traffic (feces). Beach also had seaweed raked into piles left to rot and was rather smelly.

Rooms comfortable and clean but don't look under bed. No ocean view from rooms because of privacy wall built in front of hotel and also across second level balconies. Website photos accurate for interior, but exterior photos are from other locations in village not affiliated with hotel. Restaurant across street not part of hotel but belongs to related family - nice location but caters to cruise ship tours and busy = slow service.

Island offers many hotels for similar cost which are equally as good or better and can offer more attractive beaches and quieter locations. I will return to Caye Caulker again but definitely won't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Tree Tops Guesthouse
#10 of 33 in Caye Caulker
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $108 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing