We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dive Operation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Durgon Dives

Black Durgon Dives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive Belize's Barrier Reef in small groups of no more than 5 divers at a time. Dive tips to Turneffe Atoll are also available. We also arrange dive/snorkel trips to the Great Blue Hole at the Lighthouse Reef Atoll. Discover Scuba Diving and Refresher dives are also available.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dive Operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My son and I used Black Durgon for two days for 4 dives all together. They were top notch with the whole operation. Good Equipment, knowledgeable Dive Master, great dive spots and all in a no hurry atmosphere. We dove in early January and the water was very warm (low 80's), no wet suit needed. Sim was very cool and let us use some of the snorkeling gear for the evening and next morning at no charge. If I ever return to Caye Caulker I would use him again for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank drbinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    3
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dive Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We dove with the crew from Black Durgon in early December '13. After touring the island and speaking with all the dive shops, we settled on a trip with them based on their professionalism and that we'd be just a small trip (3 divers + captain and divemaster).

Trip out to Esmerelda was great and the pre-dive instructions were some of the best we've ever received. Divemaster was incredible attentive and made sure that we were comfortable in the water - knew where we were going - and ensured we had a solid dive.

Crew was well prepared and was able to handle all the challenges that came their way.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank titusferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice guys and small groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We enjoyed our dives with Black Durgon. We went out to the Esmerelda sites and particularly enjoyed interacting with the sharks and morays. We even got lucky and encountered some playful dolphins! Overall we found the staff friendly and professional, and very flexible in terms of booking and picking the best day weather-wise. The price is competitive with other places, and better than some, and because they only take small groups (max 4) it's a good value. We'd recommend checking them out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day with super friendly & professional dive guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had 2 great dives with Major and Mike where we went to Cyprus and Esmerelda dive sites - both amazing for underwater life, especially at Esmeralda, where Major brought some food that coaxed all the nurse sharks out! They kept us in high spirits despite the rain and also took us to look for manatees and tarpons after which was a nice extra - as well as taking us to a good local spot in San Pedro for lunch.

Would recommend to anyone looking for friendly personal service that isn't one of the bigger dive shops on the island. Thanks Simeon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcspazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Two Great Days in the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had two great days with Black Durgon in Caye Caulker. Simeon the owner was very pleasant to deal with, everything we discussed worked as planned. When he had the opportunity to book one more diver (we were diving as a family of four and the boat would be just for us) he asked our permission before he gave the guy the go-ahead.

The snorkel day was absolutely perfect. Minor and Mike went out of their way to find the wildlife; manatees, dolphins, tarpons, turtles, not to mention the sharks and rays. Everything on our list was checked off!

The dive day was great, with two dives at the reef. We dive with our teenage kids so we are happy with depths of 25 metres. Minor, our divemaster, accommodated us nicely.

To make things even better, after we got back we discovered we had left some items on the boat. I rushed over to the shop and everything was there waiting for my pick-up!

Great memories for the family! Thanks guys!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Durgon Dives also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Black Durgon Dives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing