We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor organisation”
Review of Black Durgon Dives

Black Durgon Dives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive Belize's Barrier Reef in small groups of no more than 5 divers at a time. Dive tips to Turneffe Atoll are also available. We also arrange dive/snorkel trips to the Great Blue Hole at the Lighthouse Reef Atoll. Discover Scuba Diving and Refresher dives are also available.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor organisation”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

had a poor experience, booking through black durgon was told we would be going through auqua scuba ended up with big fish. The diving was fantastic however there were large groups formed of divers that weren't safe to be diving in large groups.

Helpful?
Thank wtpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello and thanks for the feedback. I think this post is about diving in the Blue Hole which we at Black Durgon Dives help arrange not take out on our own. I would like to say here that yes we use Aqua Scuba Center as the operator for this tour. The blue hole trip starts very early and if the tour operator is having slight difficulties they do try to be accommodating to get the trips going by helping out each other.

We try to do our best to please everyone and we do appreciate any feedback we get that can help us alleviate some of the issues customers may have.

Manager,
BDD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    3
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yamhill, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS DIVES WITH A GREAT GUIDE”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Extremely accommodating, personable and friendly. Cory and Sim are great people with a true love for diving. Their quick response to your email and helpful information will be just the start of a wonderful vacation. Call and book today!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks so much for diving with us. We're glad you had a good time and hope that if you ever pass through this area again that you'll stop in for a visit.

Much appreciation,
Staff of Black Durgon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
1 review
“great diving center”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were looking for a diving center wich provides dives with small groups, and black Durgon was the one. Semeon ask us before starting the dives what we wanted to see en after 4 days of beatiful dives we saw it all. The gear and boot are in great shape as well as the other team members, Mike and Ossi also did a great job, we didn't have to worry, carry or do anything with the gear. What was also important that the dives were al safe, Semeon takes care of that.

Thanks again for seeying the eagle ray, nurse sharks, stingray, manatee, black tip reef shark, dolfins and beatiful koral as well as all the other tropical fish
John and Danique

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 557john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We thank you for your business, it was our pleasure to take you out diving and show you a little bit of what our beautiful reef has to offer.

We hope that you will one day make it back to visit and we would be delighted to be of service again!

The crew at Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small, Personal, Professional”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Diving with Simeon is great: Gear is in good condition, he's a great divemaster, nice boat, etc. The experience is much more personal, flexible, and fun -- for me -- than going with the big shops ... First-class dive shop; I look forward to going out with them again when I'm on Caye Caulker.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EccentricExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for that great review. We aim to please our customers and to see the appreciation is very rewarding to all of us at Black Durgon Dives.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small group, great dives”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you are looking for personal service, small groups, laid-back diving and an "in" to some of the less dived spots in the area ... go visit Cory and Simeon. I had some awesome dives with them, making for a really chilled holiday. There's likely to be just 4-5 of you in the boat and Simeon will work out with you what it is you want to do and whats good for the group. If you a planning a trip with a few dive buddies, I would say get in touch before you go, take some recommendations based on years of local experience and work out a schedule for a few days. If you are on your own, wander into the shop and you can expect a warm welcome. I'll certainly be heading back sometime to say hi, blow some bubbles and laugh my wotsits off during the surface intervals.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We had a great time taking you diving and are really glad you enjoyed our service.
If you ever come back to Belize, stop by for a dive or two!

Everyone at Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Durgon Dives also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Black Durgon Dives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing