We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great diving center”
Review of Black Durgon Dives

Black Durgon Dives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive Belize's Barrier Reef in small groups of no more than 5 divers at a time. Dive tips to Turneffe Atoll are also available. We also arrange dive/snorkel trips to the Great Blue Hole at the Lighthouse Reef Atoll. Discover Scuba Diving and Refresher dives are also available.
Belize City, Belize
1 review
“great diving center”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were looking for a diving center wich provides dives with small groups, and black Durgon was the one. Semeon ask us before starting the dives what we wanted to see en after 4 days of beatiful dives we saw it all. The gear and boot are in great shape as well as the other team members, Mike and Ossi also did a great job, we didn't have to worry, carry or do anything with the gear. What was also important that the dives were al safe, Semeon takes care of that.

Thanks again for seeying the eagle ray, nurse sharks, stingray, manatee, black tip reef shark, dolfins and beatiful koral as well as all the other tropical fish
John and Danique

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 557john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We thank you for your business, it was our pleasure to take you out diving and show you a little bit of what our beautiful reef has to offer.

We hope that you will one day make it back to visit and we would be delighted to be of service again!

The crew at Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    3
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small, Personal, Professional”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Diving with Simeon is great: Gear is in good condition, he's a great divemaster, nice boat, etc. The experience is much more personal, flexible, and fun -- for me -- than going with the big shops ... First-class dive shop; I look forward to going out with them again when I'm on Caye Caulker.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EccentricExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for that great review. We aim to please our customers and to see the appreciation is very rewarding to all of us at Black Durgon Dives.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small group, great dives”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you are looking for personal service, small groups, laid-back diving and an "in" to some of the less dived spots in the area ... go visit Cory and Simeon. I had some awesome dives with them, making for a really chilled holiday. There's likely to be just 4-5 of you in the boat and Simeon will work out with you what it is you want to do and whats good for the group. If you a planning a trip with a few dive buddies, I would say get in touch before you go, take some recommendations based on years of local experience and work out a schedule for a few days. If you are on your own, wander into the shop and you can expect a warm welcome. I'll certainly be heading back sometime to say hi, blow some bubbles and laugh my wotsits off during the surface intervals.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We had a great time taking you diving and are really glad you enjoyed our service.
If you ever come back to Belize, stop by for a dive or two!

Everyone at Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“New Diver”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I completed my certification dives in Belize and did my first dives after certification with Simeon. Black Durgon specializes in small groups to provide great personal experiences. Simeon took us to dive locations that were not frequented by the larger operations. He is very experienced and his dive3 briefings wer spot on. The sites selected were interesting and the diving was fantastic. When I return to Cay Caulker, I will definitely dive with him again. A fist class operation!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Safety is our number one priority when taking out our custemers so we are very pleased that you are satisfied with the way our team worked with you.

Safety as well as the enjoyment of the overall experience makes for a great day out diving and we are glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us!

Thanks from all of us at Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Dive Shop”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just finished a week and a half of diving with Black Durgon. Simeon and Cory run a great shop and provide a really personal experience. I'm an experienced diver, and having the ability to go with a small shop that never takes out more than a handful of divers is awesome. Richard, Mike and Ozzie are all awesome as well, and the staff could not be better. In addition, almost all the dive shops in Belize hit the same 4-6 dive sites, Black Durgon will take you to those sites, but also to places less frequented with no other boats around! The equipment is all good and they do a great job of setting up and breaking down all of your gear without you having to lift a finger. Fresh fruit is often provided on the boat, and for the longer trips, a great lunch as well. I would recommend them all day, every day, 8 days a week.

On a side note, if you really want to get in good with them, bring Simeon a Kit Kat and a chocolate milk!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dtree12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDurgon, Manager at Black Durgon Dives, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
A good snack is always a good way to start off the day with Simeon, but as long as he is going out diving he's happy!

Thanks for that outstanding review, we really appreciate you taking the time to make mention of us and it was definitely our pleasure have you on board the Little Cuda.

Black Durgon Dives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Durgon Dives also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Black Durgon Dives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing