We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ceviche and buffet lunch for fair price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cubana

La Cubana
Ranked #60 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ceviche and buffet lunch for fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Food is good and various, you can choose from meat to seafood (lobster BZ$35, ceviche from BZ$15..)..buffet lunch has 4 meat choices and side dishes,cake and coffee or tea included for BZ$23..staff is very friendly.. free wifi available

Helpful?
Thank Aglaja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    65
    48
    28
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best wings ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Our group are here several times. Great lobster and seafood. The spicy wings were probably the best any of us had ever eaten. Jackie does an amazing job!!!!

Helpful?
Thank DavidnJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had breakfast here twice. The location is across from San Pedro Express dock. Try the lime juice and the fry jacks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TPatNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Granted my wife and I were there at the end of the off-season, but this place had a buffet that had food that had been sitting there for quite some time. I saw very few people eating there in the 9 days we were on the island. The service was good, but there wasn't much on the buffet worth eating. There was a good variety, but it just wasn't good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice view but poor food quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was our first breakfast on the islands and we wanted to try the restaurant called Colors , however at 8:30 am everything was closed (even when they posted breakfast out doors) , we walked along the beach and found opened la Cubana restaurant , we saw the menu and the buffet looked attractive for the price.
I walked in and saw the food ,were a limited selection of cookies, a scrambled egg , burrito , and a couple of Mexican dishes Belize -style , we had to leave to a tour, so we did not have too many options anyway, so we decided to eat there ....
Although just opened , the selection of food was very scarce and meals looked like 7/11 food (low season) , finally I took some things and were cold and tasteless.
But the worst was when started a leak from the ceiling just above the dishes! how knows where the hell this water came from?, I told one of the people who were there and he only moved the dishes away and put a towel to hold water, I am sure the leak sprinkled the "clean" dishes and even some of the food ...
I concentrated on what was on the plate ate what I could and drank my coffee, paid and left begging for us not become sick from some bacteria or something worse.
The only positive is the view and the price but there are definitely better places .
Usually I give second chances to all places but not this time, sorry folks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mundox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cubana also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to La Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing