We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Sobre Las Olas

Sobre Las Olas
Ranked #62 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was there today just before 4PM, I went to an outside table. One table out there was eating and one person was sitting at the bar inside. I waited for 20 minutes for any kind of service or at least a greeting, nothing so I left!
Don't know what the food is like but only go there if you have time to kill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louieszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    23
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food right on a little slice of paradise”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wonderful restaurant right on the beach. Setting was perfect and relaxing. You can sit on swings and eat, lay in hammocks.... The food was AMAZING. Simple courses, but cooked very well. Personally - get the stewed chicken. it isn't a stew, just a really good meal with a lot of extras that sum up island food - plantains, rice and beans. Oh - and the ceviche is a must have for an appetizer. Like I said, simple fare, but very fresh and tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RADdoc_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“we loved the food”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

the shrimp coconut curry was the best meal i had in belize. the breakfast was huge and very filling very good value with coffee included in price. the service was speedy and friendly. our favourite place on caye caulker two weeks ago.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonardcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location,atmosphere,and food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I had lobster club sandwich.Outstanding! Another day I had a lobster omelet and fryjacks. Again it outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious! Jerk Snapper burger, Caribbean Quesadilla...”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place served some of the best food we ate on the island. It was a long wait, but not unlike everywhere else (the motto of the island is after all "Go Slow"). Indoor/outdoor seating, hammocks and swings, right on the dock.
Caribbean Quesadilla was phenomenal! My husband had the jerk snapper burger twice and loved it both times. We also went for breakfast and again, we weren't disappointed! I can't really understand how anyone could say their food is bland, every bite we took had love put into it! As for the speed of service, it's like that at every place on the island, so maybe choose somewhere else to go if you can't relax for an extra minute and suffer through staring at paradise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jbprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sobre Las Olas also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Sobre Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing