We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but... BEDBUGS.”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I wish I could give 5 stars at this place and I would have if...

I loved my time in this cabana.
It was quiet and nice, all the amenities in the cabanas, supernice the people but... in my bed I had the disgrace to being bloodsucked by bedbugs. My skin was full of bites, very itchy too...Lucky I wasn't allergic! Ouch!
Plus the security guy during the night slept big time on the hammocks instead of giving surveillance around...
Nonentheless my stay has been lovely, the pier in the night is supernice and the stars are awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lattediluna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_M_Walsh, Owner at Colinda Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest.
We were away in Canada during your stay at Colinda Cabanas.
When we returned our manager Juan informed us of your complaint(s).

Rather than bedbugs ; it was probably sandflies or perhaps mosquitos that chewed you up.

Who invited the sandflies to our party ?

Sandfleas, sandflies, sand gnats or no-see-ums – they are all the same. They live in the sand and are attracted to white and light and therefore anybody with pale skin and particularly those who are new to these parts like tourists ; beware!
For those (like yourself) who have severe reactions; red itchy bumps appear that may well turn into a rash - Not pleasant to be sure.

The only prevention for sandflies that is 100% effective and environmentally friendly is baby oil or a product from Avon that we supply to our guests called "skin so soft".

There is loads of information on the internet about bedbugs. Seems they are fairly easy to detect in a room, and are often found in beds, especially along the matresss edge ticking where they like to hide.

After your departure our manager went onto the internet and did some research on bedbugs and did a complete search of your room and found no sign of them.
He also informed our cleaning staff who closely checked and monitored all our rooms in the days and weeks since your departure - Nothing was found.
Subsequent guests have been fine and made no such complaints.

The only mistake made was that our manager failed to take you back into the room to do a thorough inspection in your presence.

We would suggest that next time you are heading to the tropics; take some baby oil with you.

At this time we would also respectfully ask you to remove your review.

Travel Safe.

Linda, Colin, Juan and the rest of the crew....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 587 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Undoubtedly the best place to stay on Caye Caulker. Beautiful, quiet location, a private pier with hammocks overlooking the ocean and the best hosts you could ask for. They have thought of everything - bicycles, kayaks, hammocks on your own balcony and fresh coffee in the cabanas. Colin and Linda are the kindest, friendliest and most generous hosts: thank you both for everything...we had a superb stay in your beautiful cabanas. Peter and Nuala

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We couldn't have been more pleased and impressed with Colinda Cabañas!

EVERYTHING - the furniture, curtains, kitchen, shower, plantings, decor, porch, hammocks, dock, linens - is beautiful. It looks brand new but sort of timeless - lots of beautiful wood and nice ceramic tile. Kitchen was complete with coffee grinder, blender, toaster, dishes, utensils, and more. Once or twice we would have used a microwave but didn't really miss it. We shopped at the local groceries and produce stands and bought fresh tortillas and fresh fish straight from the docks, preparing nearly all of our own meals. The 2 meals we ate out - Meldy's and Wish Willy - were both excellent.

I went snorkeling under the dock and the neighboring dock and identified nearly 30 types of fish including juvenile damsels, parrot fish, sergeant majors, and wrasse, a large barracuda, a lion fish (neighbor's dock), a small flounder, lots of yellow rays, a southern stingray, 4 types of snapper, and thousands of synchronized mullets. I was pleasantly surprised.

We were in Room 9, the top floor of the yellow cabin, 1 back from the beach but still with a nice view and good breezes. It was so nice to have a beautiful private deck with tables, chairs, and hammock and we also made good use of the huge dock with multiple seating areas and hammocks.

One joy was watching the pelicans diving for fish, sometimes within a few feet of us.

We have our own snorkel equipment but used the provided bikes many times/day to access restaurants, the dive shop, (Belize Diving Services - recommended) fishing spots, and nature trails. The baskets front were a convenient addition.

We were happy to have a full week at Colinda Cabañas and are hoping to return in the future with a family/friends group. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wow....We were blown away from start to finish with Colinda Cabanas. After toting our bags an easy half-mile down the beach from the water taxi, we were kindly greeted by Juan, who showed us to our room, set us up with cruiser bikes and made sure we had everything that we needed. We even had coffee beans and a coffee grinder in the room - that is a first, and one of the coolest ideas ever. The cabins have a great location slightly detached from the hustle of "downtown Caye Caulker" and a wonderful dock with palapa to watch the sunrise and sunsets from. We plan to come back here many times in the future - it was paradise, and an incredible value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Colinda Cabanas for three days in one of the Ocean View cabanas. It was heaven! The rooms are clean, well kept, and steps away from the ocean. There's no a/c, but with an ocean breeze and two fans in the room, I didn't even miss it. It was very comfortable. The dock chairs and hammocks are the perfect spot for catching some sunshine (or napping) and we spent most of our island time on those lovely blue chairs! It was great to stay at a place with their own beach and dock, since most of the beach space on the island is occupied by restaurants and other hotels. We loved that the hotel is located away from the main part of town, so it was quiet and private at night. However, it's still an easy walk on the beach path (our favorite) or through the village for meals and night life, if you want. Juan was a wonderful host - he gave us excellent recommendations for snorkel trips, restaurants, and local "fast food" joints if we were craving fry jacks (try them!). He was so helpful and attentive, and made sure we always had everything we needed - even beach towels, which we both neglected to pack! Loved our stay here, and hope to come back again someday. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbspugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

They have thought of everything. Bikes with baskets. (Even kids' bikes.) Beach towels. Snorkeling gear. Hammocks on every balcony. A perfect pier from which to swim and lazy the day away. It's by far the best place on the island. I was greeted by name, given a layout of the island, and then told to relax. Juan, and his very soon to be bride, Emilita were our wonderful hosts while the owners returned to Canada for a bit. Juan helped us book snorkeling, informed us about the island and shared his culture with us while Emilita, with her beautiful smile, kept our cabana spotless. Ultimate perfection.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Linda and Colin were amazingly friendly. As soon as we arrived we felt at home. Linda sat us down with a very handy map and marked all the places we might want to go as well as her recommendations. Additionally, the cabanas come with a bike per person-- super convenient on the island since everyone gets around on bikes. Also, there were plenty of snorkel masks for anyone to use and 2 kayaks that you could use anytime. The cabana was cleaned daily and the perfect size. There were also cooking utensils and a burner and small fridge. We were very, very comfortable. The manager of the cabanas was also extremely nice and helped us set up the grill so we could cook some freshly caught fish we had purchased. Overall it was amazing and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
182 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $49 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing