We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelizeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unbelizeable”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I (29 & 31) stayed at Colinda's for 5 nights and we loved every single minute of it and are already planning our return trip for next year. We stayed in the #9 ocean view cabana. It had an amazing view from the deck which had a hammock. We loved spending our evenings on the deck and days on the dock. The Mangrove reserve is super close and we loved it.
Walking to town, it's a pleasant and safe 10 minute walk. I liked how town was close enough to be convenient yet far enough away for quiet and privacy. I loved the cottage feel.
The beds were a little hard. Other than that, no room for improvement. Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: The full kitchen was nice as we'd go to the market and cook fresh snapper and vegetables using t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misfit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
343
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with friends. Met Colin and Linda briefly but unfortunately they had to leave for BC the next morning, however Juan, the manager, was there and very helpful. The cleaning staff were friendly and great as well. There were bikes available for all three of us which were a great touch. The grounds were really well kept, the kayaks were fun to use, though the snorkeling gear had probably seen better days.

For the price, you can't really beat what you get. The beds could be more comfortable, the shower head a little leaky, but nothing was a deal breaker. Besides, we aren't exactly spending a lot of time inside in a beautiful place like Caye Caulker. The location is little further away from the main drag, which keeps things quiet. Whatever you do, make sure you wake up early enough to see the sunrise over the water.

It's the perfect place if you want some peace and quiet after a day of swimming, sunbathing, or snorkeling. I'd recommend this place more to older couples and friends, as we did feel quiet young there (celebrating my girlfriend's 30th birthday). People in the different cabins tended to keep to themselves, with most of us taking our turns on the hammocks by the dock.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Colinda Cabanas at the end of January. We absolutely loved it. This place has so much charm. So much love and care has gone into this property and it really shows. It has a great vibe and Colin and Linda make you feel so welcome. We never wanted to leave. We didn't have a beach front cabana, but it hardly mattered. Our little cabin was great and we felt so lucky to have it. Colin and Linda have thought of everything that their guests will need. Our cabin had a fridge, a coffee maker, a toaster and all that we needed to make breakfast or cocktails. You will be given a bicycle to use which is perfect for the island and have full use of the property's kayaks. The view is stunning and the hospitality fantastic. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Thank you Colin and Linda! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Colinda Cabanas for six nights in December 2013. I had read several reviews about this place prior to visiting and now can only add to all of the positive comments that have been posted. Despite the fact that it rained every day during our in Caye Caulker and that the sand flies were brutal, Colin and Linda did a wonderful job of making sure that we enjoyed our trip. Colinda Cabanas is about a 15-minute walk from the main water taxi, but everything is within walking distance. Moreover, all of the units have bikes, so it's easy to get around. The three of us stayed in one of the ocean-view cabanas and it was fine (i.e. cozy, but nice). I would definitely stay again if/when visiting Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundbreck
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed in #7 while on Caye Caulker. Though not beach front the water is visible and the cozy atmosphere among the palms just speaks for itself. Colin and Linda are amazing. The amount of thought and work with attention to detail that they have put into this accommodation is absolutely top drawer!

Having lived in the tropics a hundred years ago, this tropical cottage atmosphere is reminiscently perfect. Bicycles for every unit make touring around town and the island very enjoyable and a nice option to walking all the time. Kayaks are also available when not in use by others; first come first served. Albeit a short distance from town, it's far enough away to provide the quiet atmosphere we so enjoy.

The staff are wonderfully friendly, helpful, and always busy at something. The ongoing improvements to meet the owner's standard are impressive, and to be clear, the owners are hands-on rather than just calling signals to their underlings. They treat their staff with respect and that is evidenced by their daily smiles and genuine happiness.

The photo I'm including I shot on a walk we took around the point one day near the airstrip. For me.....a much greater amenity than a swimming pool. In a heartbeat I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a genuine tropical experience without artificial amenities.

Room Tip: I can only comment on #7. It was perfect for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights 4 days! Canadian hosts were super nice and accommodating! Rooms had everything you need and more (coffee maker was a treat especially with great quality coffee). Bicycles were an amazing touch as it made getting around the island soo simple! Very laid back atmosphere, hosts were knowledgeable about places to eat and go!
Great way to unwind in a place that moves at a snail pace!
I recommend fishing on the reef - what a great day out on the water, and you catch tons of fish! Cool Runnings Custom Tours ask for Jahlee (Jah-Lee) Jones, best guide on the island! coolrunningsbelize@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Closest to water - a bit of a premium $ but everywhere is fine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited Caye Caulker for 5 nights in January (2014) and stayed at Colinda Cabanas. It was clean, quiet and a perfect beginning to our 3 week Belize vacation. We used the bikes to get around the island and had access to a sea kayak as well. Colin and Linda were wonderful hosts and gave us all the right recommendations for food and activity. We even had opportunities to star gaze off the pier in the evenings. The full kitchen and amenities made this a great value as well as a comfortable vacation spot. We highly recommend Colin and Linda's place and plan to stay again when we return to Belize.
Jean and Doug McDonald
Medford, Oregon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
86 reviews
10.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Property: Colinda Cabanas
Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing