We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colinda Cabanas rock!”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Colinda Cabanas rock!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first visit to Belize and we were at a lost of where to stay. I did a little research on Trip Adviser (btw, I love them too) and read all the fabulous reviews on Colinda Cabanas. We were not disappointed. All the reviews were right on. From the beginning, Colin and Linda were very patient with me with all my questions and concerns. They are a wonderful couple who takes very good care of their guests and made sure our vacation was perfect and they were very accommodating. From providing extra bikes for our big group to checking with the airlines to make sure didn't need to pay extra for a departure tax to calling us a cab. We loved their location on the beach with the awesome sunrise and so close to town that it was an easy walk. We also loved the bikes that they provided which was a very nice touch, especially when the kids (young adults actually) moaned about walking in the heat. Our unit was right on the water and our unit was clean and spacious. I can't say enough about Colinda Cabanas and our hosts Colin and Linda. We will definitely be back and this will be the only place we stay. Much Mahalos Colin and Linda!

Room Tip: Loved the beach front cabanas. Nice breeze from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chero33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    59
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
346
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I loved our 10 day stay in Caye Caulker and the location of Colinda Cabanas. It is in a quiet area and you only have to walk for about 10 to 15 minutes along the shore to get to most of the festivities. We really enjoyed the walks under the palms during the day, they kept us cool and at night the stars were amazing! There is no cars on the Island, just some taxi driver golf carts & a few the locals use. Colin & Linda also supply bikes but we enjoyed the walking so much we did not use them. The house we stayed in was very clean & comfortable with a beautiful view, and we were pleasantly surprised to have maid service daily. They gave us wonderful recommendations for everything we were looking for! The only problem we had was the sand fleas/flies for a few days that bit at dusk & dawn because we came after much rain. (Bug spray did not work so we used baby oil to coat our skin. We found out that lime juice also works great too! Mosquitos were not a problem.) We loved the private dock and hammocks under the thatched roof. One of the nicest places on the Island! So glad we stayed here after going to San Pedro for lunch on a snorkel trip (cars darting out and noisy, not the same vibe!) We

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wineguru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A fun part of travel is evaluating all of the various reviews, forming some tentative perceptions, and then comparing that to the reality of a place. I had very high expectations about Colinda Cabins based on all the wonderful reviews, but will admit that our experience was far better than what we ever imagined.

First Colin and Linda - I doubt there were ever two people better suited to be lodge-keepers. They are friendly and helpful, but always unobtrusive to their guests. They are good leaders, and have built a hard working group of staff members who are just wonderful to be around. The place is absolutely spotless - room, grounds, dock. Any little small discrepancy is immediately remedied! I really can't say enough about them or the wonderful people they employ.

We stayed in the downstairs ocean-front cabana which was beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped. We cooked several of our own meals, and had every possible kitchen item needed. The bed was very comfortable with very high quality linens. We enjoyed late night movies on the premium channels included on our bedroom flat-screen TV. Note that there is no TV in the main living area due to it's proximity to salty sea air.

We enjoyed the lovely dock and it's little intimate seating area, particularly at sunset. We also used the kayaks a couple of times and enjoyed paddling about out front. They are small sit-on-tops so not well-suited for long distance exploration, but on a nice day, a trip out to the reef is possible. There are also bicycles available for guests.

Upon arrival, we took a trip into the main part of the island, to stock up on groceries. We really stocked up, as the store offers taxi rides home for only $5. BZE. One nice thing is that purified water is provided at the cabana, so we didn't need to transport drinking water.

I can definitely see why Colinda Cabins has earned the top spot for Trip Advisor in Caye Caulker. They deserve it! One tip, book early. This top spot has given them a very full calendar! Don't expect to show up and get a cabana. On the other hand, if they have a cancellation, you might just get a great deal here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Colindas from Nov 23 to Dec 7th. Cabana was kozy and clean. Great dock with hammocks and cabanas. It was about a 10 min. walk to town but beautiful along the ocean. The bikes were great to have to ride back and forth to town in the dark. We were there for two weeks and the only one mistake we made...did not get a cabana with a TV - It would have been nice to crawl in bed and watch TV after a great day in the sun and also for the many showers we had.
Colin and Linda are very helpful and I would definitely recommend their establishment

Canada Dave and Sandra

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent a long weekend at Caye Caulker and found the Colinda Cabanas to be one of the highlights of our trip. The beachfront location was great. It was a short walk to town but far enough away to offer peace and quiet. Colin and Linda were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was super clean and newly refurbished. Our unit had a small kitchen which was amply stocked. We really enjoyed the front balcony which had superb beach views. Another favorite pastime was lounging on the pier either under the Palapa or on one of the Sun chairs. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Colin and Linda made you feel at home. Definitely recommend this place. Very clean rooms with hot showers. Close to the airport yet far enough out of the city to have piece and quit. Very helpful with all our bookings and any questions we had.
Two hammocks on the dock made a great place to relax with a cold beer and watch the fish. All around just a great place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Colinda Cabanas Thanksgiving 2012. What a great vacation. Linda just makes this place so comfortable and welcoming. (Colin was out of town but returned the day before we left.)
The room was immaculate. We stayed in the upstairs oceanfront cabana. Next time we'll try the more affordable oceanview cabanas.
Linda gave great recommendations as to where to eat and who to go snorkeling with. If you are going snorkeling - you have got to go with Juni's Snorkeling. He is amazing!!!
I was a bit bummed to have to hear construction going on while we were there. Wasn't my idea of a honeymoon caribbean getaway hearing circular saws buzzing all day, but hey, it's the caribbean - you just can't complain! :)

We would definitely recommend Colinda Cabanas!!!

Room Tip: Don't be scared to get an oceanview room. Save a serious buck or two and go for it. They are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
12.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Property: Colinda Cabanas
Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing