We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed and comfy stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After backpacking for a few months, we went for a private room at Jaguar Morning Star and couldn't have been happier. We had a self-contained unit with fantastic a/c, really nice and well-equip kitchen and generally brilliant stay. The couple running the hotel were really nice and helpful, and the location is perfect - just far enough away from the centre that you are able to really relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Joanne and Jaguar (Al) keep this property in pristine condition and staying there is like staying with an aunt and uncle. You feel so at home...we stayed in the third floor apartment unit for our grandson's spring break. While it's not a traditional hotel with maid service daily, the apartment was super clean and fully stocked with fresh sheets and towels when we arrived. They even provided us with beach towels. The cable tv is great since they have several premium movie channels and we stayed connected with their wi-fi. Don't let the map fool you, the location is very convenient...only a 15 minute walk to the "split". Bikes can be rented at the Chinese store close by at a very reasonable price (but we didn't bother). Access to the beach/water is a short one block walk. This island has so much to offer and Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse is the perfect place to rest your head while you are there! We already plan to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: While the guesthouse has a full kitchen, who wants to cook on vacation? Great food is available jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

If you prefer a quiet night, I recommend this place. We had small house in the garden with fully equipped kitchen. It is not far from the main street and close to the beach. Oweners are fully helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_and_Lubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We appreciated the location here - quiet and safe, yet so easy to walk in all directions to beach, shops, restaurants, trails etc. It's great to have the owners on site to help with information and assure security. The suite was clean and comfortable, with good cooking facilities ,deck space , WIFI and TV. Very good value overall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greenever2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rented the spacious apartment for one week, and enjoyed the convenience of a full kitchen, comfortable living room and bedroom. There was hot water always available, and the bathroom tile work and kitchen appliances looked brand new. The apartment was spotless and well-maintained, and Joanne and Allison seem to take pride in keeping it that way.
Our hosts were friendly, helpful and gracious, and made it easy for us to find out whatever we needed to know to make our stay a great one.
We absolutely loved the terrace, and having breakfast outside. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the views (our sunrise and "after the rain" photos are striking). We were even surprised by a pelican flying right past us one morning!
The location is great as well. It is just outside the main area of town, affording a quiet respite and refreshing breezes after days biking, snorkeling,and kayaking.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnestNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the past week at Jaguar Morning Star on Caye Caulker. We rented the top floor suite/apartment which is on the third floor of the solid concrete house just three blocks from the main business district.
The apartment itself consists of a large living/dining area with a full kitchen complete with full size fridge, gas stove, microwave, toaster and even a electric hand mixer. The kitchen area also has a full set of dishes and cooking utensils-which we used often!
The bedroom is large with two (firm) double beds and a cold, cold AC unit. The bathroom is quite nice with a large shower with H/C water and fluffy towels.
Owners Al and Joanna are quietly present-if you need them...we didn't...offering fresh towels and sheets.
The location (for us) was just perfect. It is about a 10 minute walk from town center in a quiet residential neighborhood, and located on the third floor-perfect to catch the nearly always blowing trade winds.
To complete the picture there is a fantastic east AND west rooftop deck that you can use in the morning and in the afternoon to sip your frozen drink from your vitamix blender.
Price is very reasonable given what you get....waay south of a Benjamin per night, and a lot less if you book by the week.
If we make it back to CC we'll certainly include Jaguar Morningstar in our plans. Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrankney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a great stay. The owners are super nice, the view is great, room was clean, good location and it was nice that they let us use bikes all week. They were great to accomodate us when we extended our stay too. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Property: Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Address: Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing