We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picololo was AWESOME.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picololo Studio Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Picololo Studio Apartments
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picololo was AWESOME.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were on the tail end of a 6-week trip through Central America and decided to head to Caye Caulker for a week. This place was paradise. Hilary and Pike have an incredible little spot only a few minutes away from the main strip. It's nice to be tucked away a bit, and they provide free bikes, which are perfect for getting around. The studio is extremely clean, fully functional, the bathroom is luxurious, the bed is comfortable, there is AC, there is a hammock. We felt perfectly safe and comfortable for the entire week that we were there. They also picked us up from the water taxi upon arrival and dropped us off. We cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you Hilary and Pike!

Room Tip: (Oops -- didn't mean to click the last two. There is no actual fitness center or swimming pool h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobackpacksncoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hilary and Pike were fantastic hosts during our three night stay. Pike picked us up in their golf cart from the boat dock and gave us a mini tour of Caye Caulker as we weaved through town to their apartments. We loved that the apartments are on the edge of town as it is quiet, but still only a three to five minute leisurely bike ride to all the restaurants and shops. We also liked having a complete kitchen. When we needed a bigger pot, Hilary promptly lended us one. She also surprised us with homemade coconut milk after I told her we were making rice and beans.

Their two dogs and cat are super friendly and lend to the laid back feel we loved about Picololo and Caye Caulker as a whole. We'd happily stay with Hilary and Pike again and have already recommended their place to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOMLCMOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely stay with Hilary and Pike at their studio. Located on a quiet back street, they came to pick us up with a golf cart at the dock and then provided bicycles for us to get around the island for the rest of our stay. Both services were included free, making a good value place a truly outstanding one. The studio was spotlessly clean, large and airy. Veranda with chairs and a line for wet clothes, sitting area, double bed, fully stocked kitchen and dining area - even a TV with cable! The bathroom has a huge shower with hit and cold water and a lovely rain showerhead. We cooked our meals and enjoyed the coffeemaker and fridge for breakfast as well. They thoughtfully provided oil, sugar, salt, and leftover food, sunblocks etc from other guests. Hilary even brought us amazing homemade coconut milk to cook with our dinner one night! We could not have been more comfortable - highly, highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelChica14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Walk, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Picololo is a bit off the beaten path (takes 5 minutes to walk to the main downtown area!) and is very quiet. The apartment was great, we had everything we needed. Everything worked, the apartment was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Hilary and Pike were really helpful, with booking fishing trips and providing information about Caye Calker. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLaberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We just got back from spending two weeks on Caye Caulker and at Picololo. WOW! Talk about being reluctant to come home...We were looking for a reasonable place to stay and couldn't be more thrilled that we ended up with Hilary and Pike. The studios are big and airy; the kitchens stocked with everything you need to fix a snack or cook a meal; the bathrooms big and walk in shower dreamy (hot water!); and the bed super comfortable. The whole property is kept neat and feels more like home than a hotel ever could.

Hilary and Pike have looked after all the little details, including two free bikes to roam around the island on. We came with a big group of friends and family, and were spread out in different accommodations around the island. Picololo was the hands down favorite---even of the lodgings that were more than twice the price! We ended up cooking dinner for everyone at Picololo on several nights because it was the most comfortable, accommodating place out of all of them. We were traveling without our child, but this place is as good for a couple as is it for a family.

It's located just south of the main part of town, but this gives you a chance to bike or walk through a sweet residential section and get to know the folks you'll run across every day. It's a five minute ride to the gorgeous water on the east side of the island, and only a couple minutes to the water on the west side.

We'll be back. We live in a beautiful part of the world, but this little island, and Picololo, are really something special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justsaygeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a great stay at this guest house. Stayed here for three days and was totally comfortable. Hilary made the effort to pick me up from the water taxi station and shuttle me to the room. The room was comfortable, well stocked, and stayed cool and bug-free even thought it was the middle of summer. Yes, the room is little far from the main part of the island (about a 5 minute bike ride), but I liked that because it gave me a chance to explore the island a bit on my bike. Well worth it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was the perfect spot for my boyfriend and me.
It was like being at home!
It gave us the the freedom to cook and prepare meals in our own space, and the dog wonderful dogs who live on the property (an adorable and playful doberman named Bosco, and his older sister Reef) were amazing company on the porch every morning. I adored this place, and will definitely be back.

Off the beaten track a bit, the walk to the split every day gave us a chance to really explore the little island, and get to know the locals.

This was also a place I will never forget, as my long term boyfriend proposed while we were here for 2 weeks. Using Bosco, the Doberman in on his proposal, I will never ever forget my time here -- and it will forever have a very special place in my heart. I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picololo Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picololo Studio Apartments

Property: Picololo Studio Apartments
Address: Avenida Mulche, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are bright, brand new spacious studio styled accommodations located in the tranquil residential section of Caye Caulker. Hilary and Pike have lived here for all their lives and after years of busting and saving, they offer their dreams to you. These apartments are finished to a very high standard and offer many little bonus touches to give you that extra degree of comfort. The house is set in a tropical wonderland full of birds, plants and iguanas! Picololo is around 10 min walk south of the village or 4-5 mins ride on your complimentary bicycles. Piquitololo *NEW Piquitololo is the newest addition to the Picololo family. Just refinished to comfortable standards, this little gem of a room is perfect for the single traveller or discerning couple. Situated on the same grounds as Picololo, the room offers a private entrance and small patio separate from the other rooms. Coming with A/C, wi-fi, cable television and a small kitchenette, the baby of the family is as well equipped as her larger sister rooms. The owner, Judith, a 21 year resident of Caye Caulker, former nurse, counselor, care expert and artist has done a very nice job on this little hideaway. She is a veritable fountain of information on our little island in the Caribbean and would be happy to answer any questions you may have on Caye life. Be prepared to laugh, however, as every conversation we have had with her has been full of life. Each unit features: Queen Size Bed, Air-conditioning, Complimentary Bikes, FREE WIFI, Cable TV, South of 'town' in the 'quieter' part of the island, Kitchen with Microwave, Coffee Maker, Fridge, Toaster, Stove, Blender, Sofa - sitting area, Verandah, Ceiling fans in bedroom and bathroom, Bathroom with hot water shower. All linens are included (good idea to bring beach towels though!); Ideal for couples. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing