We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok...Might be worth more research before you buy here”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tsunami Adventures

Tsunami Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are your one stop Snorkel and Tour Shop, offering a wide variety of services for Caye Caulker and Belize. Mayan Sites and Cave Tubing Adventures. Scenic Flights to the Great Blue Hole. Mangrove Cruises by Ponton and Sunset Cruise. Snorkeling and Fishing Trips. We can help you with any questions you may have.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
san francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok...Might be worth more research before you buy here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Asked at a couple of places to figure out prices for cave tubing - they wanted $103 (+5% for using a credit card), while one of their friends on another street wanted $125. The cost of the trip is $55 (see http://www.cave-tubing.net/ - Tom Greenwood is awesome) + $18 for the round-trip ferry ride. So a $30 commission.

Now I could understand that $30 commission if we at least got some good intel about the trip, but they didn't tell us that the cave water level was pretty low (May is not optimal cave time), and they had no idea that you actually get a reasonably good lunch buffet on the trip - they told us we would just get rice and beans and chicken...It might take a bit more effort, but I would book with Tom directly...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mdg1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsunamiCayeCaulker, Owner at Tsunami Adventures, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Please note that this price is for groups of 10 plus. It shows on Mr. Greenwood's site. For a party of two only it is more expensive.
When the water is low. The trip takes longer and you get to enjoy the beauty of the caves. I did the trip in May personally and felt that in some spots Butts Up! The water is cool and refreshing! What a great way to spend the day. Please note that if you are a group we do offer discounts. Our prices are inclusive of all taxes, round trip transportation to and from the island. Thank you Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    35
    7
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great snorkelling trip - keep an eye on the guide though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I went on the 'Best of Belize' full day snorkelling trip today. It was really good value, saw all the animals promised, we got to see turtles, sharks, rays, schooling fish, etc plus a manatee which was not guaranteed, and got in the water lots and never felt rushed. The amount of food and water was good and a small group (five people with two guides was great. I think the pace and timing of the trip was perfect until the end, in the mangrove shallows, which was very hot and could have been a bit shorter.

My only negative comment is that one of the guides was slightly inappropriate with me, as the only woman in a group of five, and was a uncomfortably flirty and at one point was a bit too touchy while I was getting into the boat. Not extreme, however. Just something for women travellers to look out for. The other guide and main driver and leader of the group was fine. Sorry I cannot remember which name was which right now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank freshradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsunamiCayeCaulker, Owner at Tsunami Adventures, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I spoke with the guest and assured her that this is never tolerated. The person is not a regular empolyee and helps out now and then. I want to assure all persons out there that are interested in our tours, that please do not think that this is acceptable behavior by our guides or any staff member. We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Heather Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cave Tubing and Zip Lining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to go cave tubing and zip-lining with Tsunami Adventures because they were the only tour operator that included our ferry costs back to the mainland.
We were presently surprised to have our tour operators "Major Tom and Minor Tom" waiting for us as soon as we got off the ferry. They were great, giving us information on all of the areas that we passed on the drive to the site and ensuring that everyone had a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenWerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkelling trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We did the full day snorkelling trip & Harry was a fantastic guide. He gave us a guided snorkel through Hol Chan - he knew the best places to go to see fish, rays and turtles. Shark Ray Alley was amazing ... We saw everything that was promised and more. Not to be missed from Caye Caulker.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelprincess1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Best of Belize" snorkeling trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fabulous time with our guides. It was a small group, which was nice. 5 total to snorkel with 2 guides. Saw incredible turtles, sharks, rays. Tons of beautiful fish. Had a great time and guides were terrific...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adj311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Adventures also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Tsunami Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing