We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss for breakfast.”
Review of Paradiso Cafe

Paradiso Cafe
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Paradiso Cafe is a hot spot on the island. Best known for serving gourmet sandwiches and salads. Everything is made fresh and delicious.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Hit or miss for breakfast.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Be on island time and enjoy the view because it might be an hour to get your food. I don't understand the high rating for this place based on a scrawny goat cheese and sun dried tomato omelette with dry baguette toast for $10 us, but the French toast got rave reviews. I guess it depends what you order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    95
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We waited nearly an hour for French toast and an omelette. Whilst the food was OK, my wife particularly enjoyed her French toast, to wait an hour for food that is very over priced is not worth it.

Try somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdboe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great café”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I found the food items on the menu to be a bit pricey and really fancy for the kind of place Caye Caulker is, they open early so we came for breakfast around 7am and sat right in the front and had an amazing view of the sun shining on the ocean, and enjoyed the strong breeze. We weren't looking for anything big to eat so the server proposed a small breakfast sandwich off the menu, which was very tasty and exactly what we were looking for. If you can get the front table, it's very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Sandwich and Good Change of Pace”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a fantastic lunch here. The sandwiches and panini's are delicious. We also ordered a Greek Salad that was large enough to feed a family. The flies can be a little annoying, but that seems to be the way it is on many beachfront establishments. Good service. Delicious food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good spot for breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times during our stay at Caye Caulker.
It is a teeny tiny shop with a nice view out to the beach.
Sandwiches, especially for breakfast, are quite good, as are the cappuccinos and smoothies (the coffee machine broke on our second visit, and the regular drip coffee was just so-so).
As other reviewers have noted prices are quite high, but quality is good. I reccomend it if you are really jonesing for a sandwich with some veggies or a smoothie.
Also, the workspace is very small so the staff seem to get overwhelmed when there are a lot of orders, if you go be prepared to take it slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso Cafe also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Paradiso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing