We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sandwich and Good Change of Pace”
Review of Paradiso Cafe

Paradiso Cafe
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Paradiso Cafe is a hot spot on the island. Best known for serving gourmet sandwiches and salads. Everything is made fresh and delicious.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Sandwich and Good Change of Pace”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a fantastic lunch here. The sandwiches and panini's are delicious. We also ordered a Greek Salad that was large enough to feed a family. The flies can be a little annoying, but that seems to be the way it is on many beachfront establishments. Good service. Delicious food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    95
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good spot for breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times during our stay at Caye Caulker.
It is a teeny tiny shop with a nice view out to the beach.
Sandwiches, especially for breakfast, are quite good, as are the cappuccinos and smoothies (the coffee machine broke on our second visit, and the regular drip coffee was just so-so).
As other reviewers have noted prices are quite high, but quality is good. I reccomend it if you are really jonesing for a sandwich with some veggies or a smoothie.
Also, the workspace is very small so the staff seem to get overwhelmed when there are a lot of orders, if you go be prepared to take it slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Expensive, sub-average food and poor service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

1.) Price - Hugely expensive. I paid almost $20 for a small sandwich. To put this into perspective my dinner the night before was a large lobster, with shrimp skewers, rice, salad and bread. That cost me $20. So for a measly sandwich you're paying the same as you would for a lobster dinner at a nice place.

2.) Food quality - below average. The bread is really dry, there is a bakery in town so why not get fresh bread every morning?? I had a BLT and the amount of bacon was really really light. Overall not good.

Nice location though......but you can do better for food.

3.) Service - about as disinterested as it gets. Slow to bring simple things like drinks out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Goats cheese? No way!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I have now eaten here three times since we arrived 4 days ago and we really enjoy it! You can get goat cheese in your veggie sandwich, the French toast plate was so delicious as it was cut up bagettes, with cinnamon and side of syrup. The yogurt and fresh fruit bowl was yummy. They have more to offer too but we only had certain items and were very pleased with the selections. Good view of the beach/docks in front of us and I truly recommend going. Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Briteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice little place to grab some quick breakfast or lunch at a good price. I really loved their egg muffin for breakfast and the tune sandwich for lunch. Their fruit juices and smoothies are so refreshing too. And a perfect if you are doing a trip with raggamuffin tours since they are just across from them. I'll be back for that tuna sandwich... Yum! And they have wifi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso Cafe also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Paradiso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing