We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience average food”
Review of Fran's Grill

Fran's Grill
Ranked #50 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good experience average food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We shared the mixed grill plate at Frans. There was nothing wrong with the food at all, but it was nothing special either. Fran is a character and its funny sitting back and watching the madness. Definitely worth a visit whilst you're in Caye Caulker, but don't be expecting a taste sensation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    31
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A CC institution”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Fran is a great character and her food is fantastic. Good portion sizes, amazing coconut shrimp and an endless supply of 'Panty Rippers'!
Its good to eat dinner on the beach watching the world go by. When we ate at Fran's there was a group of other tourists who seemed to have some kind of problem with the prices. They were quite rude and we couldn't really understand as you got plenty of food for the price and there was good banter to be had with Fran and other diners. Besides, Fran is not a lady I would want to mess with!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sezabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worst place I ate in Caye Caulker”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Food was expensive compared to the other spots and not near as good. I had the lobster and barracuda, both were the worst I had on the island and cost more than I spent anywhere else. I figured after waiting over an hour to get my food that anything would taste good, but I was wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fran you are my girl”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I could not imagine Caye Caulker without having dinner on the beach park bench with Fran cooking up the daily fresh catch on the barbeque and creating great plates and a super atmosphere at a backpacker price

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlayaScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“rustic but good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The coconut curried shrimp and garlic shrimp were very good, but took a long time to prepare. We were her only customers. It was raining, so they let us eat at The Oceanside nightclub (what a dive!). Go when it's not raining, and eat outdoors at her picnic tables, overlooking the ocean.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fran's Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Fran's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing